Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21st June 2015, 1:43 PM   #1
mixsetup Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wynyard Tasmania
Posts: 2,466
Question Chipsets

Okay I have the Asrock fatal1ty 990fx professional motherboard been pretty good has the 990FX/SB950 chipset. Thing is the ddr3 I have http://www.geil.com.tw/products/show/id/425
can only go to 2133Mhz any higher I get the BSOD. The board has in the bios up to 2400 Mhz.
So thought I would look for a better board. Seems most new ones have the AMD 970 & SB950 chipset.
Whats up here you think they would be making boards with the 990FX chipset or a later one if they ever will.
Or will this make no difference?
Most boards I have seen say they support 2133mhz ddr3 any boards which support any higher?
__________________
AMD FX-9590, ASRock 990fx Extreme9 Motherboard,MSI R9 280X GAMING 3G , GeIL 16GB Kit DDR3 Evo Potenza @ 2400MHz, Sandisk Ultra II 240GB SSD, 2 X 2TB SATA3 HDD, 2TB NAS , 1TB SATA3, 2 X 2TB external HDD, LG Blu-Ray RW

Last edited by mixsetup; 21st June 2015 at 1:51 PM.
mixsetup is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 21st June 2015, 2:07 PM   #2
General_Cartman
Member
 
General_Cartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The Confedaracah!
Posts: 2,629
Default

It is possible it's the CPU? Remember it has an integrated memory controller. IIRC Bulldozer only supported DDR3 1600 in a dual channel configuration (assuming you're talking about the system in your sig).
General_Cartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2015, 2:56 PM   #3
mixsetup Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wynyard Tasmania
Posts: 2,466
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by General_Cartman View Post
It is possible it's the CPU? Remember it has an integrated memory controller. IIRC Bulldozer only supported DDR3 1600 in a dual channel configuration (assuming you're talking about the system in your sig).
Yeah same system as in sig. Better look at a new CPU then. Thanks
__________________
AMD FX-9590, ASRock 990fx Extreme9 Motherboard,MSI R9 280X GAMING 3G , GeIL 16GB Kit DDR3 Evo Potenza @ 2400MHz, Sandisk Ultra II 240GB SSD, 2 X 2TB SATA3 HDD, 2TB NAS , 1TB SATA3, 2 X 2TB external HDD, LG Blu-Ray RW
mixsetup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2015, 3:15 PM   #4
newlife
Member
 
newlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 2,047
Default

To run more than 2133 you need to increase the nb/cpu volts (could be called something else) which can allow 2400+ but that does depend on the cpu and nb/cpu volts which can be run up to 1.4v with ambient cooling

P.S. I've run 2500mhz with bulldozer and a cheap 760g (am3) board
newlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2015, 3:48 PM   #5
mixsetup Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wynyard Tasmania
Posts: 2,466
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newlife View Post
To run more than 2133 you need to increase the nb/cpu volts (could be called something else) which can allow 2400+ but that does depend on the cpu and nb/cpu volts which can be run up to 1.4v with ambient cooling

P.S. I've run 2500mhz with bulldozer and a cheap 760g (am3) board

Thanks I'll have a look at the voltages tomorrow and let you know.
__________________
AMD FX-9590, ASRock 990fx Extreme9 Motherboard,MSI R9 280X GAMING 3G , GeIL 16GB Kit DDR3 Evo Potenza @ 2400MHz, Sandisk Ultra II 240GB SSD, 2 X 2TB SATA3 HDD, 2TB NAS , 1TB SATA3, 2 X 2TB external HDD, LG Blu-Ray RW
mixsetup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2015, 10:23 AM   #6
neRok
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Perth NOR
Posts: 2,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixsetup View Post
So thought I would look for a better board. Seems most new ones have the AMD 970 & SB950 chipset.
990FX is the best AFAIK. People spending that amount of coin probably go for an intel setup, thus 990FX gear is thin on the ground, and only midrange 970 are typically stocked. Thats my opinion of it.
neRok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2015, 10:25 AM   #7
mixsetup Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wynyard Tasmania
Posts: 2,466
Default

Had a look and my voltages are all at default.

Dram 1.650v
NB 1.145v
HT 1.180v
CPU/VDDA 2.56v
PCIE VDDA 1.81v
__________________
AMD FX-9590, ASRock 990fx Extreme9 Motherboard,MSI R9 280X GAMING 3G , GeIL 16GB Kit DDR3 Evo Potenza @ 2400MHz, Sandisk Ultra II 240GB SSD, 2 X 2TB SATA3 HDD, 2TB NAS , 1TB SATA3, 2 X 2TB external HDD, LG Blu-Ray RW
mixsetup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2015, 1:00 PM   #8
newlife
Member
 
newlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 2,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neRok View Post
990FX is the best AFAIK. People spending that amount of coin probably go for an intel setup, thus 990FX gear is thin on the ground, and only midrange 970 are typically stocked. Thats my opinion of it.
For AM3+ 990fx is without a doubt the best but I reckon A88X is better because of native USB 3 and PCI-E 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixsetup View Post
Had a look and my voltages are all at default.

Dram 1.650v
NB 1.145v
HT 1.180v
CPU/VDDA 2.56v
PCIE VDDA 1.81v
Try increasing the NB to around 1.25v and see if it makes a difference

Also your mems are total overkill for AMD and Intel even

Last edited by newlife; 22nd June 2015 at 1:03 PM.
newlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2015, 2:21 PM   #9
mixsetup Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wynyard Tasmania
Posts: 2,466
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newlife View Post
For AM3+ 990fx is without a doubt the best but I reckon A88X is better because of native USB 3 and PCI-E 3



Try increasing the NB to around 1.25v and see if it makes a difference

Also your mems are total overkill for AMD and Intel even
Would have to change to an FM2+ for the A88X chipset. Looks like I might have to toss in and change to a new socket then.
When I bought the memory just went for something higher than 1600. Need 16GB for graphics.

I'll try increasing the NB as you said.
Thanks
__________________
AMD FX-9590, ASRock 990fx Extreme9 Motherboard,MSI R9 280X GAMING 3G , GeIL 16GB Kit DDR3 Evo Potenza @ 2400MHz, Sandisk Ultra II 240GB SSD, 2 X 2TB SATA3 HDD, 2TB NAS , 1TB SATA3, 2 X 2TB external HDD, LG Blu-Ray RW

Last edited by mixsetup; 22nd June 2015 at 3:06 PM.
mixsetup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2015, 8:10 PM   #10
Nian
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 725
Default

Just to confirm, the newer AMD FX chips will easily go to 2400Mhz.
__________________
Asrock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer, AMD FX-8370 BE @ 4.5Ghz, G.Skill TridentX DDR3 @ 2133 Mhz 10-12-12-31 4x8Gb , 2x Gigabyte Windforce 3 R9 290X OC 4Gb GV-R929XOC-4GD, Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, Cooler Master V8

Old System: Gigabyte GA-965p-DS4 Rev. 1.0, Q9300ES @ 2.8Ghz, Team Xtreem Dark DDR2 740Mhz 4-4-4-12 4x2Gb, AFox HD7850 2Gb, Asus Xonar D2X, CoolerMaster CM690. Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Nian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2015, 9:44 PM   #11
mixsetup Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wynyard Tasmania
Posts: 2,466
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nian View Post
Just to confirm, the newer AMD FX chips will easily go to 2400Mhz.
Thanks for that Like the FX chips didn't really want to go the FM2+ maybe sometime they will make a board which has pcie 3
__________________
AMD FX-9590, ASRock 990fx Extreme9 Motherboard,MSI R9 280X GAMING 3G , GeIL 16GB Kit DDR3 Evo Potenza @ 2400MHz, Sandisk Ultra II 240GB SSD, 2 X 2TB SATA3 HDD, 2TB NAS , 1TB SATA3, 2 X 2TB external HDD, LG Blu-Ray RW
mixsetup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2015, 9:56 PM   #12
General_Cartman
Member
 
General_Cartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The Confedaracah!
Posts: 2,629
Default

You'd be better off getting a Piledriver CPU like the FX-8350 as it would shit all over anything on FM2+ as far as raw CPU performance is concerned.
General_Cartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2015, 1:27 AM   #13
munchiies
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Victoria
Posts: 31
Default

I would suggest to keep what you have and dont go to fm2 you would be wasting money on no performance gain unless you go towards the i5/i7, not everything overclocks the same I guess its all luck on the chip and mobo.

Last edited by munchiies; 25th June 2015 at 1:30 AM.
munchiies is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2015, 8:43 AM   #14
mixsetup Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wynyard Tasmania
Posts: 2,466
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by munchiies View Post
I would suggest to keep what you have and dont go to fm2 you would be wasting money on no performance gain unless you go towards the i5/i7, not everything overclocks the same I guess its all luck on the chip and mobo.
Yeah think I will wait and buy 9590 or whatever is the latest in a few months.
__________________
AMD FX-9590, ASRock 990fx Extreme9 Motherboard,MSI R9 280X GAMING 3G , GeIL 16GB Kit DDR3 Evo Potenza @ 2400MHz, Sandisk Ultra II 240GB SSD, 2 X 2TB SATA3 HDD, 2TB NAS , 1TB SATA3, 2 X 2TB external HDD, LG Blu-Ray RW
mixsetup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2015, 12:43 PM   #15
newlife
Member
 
newlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 2,047
Default

Don't get me wrong as I wasn't saying to get fm2+ but that I think it has a better chipset because it's newer. It would be best to keep what you got and if you want more CPU power you could get a 8350 or somethimg
newlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!