Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Storage & Backup

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th June 2012, 8:11 PM   #1
Tazor Thread Starter
Member
 
Tazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Research, 3095
Posts: 1,014
Default Any issues with SanDisk Extreme SSD's?

Just heard from Corsair that they can't replace my SSD as it's actually damaged, so I'm going to get a new one and was looking at a SanDisk Extreme series, just used one in a friend's PC and it performs very well, but I wanted to know if anyone's had any issues or high failure rates?

cheers

Tazor
__________________
My Rig | Fractal Node 304 | i7 4770K | Asus Maximus VI Impact | EVGA GTX 780 ti Classified | Samsung 250Gb SSD | Crucial 960Gb SSD | 16Gb GSkill DDR3 | Corsair H90 w/ Push/Pull Thermalrite X-Silents | Silverstone Strider S 850W w/ short flexi cables |
Tazor is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 2nd July 2012, 6:58 PM   #2
Mickatroid
Member
 
Mickatroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 956
Default

Do you think we can assume that no news is good news? I was wondering the same

Is the SanDisk Extreme SSD Reliable threat at Whirlpool

Firmwares updated reasonably recently too which is a good sign in my book.

This review suggests it is OK

Thinking of a small one for a new shed PC. My old socket A Athlon is on its last legs.
Mickatroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2012, 7:09 PM   #3
EvilGenius
Member
 
EvilGenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: _Rocky Status:_Folding!
Posts: 6,934
Default

Put a 240gb model in my work laptop a few weeks back. Running well so far Doesn't seem to suffer from any of the standbye or hibernation issues I've had with other ssd's either. Will definitely buy another of these.
__________________
i7-870@4.0 | GA-P55A-UD3 | 32GB GsKill Ares PC-14900 | NVS510 | Corsair HX-850 | CMStacker810
Once more unto the breach dear friends, once more
Cry fold for Team24, OCAU and all the world!
WTT - Quadro K2000m for Quadro 2000m
EvilGenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2012, 7:34 PM   #4
M0r4h3us
Member
 
M0r4h3us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Brissie/Gold Coast [4205]
Posts: 694
Default

Hi, I am running 2 .. 120GB & 240GB no issues here ...

they are faster in most aspects compared to my 240GB Vertex 2(e) & my 2x 256GB Patriot Zypher models.

Cheers Alan.

ps. from no ssds two months ago to 5 lol i cant live without them now!
__________________
Regards Alan
Email : awebley@bigpond.net.au
[yoda] Teach those who would learn, I do. Strong in the ways of I.T. am I. [/yoda]
Sex is like Hacking, u get in and u get out and hope u didnt leave something behind that could get traced back to u.
M0r4h3us is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2012, 8:03 PM   #5
Tazor Thread Starter
Member
 
Tazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Research, 3095
Posts: 1,014
Default

I ended up getting two 128gb vertex 4's, their small file reads and writes are higher than any other which is what I need for my uni work. Projects are usually hundreds to thousands of tiny files. This thread may pose useful for other reluctant buyers
__________________
My Rig | Fractal Node 304 | i7 4770K | Asus Maximus VI Impact | EVGA GTX 780 ti Classified | Samsung 250Gb SSD | Crucial 960Gb SSD | 16Gb GSkill DDR3 | Corsair H90 w/ Push/Pull Thermalrite X-Silents | Silverstone Strider S 850W w/ short flexi cables |
Tazor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2012, 8:50 PM   #6
fredaroony
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 65
Default

I have one of the Extreme 240GB and while it works fine it does make a high pitch noise when connected to power. I wanted to have it connected as a external drive the the noise is quite annoying.

Sandisk support has been totally useless...
fredaroony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2012, 9:56 PM   #7
Renza
Member
 
Renza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Adelaide, 5051
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fredaroony View Post
I have one of the Extreme 240GB and while it works fine it does make a high pitch noise when connected to power. I wanted to have it connected as a external drive the the noise is quite annoying.

Sandisk support has been totally useless...
a ssd for an external drive? too much money or something
__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.5ghz | AsRock Z77 Professional | 16gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz | Gigabyte GTX580 | Seasonic X750 | Silverstone TJ07 | Crucial M4 256GB | 2x Dell 2407WFP
Canon 5D Mark II | Canon EF 24-70 f/2.8L | Canon EF 17-40 f/4L | Canon EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 | Canon EX-580II | Manfrotto 190 Pro B
Traded over $22,000 on OCAU! - PM for recent traders
Renza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2012, 9:57 PM   #8
fredaroony
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renza View Post
a ssd for an external drive? too much money or something
Useless post Troll somewhere else champ.

Last edited by fredaroony; 6th July 2012 at 10:02 PM.
fredaroony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2012, 10:16 PM   #9
JonnoHR31
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 143
Default

My 240gb sandisk arrived today, hopefully see how it goes tomorrow
JonnoHR31 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2012, 10:17 PM   #10
fredaroony
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 65
Default

Will be interested to know if you can hear any noise from it.
fredaroony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2012, 10:26 PM   #11
Renza
Member
 
Renza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Adelaide, 5051
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fredaroony View Post
Useless post Troll somewhere else champ.
I'm just curious to know why. Fair enough if you're using it for like video editing on a laptop or something.

Noise may be due to inductors vibrating. you could stop them with a dab of hot glue, but you'd have to open it up...
__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.5ghz | AsRock Z77 Professional | 16gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz | Gigabyte GTX580 | Seasonic X750 | Silverstone TJ07 | Crucial M4 256GB | 2x Dell 2407WFP
Canon 5D Mark II | Canon EF 24-70 f/2.8L | Canon EF 17-40 f/4L | Canon EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 | Canon EX-580II | Manfrotto 190 Pro B
Traded over $22,000 on OCAU! - PM for recent traders
Renza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2012, 10:30 PM   #12
Dass Booty
Member
 
Dass Booty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Logan
Posts: 1,623
Default

Mine makes a fair bit of noise when I wake my PC up. It sounds like.. water moving through thin pipes. Kinda like a fridge (not the motor). It goes away after a while. It doesn't seem to make any other strange sounds.
__________________
Used Vampire Dealership - Calibrate Your LCD Monitor - How to Create an Accurate Forum Poll
Gigabyte P55A-UD4P | Intel Core i5-760 | 4GB RAM | MSI Cyclone OC Radeon HD 6850 1024MB PCI-E
Dass Booty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2012, 10:31 PM   #13
Dass Booty
Member
 
Dass Booty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Logan
Posts: 1,623
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renza View Post
I'm just curious to know why. Fair enough if you're using it for like video editing on a laptop or something.

Noise may be due to inductors vibrating. you could stop them with a dab of hot glue, but you'd have to open it up...
Maybe to reduce the chance of shock damage? Or just 'cause.
__________________
Used Vampire Dealership - Calibrate Your LCD Monitor - How to Create an Accurate Forum Poll
Gigabyte P55A-UD4P | Intel Core i5-760 | 4GB RAM | MSI Cyclone OC Radeon HD 6850 1024MB PCI-E
Dass Booty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2012, 12:55 AM   #14
noober69
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renza View Post
I'm just curious to know why. Fair enough if you're using it for like video editing on a laptop or something..
I have thought about using a ssd as an external as well. If you do not torrent movies linux iso's, then 120gb is more than enough from most of us on an external. It costs around $120 when a 2.5" 500gb is around $80-100.
They are vibration resistant and if you run a laptop, chew less power.
I remember when I had money (earned about a quarter of what I earn now, but no kids, wife or mortgage) and I would have easily spent it on a ssd, and in fact used to spend way more on my classic car.
noober69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2012, 8:01 AM   #15
fredaroony
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dass Booty View Post
Maybe to reduce the chance of shock damage? Or just 'cause.
Exactly, Or just 'cause...my money and I will use it in anyway I feel like it.

Certainly not going to justify it to some anonymous person on a internet forum.
fredaroony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!