Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Video Cards & Monitors

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
View Poll Results: What Pascal GPU(s) Do You Own?
NVIDIA TITAN X 16 2.83%
GeForce GTX 1080 155 27.43%
GeForce GTX 1070 145 25.66%
GeForce GTX 1060 53 9.38%
None I Just Like Voting... 213 37.70%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 565. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23rd November 2016, 11:48 AM   #7501
Manusdei
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Darwin...
Posts: 550
Default

Really tempted on that EVGA card, is this one of the cards affected by the thermal pad issue?

Do any of the Gigabyte or MSI cards allow you to change the coolers and retain warranty?
__________________
PSN ID | Manusdei_Oz
Manusdei is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 23rd November 2016, 12:18 PM   #7502
martini.txt
Member
 
martini.txt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: YouTube
Posts: 3,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manusdei View Post
Really tempted on that EVGA card, is this one of the cards affected by the thermal pad issue?

Do any of the Gigabyte or MSI cards allow you to change the coolers and retain warranty?
any ACX 3.0 card can suffer from the problem, including 1060's, 70's and 80's

see here

http://www.evga.com/thermalmod/
__________________
GET ON ME UTUBZ MATE
The Rig - i7-6700k - ASUS ROG Gene VIII - ASUS ROG STRIX 1080 - 16gb DDR4 - Fractal Node 804 - AIO Water (CPU)
The Mini - HP N40L w/ Ubuntu, Sickrage, Plex, Deluge
The Garage - Honda Hornet 900 Fiesta ST BF XR6 Turbo
martini.txt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2016, 1:15 PM   #7503
Frag_Lord
Member
 
Frag_Lord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 1,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manusdei View Post
Really tempted on that EVGA card, is this one of the cards affected by the thermal pad issue?

Do any of the Gigabyte or MSI cards allow you to change the coolers and retain warranty?
As long as there is nothing covering the screws like a warranty void sticker then technically all cards allow this. What they don't know wont hurt them basically.

I am about to put a waterblock on my MSI 1070 Gaming X.
__________________
Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7|i7 6700K|Corsair 16GB 3200 DDR4|MSI Gaming X GTX1070|Asus Xonar STX|Samsung 120GB, 2 x 250GB SSD, Crucial 500GB SSD|WD 3TB| Seasonic X850W|Corsair 600C|Corsair Strafe RGB|Logitech G502|Acer XB271HU|Custom sleeving|Custom water loop|
Trades List
Frag_Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 7:34 PM   #7504
cbwolf
Member
 
cbwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,107
Default

Got my MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X from the Futu ebay special - great card

Unbelievably quiet for what it can do, and a decent overclocker so far. Managed 2015Mhz core and 5520 (1140mhz effective) on the memory within 2 minutes on installing it

Edit: Got it to run perfectly @ 2078Mhz core, but crashed at anything above that, so running it at 2050Mhz for daily. Pretty impressed.
__________________
i7 7700k | Asus ROG Z270E Strix | MSI GTX1080 Gaming X | 32GB Trident Z 3200Mhz DDR4 | 256GB + 1TB Samsung 960 m.2 SSD | Philips 43" 4k IPS Monitor
Over $5,500 in forum trades and counting!

Last edited by cbwolf; 24th November 2016 at 8:29 PM.
cbwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 9:04 PM   #7505
aussie-revhead
Member
 
aussie-revhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St Clair 2759
Posts: 18,018
Default

Its good to see 3x 1070 models under $600 at MSY now, and one 1080 for $899, keep falling ...

__________________
Bench 1- Asus Rampage 5 Extreme- 5960x - 32gb of Samsung B die DDR4- evga GTX 1080Ti FTW (soon ....) - Intel 600P m.2 512GB - Enermax Revo1250 - water cooled tech bench - QNIX 2560x1440 screen @ 100Hz - Aten 120Hz KVM
Netbox - Dell 990 SFF - 2500 - 16GB ram - gtx750Ti - 240GB SSD - 2TB green
Current vehicles- Black 2007 ZX14 - VE V8 Calais (wifes car) - VN SS (for sale)
aussie-revhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2016, 8:12 PM   #7506
ni9ht_5ta1k3r
Member
 
ni9ht_5ta1k3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney: it sucks!
Posts: 29,682
Default

My MSI 1070 Notebook GPU got shipped so i should get it soon.
__________________
XBOX Live: The Gh0sts | Steam: Th3_Gh0sts | PSN: TheGhosts (AU) - TheGh0sts_CA (CA) | Origin: Th3_Gh0sts - RSSC: Chillawhat | UPlay: spartan33 | Battle.Net: Th3Gh0sts#1131
Current PC: Metabox Prime-X P870DM-G with a GTX 1070 Notebook
My Web & Graphic Design Portfolio | My EBay Listings | Overwatch Vids
ni9ht_5ta1k3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2016, 12:31 PM   #7507
Herbo
Member
 
Herbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ni9ht_5ta1k3r View Post
My MSI 1070 Notebook GPU got shipped so i should get it soon.
Nice! Keen to buy one next year so very interested in how it performs!
Herbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2016, 12:33 PM   #7508
ni9ht_5ta1k3r
Member
 
ni9ht_5ta1k3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney: it sucks!
Posts: 29,682
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Herbo View Post
Nice! Keen to buy one next year so very interested in how it performs!
just the GPU? i hope you can stomach the price!

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NVIDIA-GT...4AAOSwZJBX9-qh
__________________
XBOX Live: The Gh0sts | Steam: Th3_Gh0sts | PSN: TheGhosts (AU) - TheGh0sts_CA (CA) | Origin: Th3_Gh0sts - RSSC: Chillawhat | UPlay: spartan33 | Battle.Net: Th3Gh0sts#1131
Current PC: Metabox Prime-X P870DM-G with a GTX 1070 Notebook
My Web & Graphic Design Portfolio | My EBay Listings | Overwatch Vids
ni9ht_5ta1k3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2016, 12:34 PM   #7509
Herbo
Member
 
Herbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ni9ht_5ta1k3r View Post
just the GPU? i hope you can stomach the price!

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NVIDIA-GT...4AAOSwZJBX9-qh
I meant a whole laptop with a 1070, though it's only really for work so a 1060 might do
Herbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2016, 12:35 PM   #7510
ni9ht_5ta1k3r
Member
 
ni9ht_5ta1k3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney: it sucks!
Posts: 29,682
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Herbo View Post
I meant a whole laptop with a 1070, though it's only really for work so a 1060 might do
ah, the 1060 is pretty much the GTX 980.

EDIT: The GTX 1070 notebook is not the same as the GTX 1070 desktop. the only differences is the core count and the clock speeds. the 1070 notebook has one extra SMU cluster (128 cores) for a total of 2048 cores compared to the desktop's 1920 cores. the 1070 notebook will have a slightly lower clock to the desktop variant but i think that can be achieved through some overclocking. the differences between the boost clocks is about 38MHz while the base clock is about 63MHz. the range between the clocks on the notebook is much wider than on desktop and even a minor OC could help it match speeds of the desktop version.
__________________
XBOX Live: The Gh0sts | Steam: Th3_Gh0sts | PSN: TheGhosts (AU) - TheGh0sts_CA (CA) | Origin: Th3_Gh0sts - RSSC: Chillawhat | UPlay: spartan33 | Battle.Net: Th3Gh0sts#1131
Current PC: Metabox Prime-X P870DM-G with a GTX 1070 Notebook
My Web & Graphic Design Portfolio | My EBay Listings | Overwatch Vids

Last edited by ni9ht_5ta1k3r; 26th November 2016 at 4:03 PM.
ni9ht_5ta1k3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2016, 7:55 PM   #7511
walker_2003
Member
 
walker_2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 7,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ni9ht_5ta1k3r View Post
ah, the 1060 is pretty much the GTX 980.

EDIT: The GTX 1070 notebook is not the same as the GTX 1070 desktop. the only differences is the core count and the clock speeds. the 1070 notebook has one extra SMU cluster (128 cores) for a total of 2048 cores compared to the desktop's 1920 cores. the 1070 notebook will have a slightly lower clock to the desktop variant but i think that can be achieved through some overclocking. the differences between the boost clocks is about 38MHz while the base clock is about 63MHz. the range between the clocks on the notebook is much wider than on desktop and even a minor OC could help it match speeds of the desktop version.
thats still pretty impressive.. Do you need such mobility? why not desktop? thats high end 1080 money!
__________________
WTB/WTT: BenQ XL2420G |Steam | Battlelog | I <3 G-Sync
My Rig:i7-3960X@4.5 GHZ | ASUS ROG RIVF | 16 GIG 1866MHZ | EVGA GTX 1070 Gigabyte GTX 670 | 120 GIG INTEL 520 | WIN 10 PRO | D5 & XSPC W/C | 800D | PG279Q ROG Swift
walker_2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2016, 7:58 PM   #7512
ni9ht_5ta1k3r
Member
 
ni9ht_5ta1k3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney: it sucks!
Posts: 29,682
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by walker_2003 View Post
thats still pretty impressive.. Do you need such mobility? why not desktop? thats high end 1080 money!
i don't have a desktop, i have Metabox P870DM-G with a GTX 980 Desktop. It's theoretically possible for my system to do 2 1070s in SLI since it has two slots and the cards are known to fit, it's just a matter of doing some structural changes to make them fit nicely.
__________________
XBOX Live: The Gh0sts | Steam: Th3_Gh0sts | PSN: TheGhosts (AU) - TheGh0sts_CA (CA) | Origin: Th3_Gh0sts - RSSC: Chillawhat | UPlay: spartan33 | Battle.Net: Th3Gh0sts#1131
Current PC: Metabox Prime-X P870DM-G with a GTX 1070 Notebook
My Web & Graphic Design Portfolio | My EBay Listings | Overwatch Vids
ni9ht_5ta1k3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2016, 8:29 PM   #7513
Sledge
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 5,930
Default

Someone has too much money!!

I'm still waiting to get a new card for my desktop...
wanna send me something?
Sledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2016, 9:06 PM   #7514
walker_2003
Member
 
walker_2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 7,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ni9ht_5ta1k3r View Post
i don't have a desktop, i have Metabox P870DM-G with a GTX 980 Desktop. It's theoretically possible for my system to do 2 1070s in SLI since it has two slots and the cards are known to fit, it's just a matter of doing some structural changes to make them fit nicely.
yeah I meant why dont you have a desktop, its much cheaper lol
__________________
WTB/WTT: BenQ XL2420G |Steam | Battlelog | I <3 G-Sync
My Rig:i7-3960X@4.5 GHZ | ASUS ROG RIVF | 16 GIG 1866MHZ | EVGA GTX 1070 Gigabyte GTX 670 | 120 GIG INTEL 520 | WIN 10 PRO | D5 & XSPC W/C | 800D | PG279Q ROG Swift
walker_2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2016, 9:13 PM   #7515
ni9ht_5ta1k3r
Member
 
ni9ht_5ta1k3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney: it sucks!
Posts: 29,682
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by walker_2003 View Post
yeah I meant why dont you have a desktop, its much cheaper lol
I have zero floor room to put a desktop anywhere and if I move it's easy to pack.
__________________
XBOX Live: The Gh0sts | Steam: Th3_Gh0sts | PSN: TheGhosts (AU) - TheGh0sts_CA (CA) | Origin: Th3_Gh0sts - RSSC: Chillawhat | UPlay: spartan33 | Battle.Net: Th3Gh0sts#1131
Current PC: Metabox Prime-X P870DM-G with a GTX 1070 Notebook
My Web & Graphic Design Portfolio | My EBay Listings | Overwatch Vids
ni9ht_5ta1k3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
1070, 1080, geforce, gtx, nvidia, pascal, titanx

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 8:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!