Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Other Topics > Photography & Video

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th July 2012, 4:52 PM   #1
mikedunn Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Default Cheap CF card from Ebay (Fake?)

Hi,
Has anyone had experience with this seller on ebay.

SanDisk 32GB Extreme Compact Flash CF Memory Card 600X 90MB/s UDMA6 32G (~$100AUD)

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/SanDisk-3...item2a2053c175

Cheapest staticice is ~$200

Feedback looks good.

Fake?

Thanks
M
mikedunn is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 19th July 2012, 5:01 PM   #2
sickbunny
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: 3805
Posts: 260
Default

it'll be fake..

if its too good to be true.. well you know the rest
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by iphex View Post
Hmmm i must be lost, i thought i was on OCAU, not whirlpool.
sickbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2012, 5:17 PM   #3
negatron
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 930
Default

Don't do it!

else we'll be seeing the post.

"Wedding photos corrupted by bad CF card, Help!"
negatron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2012, 5:23 PM   #4
AFireInside
Member
 
AFireInside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 564
Default

I refuse to buy memory cards from Ebay unless it's a reputable seller, burnt too many times.

Bought a SanDisk extreme pro SD card from a seller who had a separate site/online store, looked reputable enough, had very positive feedback, was cheap but not suspiciously so. Asked him before buying it to confirm it was 100% genuine which he said it was and seemed offended that I'd even question it. Got it and it couldn't have looked more fake, different colours, poor quality sticker, bad speeds too. Confirmed with SanDisk it was indeed fake and got money back no questions asked from PayPal.

Stick with Amazon, B&H, Adorama or one of the sites that advertise their memory specials on ozbargain.
__________________
ll i7 2600K ll Noctua NH-C12P SE2 ll ASUS P8Z77-i Deluxe ll OCZ Vertex 3 MAX IOPS 120GB ll Samsung 840 500GB x2 ll 16GB G.skill Ares 1600Mhz ll eVGA GTX 680 4GB FTW+ ll Silverstone SG08 ll Logitech G700, G710+ and G930 ll Audioengine 5 ll
AFireInside is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2012, 5:26 PM   #5
Azrael
Member
 
Azrael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,953
Default

Probably fake, but the same card was ~$140 without haggling in Singapore from a reputable seller, so perhaps....
__________________
--Azrael
I never saw a wild thing sorry for itself. A small bird will drop frozen dead from a bough without ever having felt sorry for itself. - D.H.Lawrence
The Plebian Period | I'm a Christian... | Photo Gallery | avatar_takai @ Steam | takai on all other forums.
Azrael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2012, 5:28 PM   #6
Deftone2k
Member
 
Deftone2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: North Strathfield, NSW
Posts: 12,634
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AFireInside View Post
I refuse to buy memory cards from Ebay unless it's a reputable seller, burnt too many times.

Bought a SanDisk extreme pro SD card from a seller who had a separate site/online store, looked reputable enough, had very positive feedback, was cheap but not suspiciously so. Asked him before buying it to confirm it was 100% genuine which he said it was and seemed offended that I'd even question it. Got it and it couldn't have looked more fake, different colours, poor quality sticker, bad speeds too. Confirmed with SanDisk it was indeed fake and got money back no questions asked from PayPal.

Stick with Amazon, B&H, Adorama or one of the sites that advertise their memory specials on ozbargain.
Indeed!

More to the point, if you need those speeds you must have the gear to utilize it.. so why have expensive gear and go cheapen out on things that will slow it down?

Many of those listed sites above do twin packs or have sales all the time.

I recently got a twin pack of 32gb 400x Lexar Pro CF's for $140 USD. Bam
Deftone2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2012, 5:33 PM   #7
mikedunn Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Default

Yeah, normally I am skeptical, but if you look at his feedback quite a few satisfied for the same card. hmm..

Azrael - where was your singapore $140?
mikedunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2012, 5:49 PM   #8
Azrael
Member
 
Azrael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,953
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikedunn View Post
Yeah, normally I am skeptical, but if you look at his feedback quite a few satisfied for the same card. hmm..

Azrael - where was your singapore $140?
SLR Revolution in Funan plaza. I bought a 8gb Extreme from TK Foto for AU$35 too, no signs of it being fake.

On the other hand last time i was here i grabbed an 8gb Ultra from a place in Sim Lim and when i started having issues i sent it to Sandisk who said it was the best fake they seen in ages. The only thing that didn't gel was the serial number.
__________________
--Azrael
I never saw a wild thing sorry for itself. A small bird will drop frozen dead from a bough without ever having felt sorry for itself. - D.H.Lawrence
The Plebian Period | I'm a Christian... | Photo Gallery | avatar_takai @ Steam | takai on all other forums.
Azrael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2012, 7:59 AM   #9
fuller2002
Member
 
fuller2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NSW, Sydney
Posts: 1,493
Default

Just bought 3 SD cards from this guy, great price, Australian seller with 100% feedback, came in original boxes unopened 100% genuine

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/221014017...ht_1160wt_1163

http://myworld.ebay.com.au/digital_m...id=p4340.l2559

He has sold over 300 of them maybe take a look at his prices, they seemed to be the best I could find
__________________
BF3
Trades with:petal666, Mark_Webber, Kasper_lee, renegade_gold, Keef, doghouse, kevo, MoeBro, vivibeatz, smiddi, neogeo, nxsr20, Fortigurn, vrm, myeewyee, ~Spyne~, junga83, petesh00, Souljah, theartfuldodger
fuller2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2012, 10:46 AM   #10
spotted
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 248
Default

sandisk are the most faked cards on ebay
you can never know if it's fake even when you get it, there are variations in packaging
but can you live with not being sure if your card will fail suddenly?
spotted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2012, 11:33 AM   #11
fuller2002
Member
 
fuller2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NSW, Sydney
Posts: 1,493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spotted View Post
sandisk are the most faked cards on ebay
you can never know if it's fake even when you get it, there are variations in packaging
but can you live with not being sure if your card will fail suddenly?
Im going to assume with over 6500 feedback at 100% and over 300 sold of that particular card not to mention the other sizes, variants in speed, brands etc that he sells, and the fact he is an Australia seller all weigh in the favor of it being not a fake.

The internet is not as scary as some people think

In the original box with the paper voucher CD Key for a digital download of Sandisks recovery software from their website, they are not fakes. BH Photo sels them for $22.95 not like its a 50% saving like the one mentioned by the OP
__________________
BF3
Trades with:petal666, Mark_Webber, Kasper_lee, renegade_gold, Keef, doghouse, kevo, MoeBro, vivibeatz, smiddi, neogeo, nxsr20, Fortigurn, vrm, myeewyee, ~Spyne~, junga83, petesh00, Souljah, theartfuldodger

Last edited by fuller2002; 20th July 2012 at 11:39 AM.
fuller2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 3:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!