Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th September 2016, 8:41 AM   #1
mAJORD Thread Starter
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,723
Default AM4, 9xxx APU, and Ryzen Information Thread (Updated)

AMD Ryzen, Bristol Ridge and AM4 Platform Information



REVIEWS

Ryzen 7 Reviews:



Chiphell (R7 1800X)
https://www.chiphell.com/article-17555-1.html
Overclockers Club (R7 1700/1700X/1800X) http://www.overclockersclub.com/revi...0x_1700x_1700/
Guru 3D (R7 1700/1700X/1800X) https://www.guru3d.com/articles-page...-review,1.html

Computer Base https://www.computerbase.de/2017-03/...00x-1700-test/
Gamers Nexus http://www.gamersnexus.net/hwreviews...fps-benchmarks
Anandtech http://www.anandtech.com/show/11170/...1700x-and-1700
HEXUS http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/cpu/10...800x-14nm-zen/
Legit Reviews http://www.legitreviews.com/amd-ryze...-review_191753
Toms Hardware http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...-cpu,4951.html
Hardware Canucks http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ce-review.html
Hot Hardware http://hothardware.com/reviews/amd-r...rks-and-review



Ryzen 5 Reviews:



http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...view,5014.html

http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/cpu/10...600x-14nm-zen/

https://www.computerbase.de/2017-04/amd-ryzen-5-test/

http://www.techspot.com/review/1379-...5-1600x-1500x/

http://www.anandtech.com/show/11244/...hreads-vs-four

http://techreport.com/review/31724/a...iewed-part-one

______________________________
General Information:


AMd Ryzen 7 Official Web page: https://www.amd.com/en/ryzen-7

AMD Ryzen 5 Official Web page: https://www.amd.com/en/ryzen-5



* Zen Architecture Details:

* Hot Chips 2016 Presentation
http://www.slideshare.net/AMD/amd-an...t-hot-chips-28

*ISSC 2017 Prenstation (core complex, and Power management):

http://pc.watch.impress.co.jp/docs/c...i/1043349.html



SKU List:

*ZOOM BROWSER TO ENLARGE*




AM4 Motherboards:


* Motherboard List with Pictures (Courtesy of Sgt Bilko)

* Motherboard latest BIOS List (Guru3d Forums)
* Live Spec Spreadsheet List (Thanks MUTMAN, sgyt Bilko + contributors



* Snapshot of above (Updated 22/02/2017)

*ZOOM BROWSER TO ENLARGE*

Pre-release Benchmarks (Leaks)[/U]

** Disclaimer: The following Leaks are mostly unverified, uncontrolled, and potentially not running at indicated frequencies, and should be taken with a grain of salt. Comparison graphs (except Canard's) are a guide only, fabricated from other websites test results, and thus not run under the same conditions **


"Official" (leaked) Marketing performance slides



Platform Information:

* AM4 Platform Preview + A12 9800 preview





Chipset models:




These Chipsets complement the onboard SB functionality included in the APU / CPUs, Which will are also available without Chipset's, under a 'SFF (Small Formfactor) models.

So

+



= Total Platform.

Detailed Platform Features, and I/O Lanes:




Last edited by mAJORD; 14th April 2017 at 2:02 PM.
mAJORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2016, 3:55 PM   #2
Agg
Lord of the Pings
 
Agg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: A Reported Post near you
Posts: 29,164
Default

Coverage on Guru3D, Lowyat, VentureBeat, TechARP (and here) and GamersNexus.
__________________
www.overclockers.com.au - also now on twitter and facebook.
Agg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2016, 8:46 AM   #3
PsychoticOrc
Member
 
PsychoticOrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sunbury
Posts: 142
Default

The question I'd like answered is, when can I buy this? I may have to check Ebay and see if anyone manages to snag one through OEM channels.

I'm tempted to upgrade my server (2500k, 16gb ddr3 etc etc) and consolidate and turn it into an all in one replacing both the server and my Nvidia shield.

Last edited by PsychoticOrc; 7th September 2016 at 8:53 AM.
PsychoticOrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2016, 8:59 PM   #4
mAJORD Thread Starter
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,723
Default

More details and early Benchmarks of Bristol ridge:



65w BR > 95w Gaodvari predecessor, which isn't too shabby. No IGP results though.

http://www.bodnara.co.kr/bbs/article...um=134612&mn=4

PCmark




IGP Gaming?




Platform Power consumption




and a Glimpse of what appears be a gigabyte Entry level AM4 board




FM2 vs AM4 package

mAJORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2016, 6:39 AM   #5
gregpolk
Member
 
gregpolk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 7,391
Default

With the IPC improvements in Bristol, I wonder if most games will perform better than my fx8350, even with only 4 cores.
gregpolk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2016, 8:56 AM   #6
AgenaFX
Member
 
AgenaFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 344
Default

Would be super keen to get my hands on an A12-9800E for a nice PicoPSU PC that the father can use...
__________________
AU: Corsair 500R | 2600K@4 GHz + Noctua NH-D15S | G.Skill Ripjaws 16GB | P8Z68-V Pro | MSI GeForce 980 Ti Gaming | PG278Q
NZ: DAN A4-SFX | 6700T + Noctua NH-L9i | Crucial 16GB | H170N-WiFi | EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE | Dell S2417DG
member trading: 20 successful trades
AgenaFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2016, 11:51 AM   #7
Mensuri
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 740
Default

hmmm, an Athlon 950 now and upgrade to Zen next year.

Might be a decent option for some if the X4 950 is cheap enough.
__________________
GAMING MONSTER : A64 3200 @ 2.4, X800GTO at 400/760 and 1.5G ddr 400

Labrador Rescue
Mensuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2016, 11:23 AM   #8
mAJORD Thread Starter
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,723
Default

http://wccftech.com/amd-x370-chipset...ge-processors/


X370 chipset detailed

Also, Oc available only on B150 chipset and above,
mAJORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2016, 9:44 PM   #9
mAJORD Thread Starter
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,723
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregpolk View Post
With the IPC improvements in Bristol, I wonder if most games will perform better than my fx8350, even with only 4 cores.
wouldn't count on it, as BR has only 2x1MB L2, which hurts it in games (with a dGPU that is) even versus Kaveri.

On top of that it's only 2 Module, 4 thread. Many games will tax 4 threads, and a 4 Module CPU like the FX will have a one-
up.
mAJORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2016, 11:15 AM   #10
mAJORD Thread Starter
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,723
Default

Another budget Board, named this time:

Gigabyte GA-B350M-D2



- 4+3phase VRM
- 1x PCIe 3.0 16x (@8x with Bristrol ridge APU)
- 2x pcie 2.0 1x
- 2x DDR4-2400


http://wccftech.com/amd-am4-motherboard-pictured/


hate the way these bottom tier boards ommit HDMI ports - this trend looks to continue

Last edited by mAJORD; 30th September 2016 at 11:17 AM.
mAJORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2016, 12:05 PM   #11
datfreak
Member
 
datfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 713
Default

Will the ones that do have hdmi be hdmi 2?
Would be nice to have a HTPC with a 4k display that doesn't need a extra vid card.

edit: Maybe it will
The upcoming desktop
'APU from AMD will support HDMI 2.0 output, which means it will be able to display 3840*2160 video with 120Hz refresh rate, stereo-3D UHD video and so on. The APU will support up to three displays.'
__________________
.

Last edited by datfreak; 30th September 2016 at 12:58 PM.
datfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2016, 11:48 AM   #12
philscomputerlab
Member
 
philscomputerlab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mAJORD View Post
Another budget Board, named this time:

Gigabyte GA-B350M-D2

- 4+3phase VRM
- 1x PCIe 3.0 16x (@8x with Bristrol ridge APU)
- 2x pcie 2.0 1x
- 2x DDR4-2400

hate the way these bottom tier boards ommit HDMI ports - this trend looks to continue
Looking good

Great to see PCI gone. At the cheaper end that always restricted my options.

I might have to start stocking up on AM3+ boards. They are perfect for Windows XP Retro Gaming. Even support SLI on the top chipsets.

Last edited by philscomputerlab; 1st October 2016 at 11:51 AM.
philscomputerlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2016, 11:46 PM   #13
mAJORD Thread Starter
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,723
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by datfreak View Post
Will the ones that do have hdmi be hdmi 2?
Would be nice to have a HTPC with a 4k display that doesn't need a extra vid card.

edit: Maybe it will
The upcoming desktop
'APU from AMD will support HDMI 2.0 output, which means it will be able to display 3840*2160 video with 120Hz refresh rate, stereo-3D UHD video and so on. The APU will support up to three displays.'
There's another Gigabyte board floating about, but so far no official specs, but yes, Bristol ridge supports HDMI 2.0.. Those that fit HDMI ports, particarly ITX will be potentially great little HTPC/loungeroom casual game boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by philscomputerlab View Post
Looking good

Great to see PCI gone. At the cheaper end that always restricted my options.

I might have to start stocking up on AM3+ boards. They are perfect for Windows XP Retro Gaming. Even support SLI on the top chipsets.
Yes, I think AM3 will be phased out pretty swiftly!

Last edited by mAJORD; 1st October 2016 at 11:49 PM.
mAJORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2016, 8:13 AM   #14
2_stroke
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: cranbourne 3977
Posts: 1,155
Default

Can only hope zen gets intel moving, great to see and getting back on the horse its being to stale for to long. I've always though about what would of happened if intel stuck on the net burst path lol
__________________
http://bfbc2.elxx.net/sig/clean1/pc/2stroke.png
Successful trades
Sold to: chopstick9558, jackdaw, davomaster, haksam, jomo, kingpeck
Bought from: h$v, epo299, tangcla, Gillyske, winterstide, jboles, nooobs,Sainter4Life, auron1
stop listing years ago just way to many trades lol
2_stroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2016, 1:34 AM   #15
mAJORD Thread Starter
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,723
Default

Probably a similar thing to if AMD stuck on the Dozer path
mAJORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!