Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th August 2016, 1:05 PM   #1
Nian Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 732
Default DirectX 12 and Bulldozer+ FX CPU's.

So. We all remember the whole reason for Mantle, right? True multi-core / thread support in the graphics API. Mostly to assist with AMD's FX processors. Also, to add support for AMD's GCN GPU's. This was passed on to DirectX 12 and Vulkan.

Ok

Here's the thing. I can't find a single review or article, thats written or video, that shows the performance gains and improvements for the FX series CPU's when using these two new API's.

Nothing, nudda, zip.

Now we all know that with DirectX 11, the FX CPU's bottleneck good new GPU's and the framerate is almost always lower than an Intel CPU. But what about with DirectX 12? Does an FX-8350 still loose to a Intel quad?


Any solid info would be great.
__________________
Asrock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer, AMD FX-8370 BE @ 4.5Ghz, G.Skill TridentX DDR3 @ 2133 Mhz 10-12-12-31 4x8Gb , 2x Gigabyte Windforce 3 R9 290X OC 4Gb GV-R929XOC-4GD, Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, Cooler Master V8

Old System: Gigabyte GA-965p-DS4 Rev. 1.0, Q9300ES @ 2.8Ghz, Team Xtreem Dark DDR2 740Mhz 4-4-4-12 4x2Gb, AFox HD7850 2Gb, Asus Xonar D2X, CoolerMaster CM690. Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Nian is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 17th August 2016, 1:45 PM   #2
DiGiTaL MoNkEY
Inverted Monkey
 
DiGiTaL MoNkEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 26,862
Default

Mantle is pretty much dead. The changes in DX12 from what AMD was pushing with Mantle happened (from what I've read) and on the open source side, a lot of the focus has gone to the Vulcan API as it's derived from Mantle http://www.pcworld.com/article/28940...successor.html

Last edited by DiGiTaL MoNkEY; 17th August 2016 at 1:48 PM.
DiGiTaL MoNkEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2016, 1:57 PM   #3
Sipheren
Member
 
Sipheren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 3,174
Default

Mantle is now Vulkan, DX12 is also similar but not the same.

Anyway, for me Vulkan is awesome on my system, huge difference, but most of it is from the removal of the CPU overhead and full utilisation of the GCN cores.

Here is a video with some info for you: https://youtu.be/erAh6EAEu08?t=4m48s
__________________
Win 10 - AMD R7 1700 @ 3.7GHz - Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero - 32GB DDR4 - nVidia GTX TITAN XP - Phanteks Enthoo Pro M | HTPC - Gigabyte BRIX i3 4010 | NAS - unRAID (12TB)
HTC Vive VR Headset
CAR - 03 BA Ford Fairmont Ghia 5.4L | Sipheren Racing Videos
Sipheren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2016, 1:59 PM   #4
DiGiTaL MoNkEY
Inverted Monkey
 
DiGiTaL MoNkEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 26,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sipheren View Post
Mantle is now Vulkan, DX12 is also similar but not the same.

Anyway, for me Vulkan is awesome on my system, huge difference, but most of it is from the removal of the CPU overhead and full utilisation of the GCN cores.

Here is a video with some info for you: https://youtu.be/erAh6EAEu08?t=4m48s
Some nice performance boosts for the new version of Doom. Hopefully more games take it on board.
DiGiTaL MoNkEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2016, 3:44 PM   #5
Nian Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 732
Default

So no-one actually read what I asked then.

My question again. Simplified.


Does an AMD FX CPU work better now and is it on par with an equally priced Intel CPU, when it is using DirectX 12 or Vulkan and a GCN GPU?
Are there any reviews or articles available?
__________________
Asrock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer, AMD FX-8370 BE @ 4.5Ghz, G.Skill TridentX DDR3 @ 2133 Mhz 10-12-12-31 4x8Gb , 2x Gigabyte Windforce 3 R9 290X OC 4Gb GV-R929XOC-4GD, Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, Cooler Master V8

Old System: Gigabyte GA-965p-DS4 Rev. 1.0, Q9300ES @ 2.8Ghz, Team Xtreem Dark DDR2 740Mhz 4-4-4-12 4x2Gb, AFox HD7850 2Gb, Asus Xonar D2X, CoolerMaster CM690. Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Nian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2016, 3:58 PM   #6
Sipheren
Member
 
Sipheren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 3,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nian View Post
So no-one actually read what I asked then.

My question again. Simplified.


Does an AMD FX CPU work better now and is it on par with an equally priced Intel CPU, when it is using DirectX 12 or Vulkan and a GCN GPU?
Are there any reviews or articles available?
Sorry, I thought I answered well enough. The CPU will never be on par with an Intel chip on IPC, but when talking about something of the same price, I guess you would compare an 8350 with the 4770 or 3770, in most games, even with Vulkan or DX12, the Intel chips will still be better, but you are talking about only a few frames difference.

In multi-threaded stuff you may get a closer to the Intel chips, but the FX chips will pretty well never beat the Core chips.

Just for a side note, I went from a 4770K to a 2670 Xeon and now the FX 8320 all on the same GPU. The current setup is slower than the Xeon in everything, but not by a huge amount.
__________________
Win 10 - AMD R7 1700 @ 3.7GHz - Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero - 32GB DDR4 - nVidia GTX TITAN XP - Phanteks Enthoo Pro M | HTPC - Gigabyte BRIX i3 4010 | NAS - unRAID (12TB)
HTC Vive VR Headset
CAR - 03 BA Ford Fairmont Ghia 5.4L | Sipheren Racing Videos
Sipheren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2016, 4:09 PM   #7
AMD-G
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 164
Default

This may help, FX scales well with DX12.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_InaE6v_N_k (you can see the graph at 5.22)

https://www.computerbase.de/2016-02/...-amd-nvidia/5/

I know it is only on AotS buthopefully it helps.
AMD-G is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2016, 4:11 PM   #8
DiGiTaL MoNkEY
Inverted Monkey
 
DiGiTaL MoNkEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 26,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nian View Post
So no-one actually read what I asked then.

My question again. Simplified.


Does an AMD FX CPU work better now and is it on par with an equally priced Intel CPU, when it is using DirectX 12 or Vulkan and a GCN GPU?
Are there any reviews or articles available?
Ah sorry man. Haven't seen any reviews recently.

Something like this, but with AMD CPU's as well: http://www.pcworld.com/article/29008...is-insane.html
DiGiTaL MoNkEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2016, 6:31 PM   #9
Nian Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 732
Default

The thing is, does IPC matter as much with DirectX 12 and Vulkan?
__________________
Asrock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer, AMD FX-8370 BE @ 4.5Ghz, G.Skill TridentX DDR3 @ 2133 Mhz 10-12-12-31 4x8Gb , 2x Gigabyte Windforce 3 R9 290X OC 4Gb GV-R929XOC-4GD, Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, Cooler Master V8

Old System: Gigabyte GA-965p-DS4 Rev. 1.0, Q9300ES @ 2.8Ghz, Team Xtreem Dark DDR2 740Mhz 4-4-4-12 4x2Gb, AFox HD7850 2Gb, Asus Xonar D2X, CoolerMaster CM690. Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Nian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2016, 6:42 PM   #10
Sipheren
Member
 
Sipheren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 3,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nian View Post
The thing is, does IPC matter as much with DirectX 12 and Vulkan?
Yeah, better IPC is always better, the Intel chips with Hyper Threading are much the same as the FX chips with their cores with shared cache, so we are talking about a similar number of threads.

The FX chips will only compete with i3's and i5's from what I can see, that's even with the new API's.

Just wait for the new Zen FX chips to come out next year, they will be better
__________________
Win 10 - AMD R7 1700 @ 3.7GHz - Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero - 32GB DDR4 - nVidia GTX TITAN XP - Phanteks Enthoo Pro M | HTPC - Gigabyte BRIX i3 4010 | NAS - unRAID (12TB)
HTC Vive VR Headset
CAR - 03 BA Ford Fairmont Ghia 5.4L | Sipheren Racing Videos
Sipheren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2016, 12:22 AM   #11
Toliandar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 207
Default

I think you will also find that not all Vulkan/DX12 games will be made equally and the amount of multi-threaded CPU performance will depend on how well the game developer designed it. I suspect that Doom yielded some pretty big gains particularly for AMD gpus because Id tend to make highly optimised engines; it wouldn't surprise me if id tech 6 running on Vulkan has a better CPU load balancer then say DX12 AotS
Toliandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2016, 8:55 AM   #12
Euphoreia
Member
 
Euphoreia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,326
Default

Even Skylake i3 (2 Core, 4 Thread) is frequently smacking down the FX8350's in game/overall performance in anything but rendering. It's a 4 year old chip that was never that good to begin with, and is now currently in a very sad state of affairs. Mind you, the i3 is $100 cheaper, less than half the power consumption, less PSU requirements, better boards are cheaper and less HS/F noise...
Euphoreia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2016, 9:01 AM   #13
Sipheren
Member
 
Sipheren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 3,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Euphoreia View Post
Even Skylake i3 (2 Core, 4 Thread) is frequently smacking down the FX8350's in game/overall performance in anything but rendering. It's a 4 year old chip that was never that good to begin with, and is now currently in a very sad state of affairs. Mind you, the i3 is $100 cheaper, less than half the power consumption, less PSU requirements, better boards are cheaper and less HS/F noise...
Exactly, I bought my FX for shits and giggles, I just wanted to see how much I could OC it, I defiantly knew it would be shit and slow lol.
__________________
Win 10 - AMD R7 1700 @ 3.7GHz - Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero - 32GB DDR4 - nVidia GTX TITAN XP - Phanteks Enthoo Pro M | HTPC - Gigabyte BRIX i3 4010 | NAS - unRAID (12TB)
HTC Vive VR Headset
CAR - 03 BA Ford Fairmont Ghia 5.4L | Sipheren Racing Videos
Sipheren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2016, 9:43 AM   #14
Nian Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 732
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Euphoreia View Post
Even Skylake i3 (2 Core, 4 Thread) is frequently smacking down the FX8350's in game/overall performance in anything but rendering. It's a 4 year old chip that was never that good to begin with, and is now currently in a very sad state of affairs. Mind you, the i3 is $100 cheaper, less than half the power consumption, less PSU requirements, better boards are cheaper and less HS/F noise...
That was in the DirectX11 and older days. The question is, With DirectX 12 and Vulkan, do more cores make a big difference from here on?
__________________
Asrock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer, AMD FX-8370 BE @ 4.5Ghz, G.Skill TridentX DDR3 @ 2133 Mhz 10-12-12-31 4x8Gb , 2x Gigabyte Windforce 3 R9 290X OC 4Gb GV-R929XOC-4GD, Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, Cooler Master V8

Old System: Gigabyte GA-965p-DS4 Rev. 1.0, Q9300ES @ 2.8Ghz, Team Xtreem Dark DDR2 740Mhz 4-4-4-12 4x2Gb, AFox HD7850 2Gb, Asus Xonar D2X, CoolerMaster CM690. Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Nian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2016, 12:24 PM   #15
Euphoreia
Member
 
Euphoreia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nian View Post
That was in the DirectX11 and older days. The question is, With DirectX 12 and Vulkan, do more cores make a big difference from here on?
Not really, no, because it also takes better advantage of Intel's Hyperthreading.
Euphoreia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!