Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > PC Audio

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th December 2012, 2:32 AM   #1
Mau1wurf1977 Thread Starter
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,712
Default Sound Blaster Z Review

Very happy with the card!

Especially all the little tweaks for improving microphone performance, helping with watching videos at night and improving your gaming skills



Direct link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fgmqqPhGSWA
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 30th December 2012, 8:48 PM   #2
Forgiven
Member
 
Forgiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brizzie
Posts: 913
Default

Looks like the features are great...
Could be my next card to replace my aging HT Omega Claro...
__________________
Just a Geek PC
Forgiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2012, 9:29 PM   #3
Dev One
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 396
Default

Bought one of these to go with my AD700, so far I'm liking both but haven't got to play around with the microphone that came with the card. How is the performance on it?
__________________
i7 3770k @ 4.6GHz | 8GB RAM @ 2400Mhz | NVIDIA 680 @ 1150MHz

AFL Forum | This Is AFL
Dev One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2012, 10:42 PM   #4
Mau1wurf1977 Thread Starter
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dev One View Post
Bought one of these to go with my AD700, so far I'm liking both but haven't got to play around with the microphone that came with the card. How is the performance on it?
I'm using it in the video and also reviewing it. Check it out
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2012, 10:49 AM   #5
YoSiMeTe_SaM
Member
 
YoSiMeTe_SaM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,030
Default

Nice review

I purchased mine to go with a set of Sennheiser HD558'S and absolutely love it. I use the mic it came with as well for Team speak and it is fantastic.

I have been on a knifing frenzy lol. The only thing I don't like is the lack of a switch to turn off the red LED'S! They suck
__________________
Patience is the ability to count down before you blast off.

Got Game: www.deathinc.com.au
YoSiMeTe_SaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2012, 11:48 AM   #6
Mau1wurf1977 Thread Starter
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoSiMeTe_SaM View Post
The only thing I don't like is the lack of a switch to turn off the red LED'S! They suck
LOL yea that's true

EDIT: Mod Video coming up

Last edited by Mau1wurf1977; 31st December 2012 at 12:18 PM.
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2012, 2:07 PM   #7
Mau1wurf1977 Thread Starter
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,712
Default

Does the red LED light annoy you?

Just a quick video showing you how to turn off the red LED light on the Creative Sound Blaster Z.

There are two methods:

- Clipping the LEDs off for good
- Covering them with some tape

Tools you need:

- Philips screwdriver
- Clipping tool if you want to get rid of the LEDs for good
- Tape to cover the LEDs

Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2012, 7:52 PM   #8
YoSiMeTe_SaM
Member
 
YoSiMeTe_SaM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 1,030
Default

You sir are a legend
__________________
Patience is the ability to count down before you blast off.

Got Game: www.deathinc.com.au

Last edited by YoSiMeTe_SaM; 31st December 2012 at 9:11 PM.
YoSiMeTe_SaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2013, 4:19 PM   #9
oohms
Member
 
oohms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne 3016
Posts: 2,182
Default

I can't believe that the only thing keeping this card popular is their software... wouldn't have thought so 2-3 years ago

(at least they realised their card has horrible analogue specs and added an external dac)
oohms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2013, 5:17 PM   #10
Mau1wurf1977 Thread Starter
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oohms View Post
I can't believe that the only thing keeping this card popular is their software... wouldn't have thought so 2-3 years ago

(at least they realised their card has horrible analogue specs and added an external dac)
The Z is quite new. Not confused with the Recon 3D which has been around for a while and does indeed sound worse. It did however introduce the new software interface.
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 4:54 PM   #11
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 100,211
Default

So reasonably worth going from the recon3d?
__________________
The Prime Minister of Australia: "no one can be the suppository of all wisdom''
abbott on the NBN: "We're not against using the internet, errr, for all these things, ah but do we really want to invest $50billion dollars of hard earned tax payers money on what is essentially a video entertainment system."
| Co2 is weightless apparently
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 5:40 PM   #12
Mau1wurf1977 Thread Starter
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR CHILLED View Post
So reasonably worth going from the recon3d?
Hmmm IMO the Recon 3D has the same driver, and therefore many of the benefits. While the Z does sound better, I'm not sure if it's worth getting a new card.

The Recon 3D is also quite a bit cheaper these days.
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 6:30 PM   #13
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 100,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mau1wurf1977 View Post
Hmmm IMO the Recon 3D has the same driver, and therefore many of the benefits. While the Z does sound better, I'm not sure if it's worth getting a new card.

The Recon 3D is also quite a bit cheaper these days.
I just had a quick check and doesn't seem to be much price difference between the two, so for the small price difference I'm considering flogging off the recon and grabbing a Z.

Hmmmmm...
__________________
The Prime Minister of Australia: "no one can be the suppository of all wisdom''
abbott on the NBN: "We're not against using the internet, errr, for all these things, ah but do we really want to invest $50billion dollars of hard earned tax payers money on what is essentially a video entertainment system."
| Co2 is weightless apparently
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 6:40 PM   #14
dexster
Member
 
dexster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: adelaide
Posts: 1,121
Default

i just dunno about this titanium hd; could the z (or zxr) be the answer?
__________________
|3846B017|E760|12gbGT2000c7|2[GTX680Classified]|TitaniumHD|2xF120raid0|2x300gbVraptor|BDR-205|HX1000|Dell3007wfp-HC|
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaLLLY View Post
Oversized C*ck Always Up
dexster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 7:05 PM   #15
Mau1wurf1977 Thread Starter
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Country WA
Posts: 13,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR CHILLED View Post
I just had a quick check and doesn't seem to be much price difference between the two, so for the small price difference I'm considering flogging off the recon and grabbing a Z.

Hmmmmm...
I see. Amazon had a sale and it was ~ 60 bucks. But yea, the Z comes with a microphone, so might be worth the trade!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dexster View Post
i just dunno about this titanium hd; could the z (or zxr) be the answer?
I have the HD and regret getting it. While it's great as a Hi-Fi card, it has the ancient X-Fi drivers, NO 5.1 analogue outputs (only Stereo), headphone amp only 300 Ohm, not 600, NO software switch between speakers and headphones (got to crawl under the desk), no mic boost...

Z hands down.
Mau1wurf1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 6:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!