Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd June 2015, 11:18 PM   #46
AEKaBeer
Member
 
AEKaBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Essendon
Posts: 3,897
Default

The Cazrizo APU using Excavator is looking damn impressive.

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/amd...sor,29230.html

http://www.anandtech.com/show/9319/a...ecture-updates
__________________
i5 4690, EVGA GTX1070 SC, 16GB HyperX, GB B85N Phoenix, TR Silver Arrow Exreme, Dell U2410, Bitfenix Prodigy, 2x500GB EVO, 256GB Crucial M4, Seagate 3TB, Silverstone 850w Gold
Metabox P157SM, i7-4700MQ, GTX 780M, 32GB DDR3, 120GB Sandisk, 256GB Plextor
AEKaBeer is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 4th June 2015, 12:10 AM   #47
SLATYE
SLATYE, not SLAYTE
 
SLATYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 26,787
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lithos View Post
My standard CPU upgrade path is 18-24 months.

With AMD:

"I'll spend $200 on a new CPU."

With Intel:

"I'll spent $200 on a new CPU...and another $150 on a new fucking motherboard."
Wouldn't AMD's one be more accurate as:

"I'll spend $200 on a new CPU ... and get the same CPU that I've already got because AMD hasn't updated their high-end CPU line in the last two years" (current $200 CPU from PCCG is the FX-8320; it was released at $169 US in 2012).

With Intel at least there are practical upgrade options available, even if they mean buying a new mainboard.


At the moment I can't see any point in buying a "high-end" AMD chip (which includes everything in the AM* platform). Their lower-end chips (eg. Kabini) are the interesting products at this stage, as long as you're not after particularly high CPU performance. If you're on a budget (eg. $400 for a complete system, able to run some games) then they're great. Hopefully Carrizo will do what AMD claim, but I've heard enough AMD claims to be sceptical.
__________________
Supermicro X8DAE | 2x Xeon L5640 | 24GB ECC/registered DDR3-1333 | 256GB Intel 740 SSD
SLATYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2015, 12:13 AM   #48
Madengineer
Member
 
Madengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11,240
Default

So read something fairly interesting today. Dell have signed up for amd CPUs in their inspiron model laptops. Apparently they work well for their design and purpose.

Didn't read too much detail into it, but it sounded like they were going to be using fm2 equiv or similar with a decent on board video card.

Could very well pull amd out of their slump.

People will question why etc. I'm a little fuzzy on that myself. But dell must've seen something that they really liked.
__________________
'Fakts still exist even if they're ignored.'
Madengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2015, 12:12 PM   #49
sammy_b0i
Member
 
sammy_b0i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ACT 2914
Posts: 3,073
Default

Probably just the performance per watt per $. Better performance than Intel offerings at a lower price point, means they can have better performing products at a lower cost, means more market share, means more stock moving, means more money for them
__________________
Ryzen R7 1700, MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon, Noctua U14S, 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3466MHz @ 3200MHz, HD7970 DCU2 (Temp), 480GB OCZ Trion150, eVGA G2 750W, Fractal Define C, BL3200PT
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommodmc View Post
OCAU is a breeding ground for hyper-moralistic 13 year olds who've never stepped out of the computer room in their entire life. Young liberals, young labor, people who will grow old and die before they ever think about pulling their head out.
sammy_b0i is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2015, 1:48 PM   #50
General_Cartman
Member
 
General_Cartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The Confedaracah!
Posts: 2,653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLATYE View Post
At the moment I can't see any point in buying a "high-end" AMD chip (which includes everything in the AM* platform). Their lower-end chips (eg. Kabini) are the interesting products at this stage, as long as you're not after particularly high CPU performance. If you're on a budget (eg. $400 for a complete system, able to run some games) then they're great. Hopefully Carrizo will do what AMD claim, but I've heard enough AMD claims to be sceptical.
If you want to run highly threaded workloads and only have 200 bucks the AMD FX series is still competitive. But outside of that very small niche, there's no reason to buy one.
General_Cartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2015, 9:08 PM   #51
Nian
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 732
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by General_Cartman View Post
If you want to run highly threaded workloads and only have 200 bucks the AMD FX series is still competitive. But outside of that very small niche, there's no reason to buy one.
Except for the fact that most new games and the majority of future ones, will be seriously multi-threaded, also DirectX12 and Windows 10 favours multi-threaded CPU's.
__________________
Asrock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer, AMD FX-8370 BE @ 4.5Ghz, G.Skill TridentX DDR3 @ 2133 Mhz 10-12-12-31 4x8Gb , 2x Gigabyte Windforce 3 R9 290X OC 4Gb GV-R929XOC-4GD, Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, Cooler Master V8

Old System: Gigabyte GA-965p-DS4 Rev. 1.0, Q9300ES @ 2.8Ghz, Team Xtreem Dark DDR2 740Mhz 4-4-4-12 4x2Gb, AFox HD7850 2Gb, Asus Xonar D2X, CoolerMaster CM690. Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Nian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2015, 4:04 AM   #52
knifey
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by General_Cartman View Post
If you want to run highly threaded workloads and only have 200 bucks the AMD FX series is still competitive. But outside of that very small niche, there's no reason to buy one.
I have no idea what you peeps are talking about. I can run most games maxed out and I have a Phenom II X4 945. I don't get great FPS on cpu intensive RTS games (cities skylines 80k ppl, tropico5 2k ppl) which is why I'm upgrading to a AMD FX-8320. Once I have that I will be able to max out any game. Okay I only run at 1080p but so do most gamers.

AMD FX-8320 $209
Radeon R9 270X $209
Gigabyte GA-970A-D3P $119

find an intel combo for $537 that can play a game better?

so Intel Core i5-4690K which performs worse in bench tests by 5% $309
https://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu_loo...320+Eight-Core
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H Motherboard $99
ASUS GeForce GTX 750 OC 2GB $159

$567... bigger price. Less performance.

according to wiki
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...icroprocessors
they were releasing (maybe just revisions) stuff (2014-09-02) less than a year ago. How is that dead?

Last edited by knifey; 19th July 2015 at 5:33 AM.
knifey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2015, 9:32 AM   #53
Euphoreia
Member
 
Euphoreia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knifey View Post
find an intel combo for $537 that can play a game better?

so Intel Core i5-4690K which performs worse in bench tests by 5% $309
https://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu_loo...320+Eight-Core
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H Motherboard $99
ASUS GeForce GTX 750 OC 2GB $159

$567... bigger price. Less performance.
Because the FX8320 is actually quite a lot slower in games due to rather poor single core performance:

http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i...vs-AMD-FX-8320

The 4690 is a significantly faster chip for games, as I think Star Citizen is the -only- game to use more than 4 cores.
So in any game, both processors are using 4 (at most) cores, but the i5 is more than 50% faster per core, nearly double in some cases. And it generates 40w less heat.

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/201...4690k-review/5
Here's some real-world game tests showing that in some cases, the i5 is literally double the speed of an 8350...

Last edited by Euphoreia; 19th July 2015 at 9:49 AM.
Euphoreia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2015, 12:32 PM   #54
knifey
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Euphoreia View Post
Because the FX8320 is actually quite a lot slower in games due to rather poor single core performance:

http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i...vs-AMD-FX-8320

The 4690 is a significantly faster chip for games, as I think Star Citizen is the -only- game to use more than 4 cores.
So in any game, both processors are using 4 (at most) cores, but the i5 is more than 50% faster per core, nearly double in some cases. And it generates 40w less heat.

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/201...4690k-review/5
Here's some real-world game tests showing that in some cases, the i5 is literally double the speed of an 8350...
Show me an INTEL cpu rig which would outperform an AMD one then...

Also couldn't you make windows and everything else run on the last 4 cores, leaving the game to use all of the first 4? that seems like you would have 10-20% boost in a real world test and not just on a blank windows install which bench's are run on...

Last edited by knifey; 19th July 2015 at 12:52 PM.
knifey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2015, 2:43 PM   #55
newlife
Member
 
newlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 2,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knifey View Post

so Intel Core i5-4690K which performs worse in bench tests by 5% $309
https://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu_loo...320+Eight-Core
You should try checking a real site benchmark site to chech the performance difference because passmark by no means counts
http://hwbot.org/hardware/processors#key=fx_8350
http://hwbot.org/hardware/processors#key=core_i5_4690k

P. S. I'm an AMD fanboy and I have enough brains to know that AMD CPU's are crap not to mention I've put both under ln2 and learnt from it that AMD is slow as hell even when running 7ghz+

7ghz AMD vs 6ghz intel

Last edited by newlife; 19th July 2015 at 2:48 PM.
newlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2015, 3:46 PM   #56
Euphoreia
Member
 
Euphoreia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knifey View Post
Also couldn't you make windows and everything else run on the last 4 cores, leaving the game to use all of the first 4? that seems like you would have 10-20% boost in a real world test and not just on a blank windows install which bench's are run on...
No, my CPU sits in windows with all my usual shit running at an average of 1% at 800mhz. This is about 15 chrome tabs, skype, steam, everything else.

Last edited by Euphoreia; 19th July 2015 at 5:12 PM.
Euphoreia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2015, 6:32 PM   #57
kripz
Member
 
kripz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near Frankston
Posts: 2,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Euphoreia View Post
No, my CPU sits in windows with all my usual shit running at an average of 1% at 800mhz. This is about 15 chrome tabs, skype, steam, everything else.
Most people turn off CnQ on AMD
__________________
My Rig i7 4790, Z87X-UD3H, Gigabyte GTX780
My Successful Trades 28
kripz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2015, 9:38 PM   #58
C-BuZz
Member
 
C-BuZz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Melb, East
Posts: 5,068
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knifey View Post
I have no idea what you peeps are talking about.
Quote:
Originally Posted by knifey View Post
I don't get great FPS on cpu intensive RTS games (cities skylines 80k ppl, tropico5 2k ppl) which is why I'm upgrading to a AMD FX-8320.
Ummm.......

This is what people are talking about. What don't you get? If you haven't used an Intel cpu, then best you stick with AMD & keep thinking they are amazing.

I can tell you that your FPS will only be slightly better with the FX than your current cpu. The single core performance is terrible.
C-BuZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2015, 10:29 PM   #59
hvalac
Member
 
hvalac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Parmelia, W.A, 6167
Posts: 2,004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knifey View Post
Show me an INTEL cpu rig which would outperform an AMD one then...
http://www.techspot.com/review/943-b...cpu/page6.html

I admit the cpu's are slightly different and there is only 1 test that is rts based but the point is that amd appears to lose in all tests gaming related
__________________
Originally Posted by mshagg It seems cause for concern that so many people are being run over that we need to consider making it safer to be run over?

Originally Posted by jmart38 They're rude because they have to deal with idiots like me all the time.

Originally Posted by Philll First, let's count the amount of fucks I give about what anyone else thinks. Let's do it, we'll start with 0. Okay: 0. All done.
hvalac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2015, 10:42 PM   #60
mAJORD
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C-BuZz View Post
Ummm.......

This is what people are talking about. What don't you get? If you haven't used an Intel cpu, then best you stick with AMD & keep thinking they are amazing.

I can tell you that your FPS will only be slightly better with the FX than your current cpu. The single core performance is terrible.
http://www.computerbase.de/2012-10/t...350-vishera/6/
http://www.computerbase.de/2012-10/t...350-vishera/7/

FX 8350 vs Phenom 965 is a pretty decent overall improvement .. more so than than the difference between an FX and an ivy i7 even. - Including unrealistic 640x480 CPU tests.

But yes, there's no denying Intel have the lead in gaming performance. but it is at a cost
mAJORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 1:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!