Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Extreme and Water Cooling

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 9th February 2012, 5:16 PM   #1
DarkSlayer1666 Thread Starter
Member
 
DarkSlayer1666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NOR, Perth
Posts: 41
Default which EK nickel blocks are dodgy? (dont hurt me :))

at the risk of being hammered for bringing up an old and well-worn topic, im asking this.

QUESTION: Which EK blocks were affected by the nickel plating issue?

Reason why im asking is ive just bought a used 6970 with an EK nickel-acetal block. ive searched and searched and cant find any reference of when the issue was completely resolved.
Ive read about people having issues with 480 blocks, 4870 blocks, 5870 blocks.
but nothing on 6970 or any 6900-series blocks.

i havent had the chance yet to open my block and see what the insides are like (i work away so havent even seen the card yet) but i just wanted to find out if there is a chance that my shiny new graphics card may have a potential timebomb attached to it.
__________________
Intel i7 3770K, 16GB 1800MHz DDR3, Asrock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3, Dual GTX680 in SLI, OCZ Vertex4 SSD, Plextor PX-128M5Pro SSD, 24TB in SNR RAID using Synology DS1810+, Xigamtek Elysium case, Dell U3011 and Asus 24"
DarkSlayer1666 is offline  

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 9th February 2012, 5:18 PM   #2
FatBoyNotSoSlim
Member
 
FatBoyNotSoSlim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne - 3149
Posts: 13,288
Default

All of them. Ergo facto never buy an EK block again.
__________________
Desktop: 3770K 4.5Ghz | GB Z77X-UD5H | 16GB RipjawsX | Crucial M4 256GB | SLI GTX 580s | Lian Li P80B | AX1200W | Catleap Q270s | Ducky DK9008 Shine | Razer Mamba | Custom WC |
Other: Norco 4224 32TB FREENAS | Panasonic TH-P50V20A | PS3 Slim 500GB | SGS3 16GB, ASUS Transformer, Samsung Galaxy Tab 7" |
FatBoyNotSoSlim is offline  
Old 9th February 2012, 5:26 PM   #3
simm
Member
 
simm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 316
Default

Guaranteed answer #1: All of them, EK quality control is crap. *see above *

Guaranteed answer #2: I have EK blocks and haven't had a problem. *see below *

There were definitely problems and EK definitely handled them poorly. They have made some changes to the manufacturing process (EN blocks) but there have been issues with EN labelled blocks too. It seems to have settled down now but that could be because everyone either stopped buying EK gear or started adding corrosion inhibitors to their loops.

I wouldn't call it completely resolved but there hasn't been a new report of failing EK nickel in at least a month or two.
__________________
six seven billion points of view.

Last edited by simm; 9th February 2012 at 5:33 PM.
simm is offline  
Old 9th February 2012, 5:28 PM   #4
BlueRaven
Member
 
BlueRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sydney 2068
Posts: 2,773
Default

FC6970 should be the newer electroless plating, but people have reported failures of those too.

My 5870 nickel/plexi block still looks fine, and it has run swiftech hydrx, distilled water+silver and nulon/tectalloy automotive coolant at various times.... most of its life has been under anti-corrosive coolant (the hydrx/nulon) though, only ran di+silver for a couple of months.

Open it up immediately and check for signs of flaking/pitting/corrosion. If it's pristine, you should be ok as long as you run Liquid Utopia or a similar anti-corrosive treatment, or premixed coolant such as EC6. Avoid straight distilled water+silver.

Note that I said should be ok....

EDIT:.... yeah..... what ^those guys^ said.

Even if it does flake that won't affect the performance, just the looks. Most pumps wouldn't like sucking up little bits of nickel though. Maybe PM the seller and ask what coolant he was using, and if he's seen any powdery/flaky residue in his res or toobs.
__________________
"Science is more than a body of knowledge, it's a way of thinking, a way of sceptically interrogating the universe with a fine understanding of human fallibility." - Carl Sagan

You can never explain a good pun to a kleptomaniac... he always takes things literally.

Last edited by BlueRaven; 9th February 2012 at 5:33 PM.
BlueRaven is offline  
Old 9th February 2012, 5:37 PM   #5
radeon_freak
Member
 
radeon_freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,379
Default

Theres no 100% answer on which blocks or batch were defective. I've had several EK blocks and they were all 100% fine, even when using nothing but distilled water and silver. Only time and use will tell, but I wouldnt be overly concerned.
__________________
trades/sales: Hung Mung01, arnica, goodguy82, pshnfry, Pic, XTREME OC'ER, lui_gough, alexanderino, phil_is_mrx, Noonoo, lionman, snoozeys, callen_1, iCrunk, craigoss, CHemical, V1C7012, mtot, Miggod, protecon, Chop92per, Copie, stedyedy, Pipster, Peteodeath, Blue_muppet, dingdong555, baby_ute, fredhoon, WuzzA21, ElBeasto, lostdude, endo, disa1377,TwistedTripper, SoniQx, MorgzMods, gigabyte123, lostdude, vinnie, iNoob, colinskies, Wombycat, jamieyn, Linkin, aln, Little Man, linsi + many more
radeon_freak is offline  
Old 9th February 2012, 6:08 PM   #6
DarkSlayer1666 Thread Starter
Member
 
DarkSlayer1666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NOR, Perth
Posts: 41
Default

hmm ok thanks for that guys. im planning on only running distilled+LU

i asked my housemate to have a look if it has an EN sticker which it does apparently.
does this mean that its one of the newer electroless plating ones?
according to the seller the card was about a year old (I bought it in Jan this year). not sure if the block was on since day 1.

ah well. as long as it doesnt kill the card or my other WC bits, i can live with it and just buy a new block if its fubar.
thanks for the replies
__________________
Intel i7 3770K, 16GB 1800MHz DDR3, Asrock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3, Dual GTX680 in SLI, OCZ Vertex4 SSD, Plextor PX-128M5Pro SSD, 24TB in SNR RAID using Synology DS1810+, Xigamtek Elysium case, Dell U3011 and Asus 24"
DarkSlayer1666 is offline  
Old 9th February 2012, 6:10 PM   #7
ex4n
Member
 
ex4n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkSlayer1666 View Post
hmm ok thanks for that guys. im planning on only running distilled+LU

i asked my housemate to have a look if it has an EN sticker which it does apparently.
does this mean that its one of the newer electroless plating ones?
according to the seller the card was about a year old (I bought it in Jan this year). not sure if the block was on since day 1.

ah well. as long as it doesnt kill the card or my other WC bits, i can live with it and just buy a new block if its fubar.
thanks for the replies
EN will mean its got the newer plating I think. Either way before you put it in your rig just crack it open and have a quick look. Chances are it will be fine. I wonder what the actual failure rate was, I'd imaging something like 1% or a few batches and was just massively blown out of proportion.
__________________
i7 2600k | Z68A-GD80 | 8GB RAM | CF 7970 | 120GB SSD | 1kW PSU | Butchered Case | Water Cooling | U2713H
HP N40L | 16GB RAM | 7x WD 2TB | Ubuntu | ZFS
Successful Trades
ex4n is offline  
Old 9th February 2012, 6:26 PM   #8
Ka0sX
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canadian in Australia
Posts: 2,786
Default

Void EK blocks like the plague.......................
Ka0sX is offline  
Old 9th February 2012, 6:28 PM   #9
Spyfox
Member
 
Spyfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SWSydney 2173
Posts: 1,273
Default

just buy copper blocks
or a koolance block
Spyfox is offline  
Old 9th February 2012, 6:48 PM   #10
DarkSlayer1666 Thread Starter
Member
 
DarkSlayer1666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NOR, Perth
Posts: 41
Default

the main reason i bought that particular 6970 is cos it came with wc block preinstalled by the seller.
that was before i started to actually research watercooling and came across the EK issue.
__________________
Intel i7 3770K, 16GB 1800MHz DDR3, Asrock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3, Dual GTX680 in SLI, OCZ Vertex4 SSD, Plextor PX-128M5Pro SSD, 24TB in SNR RAID using Synology DS1810+, Xigamtek Elysium case, Dell U3011 and Asus 24"
DarkSlayer1666 is offline  
Old 9th February 2012, 6:50 PM   #11
Spyfox
Member
 
Spyfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SWSydney 2173
Posts: 1,273
Default

how long did the original owner run it under water?
if its been under water a while and it has no signs of flaking then you might be lucky
Spyfox is offline  
Old 9th February 2012, 7:05 PM   #12
DarkSlayer1666 Thread Starter
Member
 
DarkSlayer1666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NOR, Perth
Posts: 41
Default

he said that it was running 24/7 so i assume its been running since he got it originally
hopefully itll be ok when i pull it apart
__________________
Intel i7 3770K, 16GB 1800MHz DDR3, Asrock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3, Dual GTX680 in SLI, OCZ Vertex4 SSD, Plextor PX-128M5Pro SSD, 24TB in SNR RAID using Synology DS1810+, Xigamtek Elysium case, Dell U3011 and Asus 24"
DarkSlayer1666 is offline  
Old 9th February 2012, 7:14 PM   #13
Moptimus
(Taking a Break)
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Nambour-by-the-Sea
Posts: 1,033
Default

EK are fine now, don't run any loop without a corrosion blocker.

I keep harping on about it in these threads, but does anyone remember the koolance 370 that corroded in someone in this forums loop?
Moptimus is offline  
Old 9th February 2012, 7:27 PM   #14
MDewMadOScar
Member
 
MDewMadOScar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mildura, Australia
Posts: 75
Default

All this hate on EK.
I have owned/Currently own.
2 GTX 480 Fullcovers
2 GTX 470 Fullcovers
1 GTX 460 Full cover
2 9800 Fullcovers
2 GTX 285 Fullcovers

And never had I had a single problem.
never.
__________________
i7 920 4.2@1.2 - Gene III - GTX780 - 6GB Corsair Doms- EVO Series 250GB - OCZ ZX 850 - Corsair 350D
MDewMadOScar is offline  
Old 9th February 2012, 7:51 PM   #15
ex4n
Member
 
ex4n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moptimus View Post
EK are fine now, don't run any loop without a corrosion blocker.

I keep harping on about it in these threads, but does anyone remember the koolance 370 that corroded in someone in this forums loop?
http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh...9&postcount=45
that one? could only see the one pic. came from the machine in that build afaik.
apparently koolance rejected warranty on it too :/

edit: not trying to resurrect a shit storm.
__________________
i7 2600k | Z68A-GD80 | 8GB RAM | CF 7970 | 120GB SSD | 1kW PSU | Butchered Case | Water Cooling | U2713H
HP N40L | 16GB RAM | 7x WD 2TB | Ubuntu | ZFS
Successful Trades

Last edited by ex4n; 9th February 2012 at 8:01 PM.
ex4n is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 1:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!