Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > PC Audio

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12th April 2017, 5:20 AM   #1
Embercide Thread Starter
Member
 
Embercide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,793
Default HDMI audio to Onkyo amp results in first few seconds of silence?

Not sure if it should be this forum or the home theater section but...

My theater PC has a Radeon HD5850 with HDMI out to my Onkyo AV receiver.
Something i've put up with for a few years now, is that when audio first starts being sent - movie/youtube/windows startup sound - the first few seconds of audio are missed.

It appears as though when no sound is being sent something in either the HD5850 or the Onkyo AV 'switches off', and when an audio signal does start being transmitted there's a delay in switching back on again.

Anybody experienced this and can offer a solution?
__________________
Beatings will continue until morale improves!
Embercide is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 7th May 2017, 5:47 PM   #2
driftoz
Member
 
driftoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 8
Default

yeah i have the same problem with my onkyo amp it seems like the amp goes into a sleep like mode then switches back on when an audio signal is sent.
__________________
Custom Water cooled Project: Deadcool I7 6700k@4.5ghz, Gigabyte Z170x gaming5, Corsair 32gig 3200mhz DDR4, Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OCED, EK 360 Predator AIO kit/custom tubes, Corsair Carbide Air 540, Triple 29" AOC monitors, 55" LG 4K HDR Tv, Klipsch 7.1 HT
driftoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2017, 7:40 PM   #3
broccoli
Member
 
broccoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 15,523
Default

Is the source a PCM source (whatever that means)? The manual for my Onkyo amp says that if the audio is set to "auto" and the beginnings of a PCM source are cut off, to change the setting to PCM instead of auto.

Don't really understand this stuff, but worth a try?

Otherwise, my media player (Kodi) has a setting to "keep audio device alive". I don't know whether this would be possible with your video card. Does it sleep? Maybe messing with that might help??
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
People are idiots.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreyWolfe01 View Post
don't connect via usb, since that is the devil.
broccoli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2017, 11:12 PM   #4
Renza
Member
 
Renza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Adelaide, 5051
Posts: 4,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by broccoli View Post
Is the source a PCM source (whatever that means)?
Pulse code modulation.

Basically, the receiver needs to figure out what signal it is receiving, be it PCM, DTS, AC3 or their "HD" counterparts. When there is no audio being output, there's literally nothing coming over the line. It takes a few samples to figure out what codec is being used, and then to start decoding and outputting the audio.
__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.5ghz | AsRock Z77 Professional | 16gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz | Gigabyte GTX580 | Seasonic X750 | Silverstone TJ07 | Crucial M4 256GB | 2x Dell U2011
Canon 5D Mark III | Canon EF 24-70 f/2.8L | Canon EF 17-40 f/4L | Canon EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 | Canon EX-580II | Manfrotto 190 Pro B
Traded over $22,000 on OCAU! - PM for recent traders
Renza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2017, 4:47 AM   #5
MoonSha
Member
 
MoonSha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour
Posts: 1,026
Default

This seems to be standard behavior, my yamaha receiver does the same thing. It's terrible if you want to use video card hdmi audio since every time you alt-tab games you lose audio for a few seconds.
__________________
Antec P182 :: Samsung 840 Evo :: Asus P6T :: Intel Xeon 5650 6x4.1Ghz :: 12GB G.Skill DDR3 1600 :: GTX1070 :: Acer 165hz 27" G-Sync :: CMStorm Trigger Blue :: G400s :: X-Fi XtremeMusic :: Z-5500D

Trades: Dimtar, vine-au, Tomee, DaFugg, Stax, kung-f00-kamel, Crambo, kooliez, luke_o, cysp. Over $1800
MoonSha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2017, 8:55 AM   #6
terrastrife
Member
 
terrastrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ADL/SA The Monopoly State
Posts: 17,995
Default

grab a silent audio clip off the net and run a scheduled task to play it every x minutes, whatever is just shorter than your receiver going to sleep.
terrastrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2017, 10:37 PM   #7
driftoz
Member
 
driftoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 8
Default

seen my amp had an update

As of 12 April 2017
Fix the audio drops out issue when using Play/Pause/FF/FR of particular STB/DVR.

just done an speaker sound test and usually the ding noise for first speaker is skipped when amp is enabling but after update it seems like its instant.
__________________
Custom Water cooled Project: Deadcool I7 6700k@4.5ghz, Gigabyte Z170x gaming5, Corsair 32gig 3200mhz DDR4, Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OCED, EK 360 Predator AIO kit/custom tubes, Corsair Carbide Air 540, Triple 29" AOC monitors, 55" LG 4K HDR Tv, Klipsch 7.1 HT
driftoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2017, 6:54 PM   #8
Embercide Thread Starter
Member
 
Embercide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by driftoz View Post
seen my amp had an update

As of 12 April 2017
Fix the audio drops out issue when using Play/Pause/FF/FR of particular STB/DVR.

just done an speaker sound test and usually the ding noise for first speaker is skipped when amp is enabling but after update it seems like its instant.
What model onkyo? It's been a couple of days, does it look like its fixed now?
__________________
Beatings will continue until morale improves!
Embercide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!