Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15th March 2014, 2:16 PM   #46
badmofo
Member
 
badmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 536
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonutKing View Post
Big day for me tomorrow so quiet one tonight...
Getting married??

That's a handy tip on the sega joypad, I've read about it but haven't gotten around to trying it yet.

I've also bought but not tried out one of these doohickies:

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/64JPX-Joy...03f8da1&_uhb=1

Another option for using Sega pads on Amiga, Atari, C64, etc.
badmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2014, 9:02 PM   #47
DonutKing
Member
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tweed/Gold Coast
Posts: 1,053
Default

Nop, not married, thank god... just a busy weekend.

Today I finished Turrican on my Amiga 500. I lost track of the number of times I recognized a sprite that Duke Nukem 1 and 2 stole from this game...


It's an excellent platformer, although world 4 kind of sucks (drab graphics and no music). Now onto Turrican 2
DonutKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2014, 12:14 AM   #48
Mau1wurf1977
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,706
Default

Finished my Super Socket 7 3Dfx Voodoo 2 CPU scaling marathon last week.

This card scales like no tomorrow. I will be continuing my investigation with a Slot 1 system.



And here scaling on the faster CPUs showing the difference between Voodoo and Voodoo 2:

Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2014, 9:53 AM   #49
BuuBox
Member
 
BuuBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,728
Default

Interesting to see how well the Voodoo cards scale.

That's a big effort Mau1wurf1977!

Now, where did you get an AMD K6-3+ 550MHz?
__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming, AMD FX-8350, 16GB DDR3, Sapphire Radeon R9 290, Plextor M8Pe(G) 512GB M.2 SSD, 2TB WD Black, EVGA 850W, Kogan 27"
Blast from the past: Shuttle HOT-591P, Cyrix MII-400GP, 64MB PC133, Voodoo Banshee, 16GB SSD, Creative Sound Blaster AWE64
Trades: Too many to list. Hundreds.

Last edited by BuuBox; 19th March 2014 at 11:03 AM.
BuuBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2014, 12:41 PM   #50
badmofo
Member
 
badmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 536
Default

I should know better by now but I once again tried to get 2 ISA sound cards working in a 486, a SB2 Pro and a PAS16. It was a waste of time.

And I received a Sound Blaster 1.5 the other day (CT1320C) which tested fine, but then I put the relevant Phillips chips in to allow CMS support and it started crackling after 30 mins or so. I think one of the chips is bad, because pulling it out (and leaving the other one in) fixed the problem. I'll have to wait until some new ones arrive from China to re-test.
badmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2014, 12:58 PM   #51
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badmofo View Post
I should know better by now but I once again tried to get 2 ISA sound cards working in a 486, a SB2 Pro and a PAS16. It was a waste of time.

And I received a Sound Blaster 1.5 the other day (CT1320C) which tested fine, but then I put the relevant Phillips chips in to allow CMS support and it started crackling after 30 mins or so. I think one of the chips is bad, because pulling it out (and leaving the other one in) fixed the problem. I'll have to wait until some new ones arrive from China to re-test.
I may have a few ISA sound cards kicking around in my bits box you are more than welcome to have, assuming they're still there of course
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2014, 8:16 PM   #52
Mau1wurf1977
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuuBox View Post
Now, where did you get an AMD K6-3+ 550MHz?
I don't but the 400 is multiplier unlocked

Well all the mobile K6 are (the ones with the +).

And regarding scaling: Just wait until you see the slot 1 chart with SLI...

I'll stick with 640 x 480 because I really want to show the CPU scaling rather than high resolution gaming. IMO for high resolution gaming there are better cards than Voodoo.

Last edited by Mau1wurf1977; 19th March 2014 at 8:26 PM.
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2014, 10:01 PM   #53
badmofo
Member
 
badmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 536
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adz View Post
I may have a few ISA sound cards kicking around in my bits box you are more than welcome to have, assuming they're still there of course
Thanks mate I never say no to more ISA sound cards! If you find them then I'd be interested to hear what you have.
badmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2014, 9:12 AM   #54
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mau1wurf1977 View Post
I don't but the 400 is multiplier unlocked

Well all the mobile K6 are (the ones with the +).

And regarding scaling: Just wait until you see the slot 1 chart with SLI...

I'll stick with 640 x 480 because I really want to show the CPU scaling rather than high resolution gaming. IMO for high resolution gaming there are better cards than Voodoo.
Looking forward to seeing that, top effort
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2014, 9:16 AM   #55
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badmofo View Post
Thanks mate I never say no to more ISA sound cards! If you find them then I'd be interested to hear what you have.
I'll have a dig around tonight.
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2014, 10:43 AM   #56
BuuBox
Member
 
BuuBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,728
Default

The only retro activity I've done lately is look at the mess in my computer room, and hurriedly shut the door...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mau1wurf1977 View Post
I don't but the 400 is multiplier unlocked

Well all the mobile K6 are (the ones with the +).

And regarding scaling: Just wait until you see the slot 1 chart with SLI...

I'll stick with 640 x 480 because I really want to show the CPU scaling rather than high resolution gaming. IMO for high resolution gaming there are better cards than Voodoo.
I look forward to the Slot 1 results!

That makes more sense. I think a K6-3+ 550MHz exists, but it'd be very rare. I just finished putting the final touches on my Super Socket 7 system with a K6-3+ 400MHz, might put up a build log if anyone is interested.
__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming, AMD FX-8350, 16GB DDR3, Sapphire Radeon R9 290, Plextor M8Pe(G) 512GB M.2 SSD, 2TB WD Black, EVGA 850W, Kogan 27"
Blast from the past: Shuttle HOT-591P, Cyrix MII-400GP, 64MB PC133, Voodoo Banshee, 16GB SSD, Creative Sound Blaster AWE64
Trades: Too many to list. Hundreds.
BuuBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2014, 11:04 AM   #57
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuuBox View Post
...might put up a build log if anyone is interested.
Will a Celeron 300A overclock to 450Mhz? Hell yes we're interested, well I am at least
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2014, 2:46 PM   #58
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badmofo View Post
Thanks mate I never say no to more ISA sound cards! If you find them then I'd be interested to hear what you have.
Only could find a few 16 bit cards, will have a look in the garage next time I'm out there, yes I have computers guts everywhere...
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2014, 3:42 PM   #59
badmofo
Member
 
badmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 536
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adz View Post
Only could find a few 16 bit cards, will have a look in the garage next time I'm out there, yes I have computers guts everywhere...
Nice one, thanks adz!
badmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2014, 1:52 AM   #60
Mau1wurf1977
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,706
Default

Started benchmarking with Slot 1 CPUs. Motherboard is an AOpen AX6BC. Nifty BIOS allows setting the FSB in the BIOS and makes it very easy to swap CPUs.

I'm doing two runs per CPU, one with a single card, then with SLI.

I want to not only show the CPU scaling with Slot 1 CPUs, but also the spread between single card and SLI.

Happy benchmarking days ahead
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dos, mmx, pentium, retro

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 5:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!