OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Other Topics > Science

Notices

Old 19th June 2012, 2:21 PM   #1
[PnP]dredd Thread Starter

Default biohacking - DIY biotechnology

http://www.thebulletin.org/web-editi...hn/diy-biology

Quote:
the next revolution in biotechnology is also likely to take place in someone's home or start-up laboratory. Unlike formally trained scientists, self-taught biologists may think a bit more outside of the box. Developing the next-generation vaccines and anti-microbials, and autologous replacement organs -- which have the potential to completely transform medicine and public health -- is going to take novel, visionary approaches. Start-up biotechnology efforts and their creative DIY enthusiasts, like Jobs and Wozniak, have the potential to fuel the economy with thousands of new jobs.
I've got a friend with a PCR machine bought off ebay, which she uses to sex her chickens, by amplifying DNA using promers which recognise segments of the sex hormoneschromosomes, and running a gel.

The hardware to do biotech stuff is now moving towards pricing which makes it accessible to an enthusiastic amateur. We're talking a similar cost to buying and maintaining a rally car or similar.

The knowledge is more difficult to gather, but there's a good set of tools available for those with some university biochemistry, or equivalent.

It's going to be a wild ride over the next few decades. I have an idea that when I retire I'd like to tinker with genetically modifying orchids.

Last edited by [PnP]dredd; 3rd June 2014 at 1:26 PM. Reason: I hate re-reading posts from ages ago. PCR on sex hormones? What was I thinking!
[PnP]dredd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2012, 10:10 AM   #2
Widman

Also this:

Click to view full size!
Old 20th June 2012, 10:04 PM   #3
PCRman

Only just signed up but I think I going to like it here! Funny how there is a PCR thread the day I join up.