Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > PC Audio

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th March 2014, 5:40 PM   #31
^catalyst
Member
 
^catalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 11,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JugV2 View Post
I have Asrock 990FX Extreme3 board, using onboard sound and running Logitech G35 headphones, which are USB. Speakers are Z5500's.
I have a Creative card with digital out and I was wondering would the card be better than onboard?

It's three years old afaik, but sometimes my headphones struggle.
Digital signal, so no different in 'quality' maybe some additional options in the drivers on creative card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR CHILLED View Post
It should be better than your onboard. Sometimes hard to tell. Third party cards have always been better for me.
Unless of course you're sending a digital signal...
^catalyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2014, 6:47 PM   #32
phi
Member
 
phi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 130
Default

Try out these PAX Drivers for the Creative Blaster Z.
(apparently improves better clarity sound in both treble and bass)


PAX_SBZ_CD_L13_1_00_22_2013_V1.05 Official live: http://www.hardwareheaven.com/pax-dr...cial-live.html


Latest New Driver Set. Dated: Feb:02/13/14: http://www.hardwareheaven.com/pax-dr...4-v1-00-a.html
__________________
------------------------------------------------
Successful trades with 100's of OCAU members since 2001.
Overclocking since the Celeron 300A hey days.
phi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2014, 6:50 PM   #33
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 126,633
Default

I've always found PAX drivers to be excellent.
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2014, 9:02 AM   #34
toolsncorpses
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 3862 VIC
Posts: 1,138
Default

So nothing really happens to sound these days it's just output through DACs to speakers? What about positional audio? Is that calculated on the audio chip? In which case is Creative/ASUS cards better than onboard in that respect?
__________________
One more fool
Divide and rule
...A brainwashed populace...
toolsncorpses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2014, 9:21 AM   #35
JugV2
Member
 
JugV2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Perth
Posts: 6,031
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phi View Post
Try out these PAX Drivers for the Creative Blaster Z.
(apparently improves better clarity sound in both treble and bass)


PAX_SBZ_CD_L13_1_00_22_2013_V1.05 Official live: http://www.hardwareheaven.com/pax-dr...cial-live.html


Latest New Driver Set. Dated: Feb:02/13/14: http://www.hardwareheaven.com/pax-dr...4-v1-00-a.html
Cheers, I ended up impulse buying an Asus Xonar card. Just the basic one, the DGX I think?
__________________
OCAU Drummers Club #36
"I feel like I'm Han Solo, you're Chewie, she's Ben Kenobi and we're in that fucked up bar."
Your pet is only a part of your life, but you are all of his
JugV2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2014, 4:58 PM   #36
toolsncorpses
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 3862 VIC
Posts: 1,138
Default

Wow PAX > Creative drivers, fo sho.
__________________
One more fool
Divide and rule
...A brainwashed populace...
toolsncorpses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2015, 10:55 PM   #37
anthonyl
Member
 
anthonyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,878
Default

Sorry to revive this thread but I have just installed a Sound Blaster Zx card and I am finding the volume quite low even on 100%.

I have some AKG K612 Pro headphones plugged into the break out module and even on 100% volume the sound is quite low.

All other volume settings are on 100% ...

Any clues / tips please?
__________________
I5-4690K | EVGA 1080ti SC2 | Asus PG279Q Monitor | 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro | Asus Sabretooth Mk 2 Z97 | Corsair RM1000 PSU |Logitech G500..G15..Z5500 | X-Fi Titanium Fatality | Samsung 500Gb EVO SSD | | AKG -612 Pro Headphones
anthonyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2016, 4:39 PM   #38
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 126,633
Default

Just picked one of these up.....what's the go with the Bass control slider being greyed out?

I can adjust through Equaliser but still....
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2016, 7:18 PM   #39
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 126,633
Default

Ok, well in my investigations it looks like you can only change the bass through the EQ.

Bizarre.
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"

Last edited by MR CHILLED; 3rd September 2016 at 7:20 PM.
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2016, 11:00 AM   #40
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 126,633
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChinoPD View Post
I'm tempted to get one of these cards. Even I can tell the difference between onboard on my systems and old el cheapo sound blaster card. Got burnt with driver issues from the soundblaster cards though which is why I've never bothered since then.
Which card was that, and old Audigy by any chance?
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2016, 1:27 PM   #41
philscomputerlab
Member
 
philscomputerlab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,843
Default

I'm using a Z and a X-Fi Titanium HD under Windows 10 64 bit, no issues.
philscomputerlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2016, 4:39 PM   #42
ChinoPD
Member
 
ChinoPD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 10,432
Default

I'm tempted to get one of these cards. Even I can tell the difference between onboard on my systems and old el cheapo sound blaster card. Got burnt with driver issues from the soundblaster cards though which is why I've never bothered since then.
__________________
GamingPC:X99-AII|6850K|HyperX 4x8GB|TitanXP|2x950Pro512GB|SS1050W|Phantek Glass|CorsairGK95|DAChroma|XB1
HTPC1:Z97-C|4690K+|HyperX 2x8GB|G1 970|Intel 730 480GB|CS750W|Fractal R4Ti|CorsairVK70|Deathadder
HTPC2:H97M-E|4590S+|HyperX 2x8GB|EVGA750Ti|M500 240GB|S12II430W|BF Phenom|K830
UnRAID -22TB:C2SEA|E3300|2x2GB|4x5TB WD Red+3x2TB WD Green+1TB Green|Linux 4.1.18-unRAID
Successful Trades | Fitness Blog
ChinoPD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2016, 5:13 AM   #43
ChinoPD
Member
 
ChinoPD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 10,432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR CHILLED View Post
Which card was that, and old Audigy by any chance?
I don't remember which one it was so long ago. It was either, two of, or all of: SB live, SB Audigy, SB XFi.

It was actually one of them I remember that I eventually found to be causing system stability issues.

Edit: Fck it, I just got one. I got the Zx because I didn't need a beam mic, and I wanted that sexy looking control module.
__________________
GamingPC:X99-AII|6850K|HyperX 4x8GB|TitanXP|2x950Pro512GB|SS1050W|Phantek Glass|CorsairGK95|DAChroma|XB1
HTPC1:Z97-C|4690K+|HyperX 2x8GB|G1 970|Intel 730 480GB|CS750W|Fractal R4Ti|CorsairVK70|Deathadder
HTPC2:H97M-E|4590S+|HyperX 2x8GB|EVGA750Ti|M500 240GB|S12II430W|BF Phenom|K830
UnRAID -22TB:C2SEA|E3300|2x2GB|4x5TB WD Red+3x2TB WD Green+1TB Green|Linux 4.1.18-unRAID
Successful Trades | Fitness Blog

Last edited by ChinoPD; 6th September 2016 at 10:33 AM.
ChinoPD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2016, 11:27 AM   #44
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 126,633
Default

I've just bought a second one off the trading forums here, for a second rig which I think still has an old Audigy I think.
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2016, 11:36 AM   #45
ChinoPD
Member
 
ChinoPD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 10,432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR CHILLED View Post
I've just bought a second one off the trading forums here, for a second rig which I think still has an old Audigy I think.
I posted one for sale, didn't know they changed the "no new items" rules so they shut down the thread. Mine was opened and used, although not for 7 days, only overnight.

I'll have to post mine on gumtree or ebay I guess, didn't want to post it.
__________________
GamingPC:X99-AII|6850K|HyperX 4x8GB|TitanXP|2x950Pro512GB|SS1050W|Phantek Glass|CorsairGK95|DAChroma|XB1
HTPC1:Z97-C|4690K+|HyperX 2x8GB|G1 970|Intel 730 480GB|CS750W|Fractal R4Ti|CorsairVK70|Deathadder
HTPC2:H97M-E|4590S+|HyperX 2x8GB|EVGA750Ti|M500 240GB|S12II430W|BF Phenom|K830
UnRAID -22TB:C2SEA|E3300|2x2GB|4x5TB WD Red+3x2TB WD Green+1TB Green|Linux 4.1.18-unRAID
Successful Trades | Fitness Blog
ChinoPD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 7:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!