Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Business & Enterprise Computing

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th June 2012, 8:51 AM   #1
Gecko Thread Starter
Member
 
Gecko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,716
Default Do you have a DR plan?

I've been absolutely horrified lately by the number of businesses that I know of with absolutely no DR / BCP plans in place. Or the ones who say "our cloud provider handles that for us".

Do you have a formal DR plan? An informal plan? Or even a way that you could get something running again in a hurry if you had to?

Where I am now, we have ~100 servers (mix of physical and virtual) and a semi-formalised DR plan (still a work in progress, but I think we could work with it in a pinch).
Gecko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 9:01 AM   #2
ra66it
Member
 
ra66it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 807
Default

Yes I do. I was unable to get any interest from management\executives, and DR equipment wasn't a priority. But I do have a DR document that nobody has bothered to read.

Yet I keep getting told that uptime is absolutely vital. Work that one out
ra66it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 10:55 AM   #3
Iceman
Member
 
Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane (nth), Australia
Posts: 6,646
Default

Here is the most popular option for SME's:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ME7alIe6Vtg
__________________
_,`,_,`,_,`,_

WTB: Cisco 1801-M PM me
Please rehash my posts and pass them off as your own ideas! Triple points for doing it in the same page of the thread. Plagiarism is the sincerest form of copyright infringement.
Iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 11:15 AM   #4
bsbozzy
Member
 
bsbozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,912
Default

Yeah, I spent a lot of time setting up DR equipment (servers, routers, switches, SAN), replication, scripts to be run to cut over data, documentation over the last 2/3 years where the people above me severely failed.

All they did was write a basic document that pretty much said, get latest tapes from offsite, buy some cheap off the shelf hardware, restore.

The only thing I haven't really bothered with is workstations, our DR site has different rooms with different machines, so rather than fucking around getting and image working for all of them, they already have a basic XP image which is fine, all that needs to be done is to setup a RDP shortcut to the RDP farm and then they are good to go.

I have done some testing with bringing the site online (CRM, file server, networks), and in an isolated LAB I have done the rest that I couldn't do without affecting the rest of the network (e.g. Exchange). We are yet to do a full test, I have given up trying to get them to do one.
bsbozzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 11:56 AM   #5
-Antiskeptic-
Member
 
-Antiskeptic-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Reservoir, VIC
Posts: 949
Default

Yeah have both here and also a "cold site" ready to go @ a moments notice.

Do a mock DR twice a year for compliance reasons, get users to go out to the cold site and do UAT testing.

Usually goes pretty well
__________________
www.david-clarke.id.au

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigheadache View Post
Come on man, its the epoch times. That's like asking the Flat Earth society to peer review the big bang theory.
-Antiskeptic- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 11:57 AM   #6
s4mmy
Member
 
s4mmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,937
Default

www.seek.com.au

haha, but in answer to your question, yes.
Has it been tested in the last 18months... no.
__________________
Blood makes us related.... Loyalty makes us family...
s4mmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 12:26 PM   #7
fR33z3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,164
Default

at my last place only the finance and hrmis end user applications were categorized as requiring disaster recovery. Twas rather interesting that things like email, www servers, phones, doc mgmt were all ignored. That said, i wasn't too upset about that - best to do a few things properly than everything crap.
fR33z3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 12:27 PM   #8
Tinian
Member
 
Tinian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: localhost
Posts: 11,991
Default

Yes - a separate DR site.
__________________
Never underestimate the difficulty of changing false beliefs by facts - Henry Rosovsky

Nail in my hand, from my creator
You gave me life, now show me how to live
.
Tinian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 12:44 PM   #9
s4mmy
Member
 
s4mmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,937
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinian View Post
Yes - a separate DR site.
That's not a plan... its just a location. A document on how you are going to fail over to that site... and what you are going to fail over to that site is a plan.
__________________
Blood makes us related.... Loyalty makes us family...
s4mmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 12:46 PM   #10
Tinian
Member
 
Tinian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: localhost
Posts: 11,991
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s4mmy View Post
That's not a plan... its just a location. A document on how you are going to fail over to that site... and what you are going to fail over to that site is a plan.
Ye, we've gone to the trouble of replicating an entire data centre but we don't have a plan.
__________________
Never underestimate the difficulty of changing false beliefs by facts - Henry Rosovsky

Nail in my hand, from my creator
You gave me life, now show me how to live
.
Tinian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 12:49 PM   #11
IACSecurity
Member
 
IACSecurity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: ork.sg
Posts: 730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinian View Post
Ye, we've gone to the trouble of replicating an entire data centre but we don't have a plan.
You didn't specify anything like that, so of course he his going to comment.

Lots of places have 2 DC's an no clue in the world from a DR perspective, so hes made a very legitimate point.
__________________
Wartcom man loves sad donkey
Whatever I say is generally bullshit Trololing. So get over it.
IACSecurity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 12:53 PM   #12
s4mmy
Member
 
s4mmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,937
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IACSecurity View Post
You didn't specify anything like that, so of course he his going to comment.

Lots of places have 2 DC's an no clue in the world from a DR perspective, so hes made a very legitimate point.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinian View Post
Ye, we've gone to the trouble of replicating an entire data centre but we don't have a plan.
Exactly, plenty of places also "replicate" but don't necessarily have a plan on how they are going to fail over to that replica.
__________________
Blood makes us related.... Loyalty makes us family...
s4mmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 1:09 PM   #13
Urbansprawl
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 527
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s4mmy View Post
Exactly, plenty of places also "replicate" but don't necessarily have a plan on how they are going to fail over to that replica.
Or they back stuff up to an offsite 'cloud' provider without doing the maths on how long it will take to re-download everything or having a contractual delivery time for delivery of those backups.
Urbansprawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 1:09 PM   #14
Tinian
Member
 
Tinian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: localhost
Posts: 11,991
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IACSecurity View Post
You didn't specify anything like that, so of course he his going to comment.

Lots of places have 2 DC's an no clue in the world from a DR perspective, so hes made a very legitimate point.
Obviously my fault for assuming a level of knowledge/ capability in what is really a SME forum. A separate DR site is not just another data centre. So let me be more detailed:
  • Site A with HA on prod. Site A replicates to site B depending on level.
  • If site A goes down, network automatically switches to site B.
  • Site A would be rebuilt from back-ups with delta applied.
__________________
Never underestimate the difficulty of changing false beliefs by facts - Henry Rosovsky

Nail in my hand, from my creator
You gave me life, now show me how to live
.
Tinian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2012, 1:12 PM   #15
dave_dave_dave
Member
 
dave_dave_dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 2,550
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman View Post
Here is the most popular option for SME's:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ME7alIe6Vtg
That video exactly summarises ours.

We were told to do a DR plan, with $0 budget.
__________________

\0/
|
/\
Muhammad
dave_dave_dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 3:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!