Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Overclocking & Hardware

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 31st August 2014, 2:08 PM   #8101
JunkDogg
Member
 
JunkDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Perth 6169
Posts: 1,569
Default

Well now I'm confused.

It's the climate that stuffs me. Today it's over 30 and it's still August.
JunkDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 2:10 PM   #8102
gazza30 Thread Starter
Member
 
gazza30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: FNQ
Posts: 1,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JunkDogg View Post
Well now I'm confused.

It's the climate that stuffs me. Today it's over 30 and it's still August.
Hahaha you and me both pretty toasty up here in the FNQ today.
gazza30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 2:24 PM   #8103
newlife
Member
 
newlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 2,116
Default

For the rookie rumble it would be best not to but I think your fine to use a ice slush as I'm pretty sure one of the other winners did
newlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 2:27 PM   #8104
JunkDogg
Member
 
JunkDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Perth 6169
Posts: 1,569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newlife View Post
For the rookie rumble it would be best not to but I think your fine to use a ice slush as I'm pretty sure one of the other winners did
The 2 guys I beat in the last AMD were using slush and the nvidia guy was quite open about using ice slush as well.

Currently trying to replicate some decent scores in HWBOT prime. managed to get a 4443 run oiut of the g3258. Can't seem to get up to where acid was in the comp though. Back to the drawing board.
JunkDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 3:53 PM   #8105
headin2001
Member
 
headin2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 2,977
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JunkDogg View Post
The 2 guys I beat in the last AMD were using slush and the nvidia guy was quite open about using ice slush as well.

Currently trying to replicate some decent scores in HWBOT prime. managed to get a 4443 run oiut of the g3258. Can't seem to get up to where acid was in the comp though. Back to the drawing board.
He wasn't open about it in the intel rumble. Water is water, no matter the cooling, so a chiller would be acceptable. You can always check with Massman.

Use Java 8 64bit in 64bit W7 Pro. I used version 5, others used the latest. The one that comes with Prime I found way behind this. Which chip are you using? the 5+ one?
headin2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 3:59 PM   #8106
JunkDogg
Member
 
JunkDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Perth 6169
Posts: 1,569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headin2001 View Post
He wasn't open about it in the intel rumble. Water is water, no matter the cooling, so a chiller would be acceptable. You can always check with Massman.

Use Java 8 64bit in 64bit W7 Pro. I used version 5, others used the latest. The one that comes with Prime I found way behind this. Which chip are you using? the 5+ one?
Yeah mate that one. Ended up with a 4493 run. Just can't break the 4500's though.

Just popped the cherry on my 4770k. So here's hoping it's a good one. Could someone give me a baseline for a decent overclock on these chips? So much info online and all of it conflicts. hahaha.

Last edited by JunkDogg; 31st August 2014 at 4:11 PM.
JunkDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 4:27 PM   #8107
sskmercer
Member
 
sskmercer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Brisbane, Sth Side
Posts: 3,091
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JunkDogg View Post
Just popped the cherry on my 4770k. So here's hoping it's a good one. Could someone give me a baseline for a decent overclock on these chips? So much info online and all of it conflicts. hahaha.
Good ones will do 50x @1.35+/-n air/water. The real nice ones will do 50x 1.28v. Although if you can get 50x @1.4v you probably should be very happy as some couldn't even get past 48x.
sskmercer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 6:07 PM   #8108
JunkDogg
Member
 
JunkDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Perth 6169
Posts: 1,569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sskmercer View Post
Good ones will do 50x @1.35+/-n air/water. The real nice ones will do 50x 1.28v. Although if you can get 50x @1.4v you probably should be very happy as some couldn't even get past 48x.
Thanks mate. Appears this one is nothing to spectacular. X48 is the max she seems to go. I took the volts up to 1.5 and couldn't boot windows.

I can't get XTU to run though crashes everytime. Even at x45.

I'll figure it out eventually.
JunkDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2014, 11:49 AM   #8109
JunkDogg
Member
 
JunkDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Perth 6169
Posts: 1,569
Default

Can someone answer me a quick question?

When doing the Superfetch tweak for XTU. Do you set the values to 0,1,2 or 3.

It's the only bit I'm unclear of.

Thanks gents.
JunkDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2014, 11:53 AM   #8110
t8y
Member
 
t8y's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SA, 5011
Posts: 4,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JunkDogg View Post
Can someone answer me a quick question?

When doing the Superfetch tweak for XTU. Do you set the values to 0,1,2 or 3.

It's the only bit I'm unclear of.

Thanks gents.
1, going by this (personally i just have a reg file i run, it does it for me, so never even looked this up before)

http://allanjsmithie.wordpress.com/2...-7-superfetch/
you just want it caching applications only

on your CPU issue, what VCCIN(vring) voltage are you running? should be in ballpark of upto~1.9v when closing in on 5ghz, though some chips may benefit from more or less.. take this as an average
__________________
| hwbot | steam | battlefield |
t8y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2014, 12:45 PM   #8111
JunkDogg
Member
 
JunkDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Perth 6169
Posts: 1,569
Default

Will double check this afternoon after work. By memory 1.8 but I'll have to double check.
JunkDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2014, 1:02 PM   #8112
t8y
Member
 
t8y's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SA, 5011
Posts: 4,197
Default

np.
1.8v is stock/default.

just some background on VCCIN, its the input voltage for all the other ones. so the idea is, if you raise VCORE or the volts to the IMC, you should also raise the VCCIN to suit. but only a bit at a time, not at the same scale as vcore goes up by.
example as per last post, say you wanted 1.4vcore, youd probably only need 1.88v~1.9v vccin.

most CPUs wont scale with the VCCIN above 2.5v, but you'd only need to go that high on subzero anyway


OT slightly
i just did a beginners haswell (g3258) OC guide video, but its super basic and wont be posting it here
more aimed at "i want to do my first OC, how?" types. i think anyone reading here is already well beyond that point
__________________
| hwbot | steam | battlefield |
t8y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2014, 1:25 PM   #8113
JunkDogg
Member
 
JunkDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Perth 6169
Posts: 1,569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t8y View Post
np.
1.8v is stock/default.

just some background on VCCIN, its the input voltage for all the other ones. so the idea is, if you raise VCORE or the volts to the IMC, you should also raise the VCCIN to suit. but only a bit at a time, not at the same scale as vcore goes up by.
example as per last post, say you wanted 1.4vcore, youd probably only need 1.88v~1.9v vccin.

most CPUs wont scale with the VCCIN above 2.5v, but you'd only need to go that high on subzero anyway


OT slightly
i just did a beginners haswell (g3258) OC guide video, but its super basic and wont be posting it here
more aimed at "i want to do my first OC, how?" types. i think anyone reading here is already well beyond that point
Thanks for the info mate. That is really useful as I had no idea what it was for.

Also speak for yourself. If I watched your video it would most probably show me the way I meant to do it, not the random just try shit and hope it works way I go about doing things.
JunkDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2014, 4:52 PM   #8114
Jimba86
Member
 
Jimba86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane 4179
Posts: 1,817
Default

Hey guys,

So im having a bit of a play setting up the X58A-OC I got off here.

but im having a issue getting the 4G button to work. I press it and doesnt work. Do any of you guys who have the board know what to do to make it work? do I need to enable something in bios or install software?
__________________
WTB ASAP:GTX Titan X Maxwell 12GB
DESKTOP:980X|NHD14|UD7|24GB Gskill|3x1TB WD BK|500GB evo|GTX TITAN|Xonar DX|3xU2711|HAF X|RM850|Win7|G500|G510|HD 280
BENCH:4670K|TRUE|Z97 SOC force|36GB Raptor|HyperX 2K|580 SOC|Gigabench|AX1200
Guitars: LP '60 CS,Class5,DRW Dreambird CS
Jimba86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2014, 4:56 PM   #8115
sskmercer
Member
 
sskmercer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Brisbane, Sth Side
Posts: 3,091
Default

Have you installed the CD like Dino suggested yet?
sskmercer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
extreme, hwbot, subzero

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 3:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!