Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th September 2014, 4:12 PM   #1501
philscomputerlab
Member
 
philscomputerlab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,843
Default

And here the floppy version of SQ4. The best version to just listen to the amazing sound of the Roland MT-32. Sierra used a lot of custom sounds as well.

philscomputerlab is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 30th September 2014, 4:54 PM   #1502
jmannik
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Albury, NSW
Posts: 731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by partybear View Post
In my opinion at cases are worth less then a atx one. They are all really badly made and the power supplys are dangerous.

Most atx cases actually have holes for a at style motherboard anyway. All you have to do is not use a i/o cover plate or make your own. You can buy a cheap at to atx adaptor so you can use a new power supply. Unless the case is unique like a ibm ps2 or such it is going to be worthless, it is definitively not worth saving clone cases they are a waste of space.

Heres an example of what I mean all the screw holes have a place and the cards all line up. Also this case is more like what people used back then, no one had them tt cases.
During the Thermaltake era I actually saw more thermaltake and similar cases than I ever saw cases like that, I personally had an old full tower case I got from someone who had a Pentium Pro 150 from new in it, I then moved to an Antec superlanboy.

Now, I see you have a 486 board there... can I have it? :P
__________________
[Logitech 'G' Owners Club Member #127]
Guitars: Gordon-Smith Graduate, Epiphone Les Paul Standard, Fender Jaguar MIJ Amp: Mesa/Boogie Dual Rectifier Roadster 2x12
jmannik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2014, 9:08 PM   #1503
philscomputerlab
Member
 
philscomputerlab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,843
Default

In this video I will show you how to patch old Sierra AGI games such as Space Quest 1 and 2 with drivers for Sound Blaster and MIDI. This enabled 3 voice sound and a somewhat richer gaming experience.

Credit to Jeremy W. Hayes for the AGIVER program and Anders M Olsson for the AGISB and AGIMIDI program.

At the end of the video are a few recordings to compare.

philscomputerlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2014, 6:50 AM   #1504
shane41
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: In the sticks NSW
Posts: 5,156
Default

Hey Phil, how many video have you produced??

300, 600?? I downloaded a decent chunk last night 3.4GB
Very happy & that was cracking on this 3g.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoprint View Post
There is a group of us that get incredibly erect over such hardware. Maybe post in the retro section?
Haha ...........might be a bit rude that picture.
shane41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2014, 12:36 PM   #1505
philscomputerlab
Member
 
philscomputerlab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shane41 View Post
Hey Phil, how many video have you produced??

300, 600?? I downloaded a decent chunk last night 3.4GB
Very happy & that was cracking on this 3g.
Just over 300. And I'm slowly shifting them to my new channel. What a lot of work...

But for many it's an opportunity to do them again. I used DOSBox in a lot of my early videos, now I can redo them with real hardware.
philscomputerlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2014, 3:50 PM   #1506
philscomputerlab
Member
 
philscomputerlab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,843
Default

Here we have the floppy version of Space Quest 4, patched with the Sierra General MIDI patch and played on a Roland SC-55.

philscomputerlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2014, 2:13 PM   #1507
philscomputerlab
Member
 
philscomputerlab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,843
Default

A re-done video

philscomputerlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2014, 4:53 PM   #1508
philscomputerlab
Member
 
philscomputerlab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,843
Default

Mucked around with Far Cry on my Pentium 4 3.2 GHz, 2GB DDR, GeForce 6600GT AGP and Windows XP SP2. Still a beauty of a game! 1600 x 1200 resolution everything on very high / ultra. This is the GOG.com DRM free version.



Link to full size: http://i.imgur.com/uslfQpg.jpg

Last edited by philscomputerlab; 2nd October 2014 at 4:59 PM.
philscomputerlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2014, 5:27 PM   #1509
flu!d
Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS
 
flu!d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,597
Default

Ah the 6600GT, good memories, love it mate!
__________________
Show us yer HTPC!

Dell T5500, Xeon X5675 Hex core @ 3.46Ghz max, 24GB RAM, GTX 670FTW, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD OS drive, 2 x 1TB home/storage drives, Dual Acer V243HQ 1920 x 1080 monitors, Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS and loving it!
flu!d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2014, 6:46 PM   #1510
Oblivion-330
Member
 
Oblivion-330's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: QLD
Posts: 624
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philscomputerlab View Post
Mucked around with Far Cry on my Pentium 4 3.2 GHz, 2GB DDR, GeForce 6600GT AGP and Windows XP SP2. Still a beauty of a game! 1600 x 1200 resolution everything on very high / ultra. This is the GOG.com DRM free version.

image

Link to full size: http://i.imgur.com/uslfQpg.jpg
Be carefull if you install the latest patch, I had problems with enemies being able to see through tents and walls (that bullets can travel through). Makes the game a bit hard..
__________________

Antec 300 | EPoX EP-3VSA2 | PIII-S 1.4 @ 1.50Ghz | 3x512MB PC133 SDRAM @143Mhz
ATI 9800 XT | Intel 520 120GB SSD | Antec True 380s
Oblivion-330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2014, 6:51 PM   #1511
TaXy DriVar
Member
 
TaXy DriVar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dural
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philscomputerlab View Post
Mucked around with Far Cry on my Pentium 4 3.2 GHz, 2GB DDR, GeForce 6600GT AGP and Windows XP SP2. Still a beauty of a game! 1600 x 1200 resolution everything on very high / ultra. This is the GOG.com DRM free version.

image

Link to full size: http://i.imgur.com/uslfQpg.jpg
Ahh Yes I still have my P4 3.0Ghz with 2GB DDR ... however I gave my 6800GT 256MB to my cousin several years ago when I upgraded to a 9800GTX 512MB.

My Top 5 games from then would have been:

Battlefield Vietnam / BF2
Farcry
Need for Speed Most Wanted
Neverwinter Nights + Exp


All running on my now exploded 22" Flat Trinitron CRT @ 1600x1200
__________________
Atari 2600 -> Sega Megadrive II -> Nintendo 64 -> Sega Dreamcast -> Xbox -> Xbox 360 -> Xbox 360 Slim
386sx25 -> Pentium 100 -> P166MMX Laptop -> P3 600MHz -> P4 2GHz -> P4 3GHz -> C2D E8400 -> Core i3 2100 -> Core i5 3570k
Gameboy Colour -> Gameboy Advance SP -> Nintendo DS -> Sony PSP
TaXy DriVar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2014, 7:13 PM   #1512
philscomputerlab
Member
 
philscomputerlab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flu!d View Post
Ah the 6600GT, good memories, love it mate!
Such a good card! The 6800GT is very hard to find / not cheap. So whenever I see a 6600GT AGP I crab it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oblivion-330 View Post
Be carefull if you install the latest patch, I had problems with enemies being able to see through tents and walls (that bullets can travel through). Makes the game a bit hard..
This seems to be the case in the GOG.com version. I don't think there is a way to remove the patch, but yes they shoot you through the tent.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaXy DriVar View Post
Ahh Yes I still have my P4 3.0Ghz with 2GB DDR ... however I gave my 6800GT 256MB to my cousin several years ago when I upgraded to a 9800GTX 512MB.

My Top 5 games from then would have been:

Battlefield Vietnam / BF2
Farcry
Need for Speed Most Wanted
Neverwinter Nights + Exp
Oh my was BF2 good when it came out. Before getting the full game I would just play the demo level online. Over and over. So much fun.
philscomputerlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2014, 7:29 PM   #1513
mAJORD
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philscomputerlab View Post
Mucked around with Far Cry on my Pentium 4 3.2 GHz, 2GB DDR, GeForce 6600GT AGP and Windows XP SP2. Still a beauty of a game! 1600 x 1200 resolution everything on very high / ultra. This is the GOG.com DRM free version.

image

Link to full size: http://i.imgur.com/uslfQpg.jpg
IRRC I bought my 6800GT for this game

amazing how good it still looks
mAJORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2014, 7:32 PM   #1514
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 49,802
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mAJORD View Post
IRRC I bought my 6800GT for this game

amazing how good it still looks
I bought a video card for it too, 6600GT then proceeded to overclock the piss out of it.
__________________
this is who we are.
power is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2014, 7:52 PM   #1515
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philscomputerlab View Post
Such a good card! The 6800GT is very hard to find / not cheap. So whenever I see a 6600GT AGP I crab it
I know where there is an AGP XFX 6800GT and it's NOS to boot, interested?
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dos, mmx, pentium, retro

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!