Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Overclocking & Hardware

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 4th December 2011, 5:08 PM   #1
gazza30 Thread Starter
Member
 
gazza30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: FNQ
Posts: 978
Default HWBOT Discussion Thread Ver2

Australia's No 1 Benching and Hwbot Discussion Thread Pro's and Noobs welcome

If you're not on the team but wish to contribute your best benchmark results to the team's points (and of course your own), just create a hwbot profile and join the Australia OC team HERE http://hwbot.org/team/australia_oc/

A small bit of history Australia OC formed on Aug 2014 when i4 mem and members from ocau's hwbot team got together to join forces to form Australia OC. The joining further enforces Australia position as a country punching well above their weight in the world OC scene.

Couple of Team Logo's for people to use in bench Screenshots until something better comes along ( soon I hope )

I use tsr watermark to water mark SS https://www.dropbox.com/s/c9skd9g05k...image.zip?dl=0 This is an old version disable updates as I think the new version adds an uregistered watermark of their own to your SS.


Click to view full size!


Click to view full size!


Click to view full size!


COMPLETE LIST OF BENCHMARKS supported by hwbot: it also shows whether or not points are available (hwboints)

HWBOT has the largest database of overclocking results in the world: BROWSE RESULTS HERE http://hwbot.org/init.results.search.do
(i recommend checking out the WORLD RECORDS. some of these guys are crazy)


OCAU TWEAKS and SETTINGS
FREE WINDOWS IMAGING SOFTWARE & GUIDE ( thanks Jack )

general benching (used for all benchmarks)

1 - close/disable/stop as many processes and services as possible using task manager
2 - for 3D, change all 3D control panel settings to lowest detail
3 - remember that screenshots are required for your submissions. usually CPU-Z (two instances) with CPU tab and MEMORY tab for 2D benching. include GPU-Z in your screenshot for 3D benching. be sure to have your results clearly visible. check the rules for specifics for each benchmark. read rules HERE
4 - save your screen shots to a flash drive - that way if you corrupt/fry a HDD/SSD you will still have your screens
5 - always use a clean OS and do some research into what OS is the best for what benchmarks. If possible get your hands on a stripped down copy.



ALBA's tips

1 - results are categorised, so you don't need the most expensive hardware to score well. these will most likely be hardware points you receive. global points are overall position regardless of hardware used. then world record bonus points where only the elite will score points.
2 - more points are available with the most popular hardware.
4 - run superPI in XP in safe mode, same goes for Wprime.


SNAPPY'S tips

1 - clock it like you stole it, DON'T be afraid to pump in big v core and vtt for short periods. eg Vantage cpu tests, your cpu may finish the tests with 1.4v, but try 1.45v and then check your score, it will be higher.
2 - turn everything off you can, I don't have the net connected when seriously benching, I screenshot and upload via a lappy.
3 - just because your cpu or gpu will run at a certain freq doesn't mean it's stable, always check freq to scores, sometimes you will get a better score at slightly lower clocks.
4 - uncore, always max uncore freq.
5 - latencies, know your ram before you bench, know what timings to use at what speeds , use the Eva2000 system.

generally its easier to score more points with a good, more recent cpu and a popular video card for 3d benching (not necessarily new), like the nvidia 8800 series

2D (cpu) benching

By SniperOZ
superpi 32m benching methods


Tweaks For Running SuperPi 32m

Waza or Copy-Waza is more a method than an app

The method is to have two partitions on a drive, then you make a large compressed file say 1.2g (size varies ) then you copy that to the other partition (you can also try coping it back and forth over writing CDT) then when its finished the first thing that you run is Super pi 32m, windows will give you all it's resources and memory to run SuperPi and your time should be better.......... Thats a very rough explanation but thats the basics, you should be able to find a more in depth explanation at the link i provided below.
What OCX Spi tweaker does, is do all this nice and easy, and you can change the sizes very quickly.

* The other main tweaks are, run winXP (I use SP3 although a lot like SP2 or Win server 2003)
* Run in ....debug mode ....with a ......maxmem of 600-680 ....(msconfig)
* In most cases with the new hardware select ........no page file
* And select .....system cache ......under memory usage
* Try runing only one or two cores....if two or more cores used, set priority to the second core(1)
* Try running Superpi in real time
* Open Spi 32m and get it ready to run
* Then run waza (OCX Spi Tweaker) different OS's will react with different settings so you will need to experiment on your system
* But make sure that SPi is open and ready to run so all you do is one click to start the calculations

and your good to go....... Happy Benching

Its also a good idea when testing the above tweaks, to leave your CPU overclock at a set point 4ghz is generally used, this way any tweaks are noticed and any problems with your tweaks or timings are not mistaken for CPU Overclock problems, then when your happy with efficiency and your timings are stable, you move onto your CPU overclock and give it a go.

The above is a very very basc outline to what i do, there are a lot of other tweaks and methods, but this is what works for me. http://www.ocxtreme.org/forumenus/showthread.php?t=3469


All credit for OCX Spi Tweaker to Monteboy over at OCXtreme Overclocking Forum

AND REMEMBER ALL SYSTEMS ARE DIFFERENT SO TRY ALTERNATE SETTINGS


superpi 1m
- disable HT and clock it up
- disable cores (only use one or two)

superpi 32m
- disable HT and clock it up
- disable cores (only use one or two)
- use a cpu with as much cache as possible
- Robbo's guide
CPU-Z
- all you have to do is validate your system
- clock the s#!t outta it

wprime 32m
-Yamunsa's Guide to W-Prime Benching
- set thread count in settings and save
- enable HT

wprime 1024m
- set thread count in settings and save (equal to CPU specs)
- enable HT


3D (video card) benching
Snappy's gtx 295 flashing guide
Hyper SLI HACK
TechPowerUP video card bios collection

VOLT MODS Follow at your own risk
8800 gs / gt / gts


3Dmark 2001 SE - guide
- only use winXP vista or win 7 will get you really bad scores don't waste your time
- Lod is a must try different lod levels to see what works best amd/NVidia cards like different lod levels
- NVidia inspector a must for NVidia cards plenty to tweak just be sure to test each change
-
3Dmark 03
- no cpu test (lower max cpu temps) increase vcore and clock it up
- generally disable HT for higher clocks
-Lod is a must (riva tuner, set lod , NVidia inspector )

3Dmark 05
- no cpu test (lower max cpu temps) increase vcore and clock it up
- Lod

3Dmark 06
- very cpu dependent so use a good cpu (no dual cores)
- multithreaded so you'll want a cpu with HT

3Dmark vantage - performance
- Loves cores and HT
- do not post scores with physx enabled

aquamark 3


PC Mark 05
Tweaks here

XTU
Tips found here

Cinebench
- Drop screen res
- create desktop shortcut then edit properties and run from shortcut
higher cache multi or uncore on older systems help
- know your ram if you want every last point

extreme cooling pornography thread some great pix from OCAU members (don't forget OCAU pix is a great way to host your pix)

Last edited by gazza30; 28th September 2014 at 4:03 PM.
gazza30 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 4th December 2011, 5:11 PM   #2
gazza30 Thread Starter
Member
 
gazza30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: FNQ
Posts: 978
Default

Some Good Component Prepping Info

Jack's Insulation guide

Last edited by gazza30; 29th August 2014 at 9:15 AM.
gazza30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2011, 5:13 PM   #3
Ando420
Member
 
Ando420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 1,168
Default

Nice work gaz - we need to move on and get back to what all love to do!


LN2 TIPS & TRICKS



links:

k|ngp|n - Motherboard preperation and installation using a LN2/DI unit the clean and easy way


sno.lcn - Subzero Cooling Insulation Guide


nolonger - Frozen Path Subzero Guide







GAZZA30's Subzero Cooling Insulation Guide


Hey chaps was just prepping my Gigabyte X48 to apply a clear coat to give greater protection when under sub zero conditions
Things you will need
1. Roll of tape , masking tape, electrical tape or whatever you have
2. Tin of Servisol protective circuit board lacquer from Jaycar
3. A well ventilated place to spray coating on

Ok well heres the board first things first strip the board of any heat sinks most boards use Philips head screws and the hated pushpins style plastic pins.



Now its time to tape up those important bits remember to check and double check you have everything taped up.



Here it is taped up and looky here circled in red below the ram slot is a fan header that i accidently left uncovered



I actually sprayed the board like this but hey no problem either scratch the coating off with a pen knife when dry or use a cotton tip and some acetone or nail polish remover .
Another member who shall remain unnamed (Yumunsa) hehehe got some Lacquer in one of the ram slots but after some carefull work with the wifes toothbrush and some acetone managed to remove the offending lacquer borking his ram slot and all was good.

Now i like to apply 2 lite coats to the front and the back of the board the coats don’t take long to dry so should only take a couple of hours. I like to leave the board overnight to let the lacquer cure a bit and then its time to reassemble.




My heatsinks have a thermal pad which you can reuse if your carefull but i like to remove the north and south bridge pads and use a quality thermal paste. I like to make sure its a paste thats not electrically conductive just in case so i used some MX4 that i had this time.




Now because i removed the NB and SB pads off the heat sinks it is essential that you check that the heatsinks still make good contact to the NB and SB chips as youll see in the next pic contact is sweet so go ahead and fit them .




Job done so get benching Dont forget to add artist erasor arround the socket area i'll add some more pic later on how i go about it.












"I know how to do it and have everything I need, where do I start?"

1 - Ok...settle down for a sec and double check every thing you have against what you will/might need. I know you are probs super keen and eager to get COLD BUT......this will save you time, Ln2 and fustration in the long run


You will/might need: (besides LN2 & HW to bench )


- Enough space to comfortably and safely bench (for you and HW)

- Atleast 1x digital temp probe

- Atleast 1x digital multimeter

- Atleast 2x Thermos (to pour LN2 from)

- Hair dryer or blow torch

- Heaps of paper towl or tp



2 - Make sure you have a ruff idea of what your CPU, GPU, RAM and mobo will do before putting it under cold, this is only to give you a good starting point to work from and also makes it alot easier to diagnose problems when you can eliminate a possible cause earlier, this will also save you time, Ln2 and fustration in the long run

3 - Make sure you have good insulation/fans and have done as much as you can to stop water/moisture getting in and wrecking your fun!

4 - Start slow!!

5 - boot it up and let the temps settle in BIOS with little to no cold.

6 - bring it down 10c at a time to around 0c to -10. Each chip will be different but this will be a good starting point....after that you will need to find what the chip does and doesnt like as you go (ie, Cold boot bugs & cold bugs) so start at this and work your way down as you get the feel for it.

6.1 - (CBB) Cold boot bug: This varies from chip to chip with Intel (AMD CPU's have no cold bug), this is why you must have a digital temp probe. A particular chip may boot at -50 but not -55. You will need to work out what your chip likes. You can use a hair dryer or a blow torch to warm up your pot to get it back to boot temp if needed.

6.2 - (CB) Cold bug: CPU's will also cold bug in windows, idle and load. This temp will be lower than the boot bug but it adds another twist into Overclocking as now when you have a crash you have to figure out if the CPU is unstable or cold bugged or maybe a bit of both.

7 - Dont put to much in the pot to fast or you will get huge temp swings.....all pots are different but you will work out how much to put in each time to keep it where you want it. Just do a little splash at a time and wait a few sec after each splash for temps to drop and level out, you can always put more in if you need to, You cant take any out tho

8 - Keep an eye on the temps as its easy to lose concentration and the temp can go up fast in some tests and even faster again with some chips.

9 - Most of all......HAVE FUN!
__________________
Join HWBOT TEAM OCAU
Ando420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2011, 5:38 PM   #4
t8y
Member
 
t8y's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SA, 5108
Posts: 3,950
Default

I'll just leave this here, so its page one.

link to the extreme cooling pornography thread, with lots of the exotic cooling used by our fellow OCAU/OCAU hwbot team members
__________________
Australia OC HWBOT Team | thread - rookie overclockers to pro level, all welcome
| hwbot | steam | battlefield |
t8y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2011, 5:45 PM   #5
gazza30 Thread Starter
Member
 
gazza30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: FNQ
Posts: 978
Default

Cheers mate some great shots in there for sure, dammit i need a better camera perhaps just a better operator
gazza30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2011, 5:46 PM   #6
Yamunsa
Member
 
Yamunsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cairns
Posts: 1,654
Default

is that camoroar lol?
Yamunsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2011, 5:48 PM   #7
snappy1
Member
 
snappy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Benching
Posts: 4,163
Default

Nice work guys, I for one am going to have a big week benching, 3 unbenched cpu's and will have a full dewar for next Sunday when I finally catch up with Yamunsa, Ando will be dropping around also, really looking forward to it
snappy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2011, 5:50 PM   #8
fatguy1992
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,149
Default

I'm going to have to get into it, otherwas you guys are going to catch me.

Probably going to buy a 2600k system in a few days.
fatguy1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2011, 5:52 PM   #9
aussie-revhead
Member
 
aussie-revhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Western Sydney
Posts: 15,488
Default

Thats the spirit guys.

__________________
Bench 1- OFFLINE (no cpu, mobo, ram or vid card)- Enermax Revo1250 - water cooled tech bench - QNIX 2560x1440 screen @ 96Hz - Aten 120Hz KVM
Mitx Netbox -SG06 - Z87i-Pro - 4790K (on its way) - G.SKILL 2666c11 - Zotac GTX970 shortie - cpu and gpu water cooled
Next bike- ... will be a ZX14 !!!
aussie-revhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2011, 5:55 PM   #10
snappy1
Member
 
snappy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Benching
Posts: 4,163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatguy1992 View Post
I'm going to have to get into it, otherwas you guys are going to catch me.

Probably going to buy a 2600k system in a few days.
Exactly, I have a mobo, just need to grab a good K, I have played with the platform and although intially dissapointed due to the ease of results still need to pass my card library over one
snappy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2011, 6:03 PM   #11
gazza30 Thread Starter
Member
 
gazza30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: FNQ
Posts: 978
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamunsa View Post
is that camoroar lol?
Laugh it up buddy i's is full of plum i mean Rum

Quote:
Originally Posted by snappy1 View Post
Nice work guys, I for one am going to have a big week benching, 3 unbenched cpu's and will have a full dewar for next Sunday when I finally catch up with Yamunsa, Ando will be dropping around also, really looking forward to it
Now we're talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatguy1992 View Post
I'm going to have to get into it, otherwas you guys are going to catch me.

Probably going to buy a 2600k system in a few days.
Been tempted to do it myself, yet to have a play with the new platform although i've seen it in action.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aussie-revhead View Post
Thats the spirit guys.

Yes indeed lets get back to why we joined the team (moar beer hic i mean benching)
gazza30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2011, 6:27 PM   #12
Ando420
Member
 
Ando420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 1,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snappy1 View Post
Nice work guys, I for one am going to have a big week benching, 3 unbenched cpu's and will have a full dewar for next Sunday when I finally catch up with Yamunsa, Ando will be dropping around also, really looking forward to it
Can't wait man

I didnt have a chance to bench my Q6600 this weekend but will pick up a few kg of dice on the way home and spend the night on it

I should have my 975 extreme this week so I will be spending a good amount of time on x58 so need to get this Q6600 and Q8200 done in the next few days
__________________
Join HWBOT TEAM OCAU
Ando420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2011, 7:18 PM   #13
gazza30 Thread Starter
Member
 
gazza30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: FNQ
Posts: 978
Default

975 extreme nice one mate any testing yet where'd you pick that one up on the forums?

Last edited by gazza30; 4th December 2011 at 7:43 PM.
gazza30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2011, 7:44 PM   #14
Ando420
Member
 
Ando420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 1,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gazza30 View Post
945 extreme nice one mate any testing yet where'd you pick that one up on the forums?
Yeah I was stoked as I was only looking for a 950 or something and I was offered the 975 over a pm and snapped it up.

Haven't got it yet but it hasn't been overclocked before
Will be my first "real" play with x58 so should be fun
__________________
Join HWBOT TEAM OCAU
Ando420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2011, 7:58 PM   #15
gazza30 Thread Starter
Member
 
gazza30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: FNQ
Posts: 978
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ando420 View Post
Yeah I was stoked as I was only looking for a 950 or something and I was offered the 975 over a pm and snapped it up.

Haven't got it yet but it hasn't been overclocked before
Will be my first "real" play with x58 so should be fun
Almost bought one a lil while back i'll be interested to see how the early extreme chips compare to there more mature brothers like the 980 an 990's looking forward to some test results
gazza30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
extreme, hwbot, subzero

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 5:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!