Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th June 2014, 9:24 AM   #751
BuuBox
Member
 
BuuBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,728
Default

That 3DO cleaned up quite nicely - especially considering the price.
__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming, AMD FX-8350, 16GB DDR3, Sapphire Radeon R9 290, Plextor M8Pe(G) 512GB M.2 SSD, 2TB WD Black, EVGA 850W, Kogan 27"
Blast from the past: Shuttle HOT-591P, Cyrix MII-400GP, 64MB PC133, Voodoo Banshee, 16GB SSD, Creative Sound Blaster AWE64
Trades: Too many to list. Hundreds.
BuuBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2014, 9:37 AM   #752
qwertylesh
Member
 
qwertylesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8,339
Default

those other paint "light" areas on the plastic will clean up well using magic eraser (melamine foam), just as long as you are gentle with the stuff.

some brands tend to be more abrasive then others, i find the chux kind does the nicest but is also the most abrasive.

theres softer generic stuff you can find at bunnings, having a variety allows you to control the abrasiveness, much like sandpaper grits.

you can get lots of really well priced 3do titles out of areas like japan, only thing is you would have to mod the unit to play those.
qwertylesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2014, 11:08 AM   #753
sean0118
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 133
Default

You could also try Eucalyptus oil, it's surprisingly good as a paint remover. Just test it on a small area first, I haven't used it on many plastics, also it does remove some screen prints so be careful.
sean0118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2014, 12:06 PM   #754
shane41
Member
 
shane41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: on the edge
Posts: 4,883
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dacow View Post
You too can have your own little slice of heaven

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/AMD-K6-2-...D-K6-2-570ACZ-


Or if you're into group buying and can find 27,999 other friends that want CPU's

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/28-000-pi...Wholesale-lot-
Did you make seller offer??
How much Aussie$ all up shipped??
__________________
Nothing to see here So I'm told often
shane41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2014, 6:00 PM   #755
dacow
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 420
Default

I offered 15 each for qty of 2. Shipping was 25. They probably would take 10 i reckon since they have 28 thousand of them heheh
dacow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2014, 7:34 PM   #756
flu!d
Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS
 
flu!d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,651
Default

Checking out the latest demoscene on my MorphOS rig...

Quite impressive.
__________________
Show us yer HTPC!

Dell T5500, Xeon X5675 Hex core @ 3.46Ghz max, 24GB RAM, GTX 670FTW, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD OS drive, 2 x 1TB home/storage drives, Dual Acer V243HQ 1920 x 1080 monitors, Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS and loving it!
flu!d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2014, 11:32 AM   #757
TaXy DriVar
Member
 
TaXy DriVar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dural
Posts: 478
Default

So my Amiga FDD Emulator came in the other day.

At first I thought I might use the external adapter and simply using a disk copy program, copy the ADF's mounted on the memory stick to a new floppy disk (therefore requiring no modding).

However I came to the conclusion that to make my life easier, I might as well just replace the FDD with the FDD Emulator.

After several attempts at trying to have it mounted inside I finally accepted that it just wasn't going to be accessible, in relation to pushing the buttons to change the disk.

So ... here it is now Mounted on the outside (unless I decide to pull it a part and build a custom mount) - Thinking about extending the buttons out of the FDD inlet space and relocating the USB to the eject button position.





__________________
Atari 2600 -> Sega Megadrive II -> Nintendo 64 -> Sega Dreamcast -> Xbox -> Xbox 360 -> Xbox 360 Slim
386sx25 -> Pentium 100 -> P166MMX Laptop -> P3 600MHz -> P4 2GHz -> P4 3GHz -> C2D E8400 -> Core i3 2100 -> Core i5 3570k
Gameboy Colour -> Gameboy Advance SP -> Nintendo DS -> Sony PSP
TaXy DriVar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2014, 4:03 PM   #758
flu!d
Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS
 
flu!d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,651
Default

TaXy DriVar, how does the gotek cope with games that require constant disk swapping? Does it handle the procedure by iteslf or do you have to manually select the virtual disks?

I was looking at the Gotek for my A500 but I'm fairly certain I'm going to get an ACA500 and possibly an accelerator card, if the accelerator card doesn't work well with the 500 then at least I'll have one for when I lash out on an A1200!

Having said that, I really don't know why I need an A1200 because the emulated A1200/68040 that I'm running on my Morphos rig is working a treat with WHDLoad and iGame, and expansions are just a tweak of a configuration file away!

Some pics:



















Now to play some Speedball 2....
__________________
Show us yer HTPC!

Dell T5500, Xeon X5675 Hex core @ 3.46Ghz max, 24GB RAM, GTX 670FTW, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD OS drive, 2 x 1TB home/storage drives, Dual Acer V243HQ 1920 x 1080 monitors, Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS and loving it!
flu!d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2014, 6:48 PM   #759
the3coopers
Member
 
the3coopers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sydney 2151
Posts: 1,681
Default

Woot - LEMMINGS as it was intended to be played.

What resolution is that?

Is the sound working ("oh-ohhh!") ???
the3coopers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2014, 6:55 PM   #760
flu!d
Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS
 
flu!d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the3coopers View Post
Woot - LEMMINGS as it was intended to be played.

What resolution is that?

Is the sound working ("oh-ohhh!") ???
Everything works perfectly just as it does on the original hardware, including that funky Lemmings soundtrack!

And thanks to WHDLoad no more disk swapping (not that it was a real issue on Lemmings if you had a second floppy drive).

Resolution....Not too sure. UAE is set to 800 x 600, WB3.1 is set to 724 x 566 PAL Hi Res Laced mode with 256 colours.

All I know is this is the best running Amiga I've ever owned, especially with my fastram recently being increased to 8MB!
__________________
Show us yer HTPC!

Dell T5500, Xeon X5675 Hex core @ 3.46Ghz max, 24GB RAM, GTX 670FTW, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD OS drive, 2 x 1TB home/storage drives, Dual Acer V243HQ 1920 x 1080 monitors, Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS and loving it!

Last edited by flu!d; 27th June 2014 at 7:11 PM.
flu!d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2014, 7:19 PM   #761
TaXy DriVar
Member
 
TaXy DriVar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dural
Posts: 478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flu!d View Post
TaXy DriVar, how does the gotek cope with games that require constant disk swapping? Does it handle the procedure by iteslf or do you have to manually select the virtual disks?

I was looking at the Gotek for my A500 but I'm fairly certain I'm going to get an ACA500 and possibly an accelerator card, if the accelerator card doesn't work well with the 500 then at least I'll have one for when I lash out on an A1200!
You mount the virtual disks upfront - can mount up to 999
Then its a matter of selecting the mount point eg Chaos Engine Disk 1 = 10

When it asks for Disk 2, push the up button on the Virtual FDD to 11 and hit enter on keyboard .. away it goes

USB is formatted to Fat32 so to update games just insert USB stick back into PC and upload more ADF's ... IT can also take a USB HDD if you wish
__________________
Atari 2600 -> Sega Megadrive II -> Nintendo 64 -> Sega Dreamcast -> Xbox -> Xbox 360 -> Xbox 360 Slim
386sx25 -> Pentium 100 -> P166MMX Laptop -> P3 600MHz -> P4 2GHz -> P4 3GHz -> C2D E8400 -> Core i3 2100 -> Core i5 3570k
Gameboy Colour -> Gameboy Advance SP -> Nintendo DS -> Sony PSP
TaXy DriVar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2014, 7:24 PM   #762
flu!d
Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS
 
flu!d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaXy DriVar View Post
You mount the virtual disks upfront - can mount up to 999
Then its a matter of selecting the mount point eg Chaos Engine Disk 1 = 10

When it asks for Disk 2, push the up button on the Virtual FDD to 11 and hit enter on keyboard .. away it goes

USB is formatted to Fat32 so to update games just insert USB stick back into PC and upload more ADF's ... IT can also take a USB HDD if you wish
I see, nice.

Not a bad bit of gear for the outlay.

They show photos of the device mounted inside the case in all the pics I have seen? False advertising?
__________________
Show us yer HTPC!

Dell T5500, Xeon X5675 Hex core @ 3.46Ghz max, 24GB RAM, GTX 670FTW, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD OS drive, 2 x 1TB home/storage drives, Dual Acer V243HQ 1920 x 1080 monitors, Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS and loving it!
flu!d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2014, 7:58 PM   #763
TaXy DriVar
Member
 
TaXy DriVar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dural
Posts: 478
Default

I couldn't see any possible way and I tried for 30mins or so. To be able to read the LED panel (For which mount point is selected) and push the buttons would have been too difficult if mounted inside - and you cannot close the case without hacking away some of the plastic where the original FDD goes.

Do potentially false advertising.
__________________
Atari 2600 -> Sega Megadrive II -> Nintendo 64 -> Sega Dreamcast -> Xbox -> Xbox 360 -> Xbox 360 Slim
386sx25 -> Pentium 100 -> P166MMX Laptop -> P3 600MHz -> P4 2GHz -> P4 3GHz -> C2D E8400 -> Core i3 2100 -> Core i5 3570k
Gameboy Colour -> Gameboy Advance SP -> Nintendo DS -> Sony PSP
TaXy DriVar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2014, 8:12 PM   #764
Draxx
Member
 
Draxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Bendigo
Posts: 942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaXy DriVar View Post
I couldn't see any possible way and I tried for 30mins or so. To be able to read the LED panel (For which mount point is selected) and push the buttons would have been too difficult if mounted inside - and you cannot close the case without hacking away some of the plastic where the original FDD goes.

Do potentially false advertising.
There's a Gotek without the display, and I think you'll find that's the one they mount internally. I just got mine today, so I'm going to try and fit it in my A3000. Failing that, it'll go in my A1200, or just for shits and giggles, I'll hook it up to the CD32!
__________________
My Cars
My Daily: 1998 Ford Fairlane Ghia NL in Navy Blue
Wife's Daily: 2008 Ford Falcon FG XR6 Sedan in Nitro Blue
Draxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2014, 8:14 PM   #765
Draxx
Member
 
Draxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Bendigo
Posts: 942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr camouflage View Post
Have been playing Pool of Radiance. Had this game back (and its sequels) in the late 80's early 90's. (Playing it with boxer on my macbook air though)
Secret of the Silver Blades was my favourite of that series. I remember drawing the maps on graph paper so I didn't get lost, and occasionally doing the vault cheat (put everything in and save, exit out, make a copy, go back divvy everything up, save, close, restore copy, rinse & repeat!)
__________________
My Cars
My Daily: 1998 Ford Fairlane Ghia NL in Navy Blue
Wife's Daily: 2008 Ford Falcon FG XR6 Sedan in Nitro Blue
Draxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dos, mmx, pentium, retro

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 5:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!