Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21st March 2017, 9:29 AM   #151
nCrypt
Member
 
nCrypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammy_b0i View Post
Literally the post above his, is another of his that has a picture

So last night trying to get Prime95 SmallFFT stable. Got 3.8GHz @ 1.375 stable. Then needed sleep, so will fiddle more later on. Stoked that the ram is on 2667 though. Much better than 2133.
glad to hear its all working

Im still stuck @ 2133 Mhz. which is sad considering its 4x8gb 3200 c14, assume eventually once the platform matures i will be able to achieve these speeds.

rigs been off for a couple of days, just installed the new waterblock on the Ti last nite, run the loop, just gotta fill for leak test, then can OC!
__________________
1.5960X@4.8Ghz 1.35V WC X99 ROG R5 E10 32GB TridentZ 3200C14 GTX1080 Ti SLI WC CaseLabs S8
2.7700K@5Ghz 1.30V WC Z270 ROG APEX 16GB TridentZ 3200C14 GTX1080 STRIX OC WC Phanteks Luxe Tempered
3.7600K@5Ghz 1.31V H115i Z270 ROG STRIX 16GB TridentZ 3200C14 HD630 Caselabs S8
nCrypt is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 21st March 2017, 10:02 AM   #152
itchynads
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaroT View Post
what bios are you using and what settings did you use for 2933 on the ram?

also which cooler do you have and do you have the am3 bracket for it....Baymax goes both ways am4 or am3

Using Stock BIOS 0702 and H115i
__________________
Desktop i7-5820K @ 4.5/ MSI X99A Gaming 7/ 64GB (16GB x 4) Corsair Vengeance/ Corsair H115i/ EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
unRAID Xeon E5-2683 v3/ ASRock X99 Taichi/ 32GB DDR4 ECC/ 2x1TB SSD Cache Pool 1x4TB Parity 3x3TB Data
Benching Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9GHz 1.38 Vcore/ Asus C6H (0082)/ G.Skill Flare-X 16GB (2x8GB) 3200C14 @ 3333C15 DDR4)
itchynads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 10:08 AM   #153
TaroT
Member
 
TaroT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hazelbrook nsw 2779
Posts: 8,410
Default

ditch that bios very quickly go the 902 1001 if you want 1t or 0038 for 2t

i had the 702 and it was horrendous ending up loosing the cpu after not to long, so far 902 is pretty rock solid.

if you have the am3 bracket for that 1151 you can mount it(it ahs both mounting holes for am4 and am3) BUT and again i will say it BUT be very careful removing the back plate as it is stuck on very well, but then looking at it does that screw into the original back plate if so that's a pain in the ass.

might have to get together all my spare am3 mounting plates
__________________
AMD R7 1800X@stock:corsair H110 cooler: ASUS X370 crosshair 6(Baymax)Corsair 3200 ddr4 @2133(for now)R9 Fury X 1100/500:
TaroT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 10:52 AM   #154
toje
Member
 
toje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: South NSW
Posts: 1,058
Default

Well that’s my present to myself!

On its way are

ASRock Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 AM4 ATX Motherboard
AMD Ryzen 7 1700X 8-Core Socket AM4 3.4GHz CPU Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V 32GB (4x 8GB) DDR4 3200MHz Memory

I ended up getting the 1700X as it’s a nice compromise with a 1080 for VR, as I also ordered a vive. First upgrade in 8 years! I’m still running an i7 920.
__________________
Systems Administrator, Rural Firefighter, and Terrible offroader
Ryzen 1700X (Stock), G.SKill 32GB RAM 3200Mhz (2400Mhz, 15-15-15-38), 8GB GTX 1080, ASROCK Fat1lity Gaming K4 X370, 500GB and 1TB Rust Drives, Logitech G15 Woop Woop, 15 year old BenQ 24" LCD, HTC Vive.
Holden Jackaroo, 3.2L V6, 2" Ironman Lift, 32" MTZ, Front AutoLokka, Rear ARB Air Locker, Commodore Injectors, 85L Tank, TJM Alloy Roo Bar. Go Anywhere just not quickly.
toje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 11:15 AM   #155
TaroT
Member
 
TaroT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hazelbrook nsw 2779
Posts: 8,410
Default

yeah i have an osvr sitting in a box i will get back out again soon
now playing a little i drop the vcore down to 1.36 but the temps and the voltages still go up when running 4g...not sure about that one.

really wish they would release a nice even bios....getting tempted to try 1001...but it ain't broke i get 1744 in cinebench regardless.

maybe just throw caution to the wind and try 4.1 again...
__________________
AMD R7 1800X@stock:corsair H110 cooler: ASUS X370 crosshair 6(Baymax)Corsair 3200 ddr4 @2133(for now)R9 Fury X 1100/500:
TaroT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 11:45 AM   #156
itchynads
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaroT View Post
ditch that bios very quickly go the 902 1001 if you want 1t or 0038 for 2t

i had the 702 and it was horrendous ending up loosing the cpu after not to long, so far 902 is pretty rock solid.

if you have the am3 bracket for that 1151 you can mount it(it ahs both mounting holes for am4 and am3) BUT and again i will say it BUT be very careful removing the back plate as it is stuck on very well, but then looking at it does that screw into the original back plate if so that's a pain in the ass.

might have to get together all my spare am3 mounting plates
Thanks I tried 0902 but had all sorts of memory related issues. Moving onto 0038 now.

QUICK UPDATE: 0038 looks to be an improvement over 0902. The 2T settings seems to have done the trick for me. Running stability tests now.
__________________
Desktop i7-5820K @ 4.5/ MSI X99A Gaming 7/ 64GB (16GB x 4) Corsair Vengeance/ Corsair H115i/ EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
unRAID Xeon E5-2683 v3/ ASRock X99 Taichi/ 32GB DDR4 ECC/ 2x1TB SSD Cache Pool 1x4TB Parity 3x3TB Data
Benching Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9GHz 1.38 Vcore/ Asus C6H (0082)/ G.Skill Flare-X 16GB (2x8GB) 3200C14 @ 3333C15 DDR4)

Last edited by itchynads; 21st March 2017 at 11:53 AM.
itchynads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 12:23 PM   #157
TaroT
Member
 
TaroT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hazelbrook nsw 2779
Posts: 8,410
Default

thanks for Guinea pigging depending on your feedback i may try it.

i can't seem to get past 4G or 2666 on mine at the moment without upping the vcore and of course the heat a lot.

tried 4.075 and .1 offset that failed miserably and 3200 and manual timings and upping the voltage...yet again fail
__________________
AMD R7 1800X@stock:corsair H110 cooler: ASUS X370 crosshair 6(Baymax)Corsair 3200 ddr4 @2133(for now)R9 Fury X 1100/500:
TaroT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 2:56 PM   #158
itchynads
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaroT View Post
thanks for Guinea pigging depending on your feedback i may try it.

i can't seem to get past 4G or 2666 on mine at the moment without upping the vcore and of course the heat a lot.

tried 4.075 and .1 offset that failed miserably and 3200 and manual timings and upping the voltage...yet again fail
Will be trying 1001 tonight as well. I like living on the edge

The only thing stopping me from pushing the system any further are the temps. I know the chip will boot into Windows at 4GHz but can't bench.

The poor wraith cooler has been pushed to its limits
__________________
Desktop i7-5820K @ 4.5/ MSI X99A Gaming 7/ 64GB (16GB x 4) Corsair Vengeance/ Corsair H115i/ EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
unRAID Xeon E5-2683 v3/ ASRock X99 Taichi/ 32GB DDR4 ECC/ 2x1TB SSD Cache Pool 1x4TB Parity 3x3TB Data
Benching Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9GHz 1.38 Vcore/ Asus C6H (0082)/ G.Skill Flare-X 16GB (2x8GB) 3200C14 @ 3333C15 DDR4)
itchynads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 3:28 PM   #159
TaroT
Member
 
TaroT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hazelbrook nsw 2779
Posts: 8,410
Default

well you could always try the cooler they supply with the 7700k...oh wait...
__________________
AMD R7 1800X@stock:corsair H110 cooler: ASUS X370 crosshair 6(Baymax)Corsair 3200 ddr4 @2133(for now)R9 Fury X 1100/500:
TaroT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2017, 7:41 PM   #160
sammy_b0i
Member
 
sammy_b0i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ACT 2914
Posts: 3,073
Default

Mmkay. So my sweet spot at the moment is 3.8GHz @ 1.3125v P95 Small FFT stable.

Tried for a flat 1.3 and it wasn't happy.

Wanted 3.9 but still couldn't get it P95 Small FFT stable at ~1.4v.

At the moment I'm topping out at ~65-66deg at 100% load, whereas 1.4v adds at least another 10deg.

Edit: So I guess:

sammy_b0i - Ryzen 7 1700 - UA1705PGT - ??? - MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon - G.Skill TridentZ 3200 16-18-18-20 @ 2667 18-20-20-22 - 3800 - 1.31250v - AIR - Noctua U14S Push/Pull - Prime95 Small FFT 2.5Hrs
__________________
Ryzen R7 1700, MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon, Noctua U14S, 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3466MHz @ 3200MHz, HD7970 DCU2 (Temp), 480GB OCZ Trion150, eVGA G2 750W, Fractal Define C, BL3200PT
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommodmc View Post
OCAU is a breeding ground for hyper-moralistic 13 year olds who've never stepped out of the computer room in their entire life. Young liberals, young labor, people who will grow old and die before they ever think about pulling their head out.

Last edited by sammy_b0i; 21st March 2017 at 9:17 PM.
sammy_b0i is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2017, 8:21 AM   #161
not4us
Member
 
not4us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 173
Default

that doesn't look to bad sammy_b0i.
My build is pretty similar to yours except for the RAM. Put it all together last night but haven't had a chance to boot it and start overclocking it.
I ended up getting the MSI Gaming Pro Carbon after ShoppingExpress eBay stuffed up my order for the Asus Crosshair VI Hero (the let me place the order and turns out they didn't have it in stock an no ETA, go figure).
So I bought the MSI which is not compatible with my H100i v2 cooler like the Asus was, and right now I've got the AIO in place with zip ties...
Bloody Corsair won't ship the AM4 bracket outside the USA, even called them to check. Hopefully Scorptec will have it in stock next week so I can fit it properly.
Can't wait to finish work today and get back home to start tinkering with the Ryzen!
__________________
SPAIN ROCKS!
(even if we don't have a translation for overclocking)
AMD Ryzen 7 1700, MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon, 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 , Gigabyte RX480 4G Gaming G1, Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe, Seagate 2TB Barracuda ST2000DM001, Corsair RM750X, Corsair H100i v2, NZXT S340 Elite, Corsair K70 LUX RGB, Corsair M65 PRO RGB, AOC Agon AG322FCX, Windows 10 Pro x64
not4us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2017, 8:38 AM   #162
TaroT
Member
 
TaroT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hazelbrook nsw 2779
Posts: 8,410
Default

well after trying the 1001 bios not a huge fan no performance gained really and a little flaky for me i will hold out for a later revision.

and after panicking about the cooler not making good contact and removing and redoing now the rgb leds don't work oh well and back to 0902 and all good except the rgbs which as i researched seems to not only be me...no big loss.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X@stock:corsair H110 cooler: ASUS X370 crosshair 6(Baymax)Corsair 3200 ddr4 @2133(for now)R9 Fury X 1100/500:
TaroT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2017, 2:54 PM   #163
itchynads
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaroT View Post
well after trying the 1001 bios not a huge fan no performance gained really and a little flaky for me i will hold out for a later revision.

and after panicking about the cooler not making good contact and removing and redoing now the rgb leds don't work oh well and back to 0902 and all good except the rgbs which as i researched seems to not only be me...no big loss.

I was testing on BIOS 1001 all of last night to the wee hours of the morning and I found it worked best for me in terms of memory clocking.

DOCP Standard profile (3000 - 15,17,17,17,1.35v) worked best for my memory and managed to keep it at 2933MHz.
CPU at 3.8GHz (38x100).

Tested via Prime95 small FFT for 1h, Blend for 1h and RealBench (30m, 8GB).

I did notice some quirks where it would shutdown and restart during bootup twice. Not sure if its specific to the BIOS version.

Having said that still on air cooling and running the memory at that speed just added even more heat to the CPU

Was also using a new 3109 build of HWiNFO that was able to show that I hit a peak of 100W on the CPU.
http://www.hwinfo.com/beta/hw64_547_3109.zip

Still trying to figure out which temps to believe. I have a feeling Ryzen Master is under reporting compared to HWINFO.
__________________
Desktop i7-5820K @ 4.5/ MSI X99A Gaming 7/ 64GB (16GB x 4) Corsair Vengeance/ Corsair H115i/ EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
unRAID Xeon E5-2683 v3/ ASRock X99 Taichi/ 32GB DDR4 ECC/ 2x1TB SSD Cache Pool 1x4TB Parity 3x3TB Data
Benching Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9GHz 1.38 Vcore/ Asus C6H (0082)/ G.Skill Flare-X 16GB (2x8GB) 3200C14 @ 3333C15 DDR4)
itchynads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2017, 3:41 PM   #164
TaroT
Member
 
TaroT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hazelbrook nsw 2779
Posts: 8,410
Default

so you set standard docp profile then manually did the ram or was it the 3000 preset.
and yes that version looks a lot more accurate than the slightly earlier one i had.

i had the double boot as well when i was using it...seems it has to set it a few times to get it to load(i thought it was going to safemode me )

i might give it another go once this storm has gone.(what ram are you using ?)
__________________
AMD R7 1800X@stock:corsair H110 cooler: ASUS X370 crosshair 6(Baymax)Corsair 3200 ddr4 @2133(for now)R9 Fury X 1100/500:
TaroT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2017, 3:55 PM   #165
itchynads
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaroT View Post
so you set standard docp profile then manually did the ram or was it the 3000 preset.
and yes that version looks a lot more accurate than the slightly earlier one i had.

i had the double boot as well when i was using it...seems it has to set it a few times to get it to load(i thought it was going to safemode me )

i might give it another go once this storm has gone.(what ram are you using ?)
Apparently I may need to toggle the sensemi skew in the BIOS to get accurate temp readings. Will try that later tonight.

I set the DOCP profile preset then set the memory speed to 2933MHz in the drop down a little further down the list. In that order.

HWinfo confirmed the memory speed and timings (@ 1T).

Extra settings that I had set:
vSOC 1.05v
LLC Level 3

Using Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) CMK16GX4M2B3000C15. (Hynix modules)

I also have some Corsair 3200C16 Samsung B die modules (2x16GB) that I might try should I get bored
__________________
Desktop i7-5820K @ 4.5/ MSI X99A Gaming 7/ 64GB (16GB x 4) Corsair Vengeance/ Corsair H115i/ EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
unRAID Xeon E5-2683 v3/ ASRock X99 Taichi/ 32GB DDR4 ECC/ 2x1TB SSD Cache Pool 1x4TB Parity 3x3TB Data
Benching Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9GHz 1.38 Vcore/ Asus C6H (0082)/ G.Skill Flare-X 16GB (2x8GB) 3200C14 @ 3333C15 DDR4)

Last edited by itchynads; 22nd March 2017 at 3:58 PM.
itchynads is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 1:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!