Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 4th November 2016, 9:49 PM   #1
SiriusDragon Thread Starter
Member
 
SiriusDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,261
Default 4-way SLI capable 990FX boards?

Hey all, never played with an AMD board before but considering one for the fun of it

Is the only AM3+ board that supports 4-way SLI the Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7? Or should I just give up on that idea and wait for Zen?
SiriusDragon is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 4th November 2016, 10:02 PM   #2
Luke212
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,879
Default

I run 4 cards on gigabyte 890fxa-ud7

i dont try sli though. if they run separately do they sli ok?
__________________
Democracy's greatest trick was convincing man he was informed.
Luke212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2016, 10:50 PM   #3
SiriusDragon Thread Starter
Member
 
SiriusDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke212 View Post
I run 4 cards on gigabyte 890fxa-ud7

i dont try sli though. if they run separately do they sli ok?
Hmm, I'll have 890 chipset supports SLI or if NVIDIA only allowed it on the 990 series...
SiriusDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2016, 7:45 AM   #4
Luke212
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiriusDragon View Post
Hmm, I'll have 890 chipset supports SLI or if NVIDIA only allowed it on the 990 series...
youre right. no sli
__________________
Democracy's greatest trick was convincing man he was informed.
Luke212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2016, 8:03 AM   #5
SiriusDragon Thread Starter
Member
 
SiriusDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,261
Default

I could try the SLI hack but it'd be awkward if I got a board and it didn't work

Guess I'll need to find a 990FXA-UD7 then!
SiriusDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 6:30 PM   #6
lionman
Member
 
lionman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Perth,WA,Earth
Posts: 2,872
Default

You should give up on SLI. It's not worth it.
__________________
My PC: i7 4770 - H87M - 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws - HD7970 - 120GB 840 PRO - 500GB 850 EVO - 9TB HDDS - HX-650W - Fractal Define Mini - U2410 - K65 RGB - G502 RGB
HTPC: 6400K - 88X - 4GB 1600MHz - HVR-2200 - 120GB 840 EVO - 5TB HDDS - 550W TruePower - SG06 - 50" LED
Fujifilm X100 + X-E1 + X-T1 - 12mm F2.0 - 18-55mm F2.8-4 - 35mm F1.4 - 56mm F1.2 - 90mm F2.5
lionman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 6:43 PM   #7
SiriusDragon Thread Starter
Member
 
SiriusDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,261
Default

This is for benchmarking and overclocking. For gaming I intend to build a single GPU system in the future once they're good enough to handle 4K maxed out.
SiriusDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2017, 2:46 PM   #8
Sgt Bilko
Member
 
Sgt Bilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canberra(ish) 2581
Posts: 587
Default

very late reply but the only 990FX board that can do 4 way SLI is the Gigabyte 990FXA UD7

rare to find nowadays but it's the only one that will run x8/x8/x8/x8
__________________
AMD Community Manager
Sgt Bilko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2017, 2:52 PM   #9
SiriusDragon Thread Starter
Member
 
SiriusDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,261
Unhappy

Yeah, that's the conclusion I came to as well

Not looking good for 4-way benching on Ryzen either... I haven't spotted a single board with 4 x16 slots

Huge shame cause the CPUs look really nice... hopefully ASRock or someone makes a 4-way capable board via PLX chips.
SiriusDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2017, 3:36 PM   #10
Luke212
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,879
Default

yeah its a pain in the ass that nearly all MB with 4 pcie are a waste of space- just for show.
__________________
Democracy's greatest trick was convincing man he was informed.
Luke212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2017, 6:31 PM   #11
Sgt Bilko
Member
 
Sgt Bilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canberra(ish) 2581
Posts: 587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiriusDragon View Post
Yeah, that's the conclusion I came to as well

Not looking good for 4-way benching on Ryzen either... I haven't spotted a single board with 4 x16 slots

Huge shame cause the CPUs look really nice... hopefully ASRock or someone makes a 4-way capable board via PLX chips.
There aren't enough Lanes on AM4 to do 4 way SLI/CF (without PLX) and anything above 2 GPUs is becoming more and more rare now, hard to justify.

I don't doubt we'll see Gigabyte, Asus, MSI or ASRock do a board that can though.
__________________
AMD Community Manager
Sgt Bilko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!