Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th August 2002, 8:58 PM   #1
Bravo Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 10,005
Default AMD Forum FAQ/Posting Guidlines/Articles/Unlocking/Tips/Overclocking

AMD Forum Guidelines
The moderators of this forum tend to be very flexible with regards to AMD material posted. If we, or you (the public) deem threads unsuitable to the AMD forum, we will move it to the most appropriate forum based on OCAU. If the material posted is unacceptable to the overall forum guidelines (Here and here), we will remove it from the AMD forum.

Generally, try to have fun. Promote Active discussions, not arguments, and providing information to support your thread/posts would not go astray.

If you require help in the form of information, or assistance (a link worthy thread, or off topic post), feel free to use the "Report this post to an Administrator" function with the appropriate suggestion.

Enjoy.
- Lombers/Mal/Bravo


AthlonXP Guides/Articles
Athlon64/FX Guides/Articles
Motherboard Specific Guides/Articles
  • Epox 8RDA BIOS Summary (Tips/Feedback) - Bravo - A guide to the various bios settings on the Epox 8RDA Series Motherboard which yield the best in performance and stability.
  • ECS K7S5A FAQ - Influx - A FAQ on the immensely popular ECS K7S5A Motherboard. Contains information on performance settings, issues, and links to modified overclocking bioses for those wanting to get the most our of their board.

Miscellaneous Guides/Articles
Interesting Reads

Last edited by Ma Baker; 11th April 2014 at 8:00 AM.
Bravo is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 2nd January 2003, 1:55 AM   #2
Doso
Member
 
Doso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: [Vic]Melbourne
Posts: 5,702
Default

why dont u add something about AMD mobo's could really help some people out
Doso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2003, 5:24 PM   #3
Blinky
Member
 
Blinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: South TAS.
Posts: 2,530
Default Easy CPU pickings...

I think this: http://mp3.zonebg.com/cpu/cpu.php should be added.

The last results box is really good, it tells you what the chip has been downgraded from i.e. an XP2600+ locked by AMD at XP1800+

It should give you an early idea of what to expect from your chip

Last edited by Blinky; 1st April 2003 at 5:24 PM.
Blinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2003, 3:02 PM   #4
aresaid
Member
 
aresaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Adelaide - Unley
Posts: 1,245
Default

How about a link to the Overclockers.com CPU Database too?
__________________
DFI SLI-DR | 3000+ Venice @ 2.7GHz | 2x1GB Ballistix Z503 | Gigabyte 6800GT @ 410/550 | Sony G420 | 3x80GB, 1x200GB HDD | Audigy2 ZS & HD270's
aresaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2003, 7:23 PM   #5
Orgazmo
Member
 
Orgazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4,174
Default

maybe a list of the top gear to go with your AMD cpu also?
Orgazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2003, 4:29 AM   #6
Shinshoku
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 30
Default

i wonder if unlocking barton would be simply as unlocking t-bred?
*considering tommorow get 2500+*

is it the same or what?
__________________
E8600 C2D Stock 3.3 :: X48-DQ6 :: 8GB DDR2 :: 2GB GTX 460 :: Win7 64bit
X-FI XtremeMusic :: OMZ DAC :: LISA III Amp :: Denon D2000 :: AKG K701 :: Klipsch Promedia 2.1
Shinshoku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2003, 1:58 AM   #7
lesovers
Member
 
lesovers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 120
Default

No luck at all with conductive paint?

I have found the best way to short the links on my Athlon XP Palomino is to solder them. I use a Metcal surface mount soldering iron, flux and single strands of wire from a ribbon cable. Takes about 1/2 hour and it lasts forever.
__________________
"My first computer was a soldered together MicroBee kit in 1982, how things have changed"

Last edited by lesovers; 2nd July 2003 at 2:00 AM.
lesovers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2003, 7:43 PM   #8
odum_
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 28
Default

I have seen t-bred unlocking guides ( soldering/cutting bridges) but i dont understand why. I know with my 2000xp on a soltek motherboard i can change the multiplyers to whatever i like. If this is a dumb question forgive my ignorance.
odum_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2003, 12:29 AM   #9
meeksta
Member
 
meeksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Albion Park
Posts: 25
Default

im not sure exactly.. so ill prob get shot down.. but i think if its an nForce board (like mine), the nForce unlocks the chip for you.
How very nice of them.
__________________
2500+
SLFRN2-L
512 DDR400
128mb 5200fx
120GB Seagate
meeksta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2004, 1:29 PM   #10
the_chad
Member
 
the_chad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Central Coast, NSW
Posts: 472
Default

just posting this for anyone interested in unlocking their athlon (barton, throughbred or palamino) without using conductive ink, solder blah blah blah


http://www.themodfathers.com/modfath...wireunlock.php



should be useful to some of you
__________________
When I die, I want to go peacefully like my Grandfather did, in his sleep -- not screaming, like the passengers in his car.
the_chad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2004, 2:02 PM   #11
Bravo Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 10,005
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by the_chad
just posting this for anyone interested in unlocking their athlon (barton, throughbred or palamino) without using conductive ink, solder blah blah blah
http://www.themodfathers.com/modfath...wireunlock.php
should be useful to some of you
ocinside.de has a better guide:

http://www.ocinside.de/html/workshop...md_pinmod.html

Conductive ink costs bugger all (6 bucks) and is more easily applied, and removed in my experience.

Last edited by Bravo; 10th January 2004 at 2:05 PM.
Bravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2004, 5:14 PM   #12
the_chad
Member
 
the_chad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Central Coast, NSW
Posts: 472
Default

nice one bravo.

yeah conductive ink is better, but i was just posting it for the people who dont feel confident about appling and removing conductive ink, also just a s a matter of interest, where do you get yours for $6 ?
__________________
When I die, I want to go peacefully like my Grandfather did, in his sleep -- not screaming, like the passengers in his car.
the_chad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2004, 6:55 AM   #13
artofkicking
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 467
Default

Seems like the "wire jumper" method would be easier to do. I'll have to try that with barton "superlocked" 2800. Will post results in AMD Forum .

I could not get the "wire jumper" on the cpu socket to work.

Last edited by artofkicking; 8th March 2004 at 3:36 AM.
artofkicking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2004, 5:10 PM   #14
ShaneHm2
Member
 
ShaneHm2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,541
Default Re: AMD Forum FAQ/Posting Guidlines/Articles/Unlocking/Tips/Overclocking

[*]ATTN: Look here if you're having problems with LDT/mem OC on A64 - Greenberet - Basically a memory compatibility guide for Athlon64. Contains information on various RAM brands and timings, and issues with specific motherboards. [/list]
that leads link leads u to the amd section of these forums

this url is the link to that thread http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh...hreadid=256287
__________________
[Logitech 'G' Owners Club Member #120]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merudo View Post
my retard ex girlfriend fell for this, because they gave her a six month subscription to marie claire.

What a fucking idiot.
ShaneHm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2004, 7:46 PM   #15
magicsun
Member
 
magicsun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 657
Default

http://www.cluboverclocker.com/guide...lock/page3.htm

add that to the unlocking
__________________
DK
magicsun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!