Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Other Topics > Mobile Phones & Devices

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th January 2013, 11:07 AM   #1
Stooge007 Thread Starter
Member
 
Stooge007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Shire, Sydney
Posts: 7,067
Default Clash of Clans thread

this is the thread for all things Clash of Clans

questions, comments, clan advertising etc.

i'm only new to the game, so could benefit from tips/tricks from some of the others

cheers
__________________
Over 150 successful trades, most recent: Elfanger, peteed1985, alexis, onbail, xsphera, OAG, Duff Man, skiitz, byson, Cestevenson, ShaunDXB, Piroteknik, myf360f1, Thraxeh, austin nguyen, QLDguy1, cooleagles, Temp16, Haillion, nordica-k2, Barra-oz, austin nguyen, MAXKNOTT, LG456, junkie13, Reveng3, sunjet, 2red, jbomb, OnGsTa, k1ll3r, DEMONDOCTOR, dabell, bumthology, Zee, JWM, ricey236, Defyant, Macross, freshwat3r, zzyss, r3s, Henry, Loadingdread, frenzal, Shaker, lonewolf77, raikay
Stooge007 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 16th January 2013, 4:37 PM   #2
lawltank
Member
 
lawltank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 393
Default

I'm level 19 and just rebuilt my clan castle! Anyone interested in a dedicated OCAU clan?!
lawltank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2013, 10:06 PM   #3
Stooge007 Thread Starter
Member
 
Stooge007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Shire, Sydney
Posts: 7,067
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawltank View Post
I'm level 19 and just rebuilt my clan castle! Anyone interested in a dedicated OCAU clan?!
i'm level 15, and a while away from rebuilding my clan castle

still have to:

- build a (meth) lab
- upgrade mortar to lvl 2
- upgrade camps to lvl 3
- upgrade barracks to lvl 6
etc. etc.

takes sooooo long!

will post another pic of my map tomorrow
__________________
Over 150 successful trades, most recent: Elfanger, peteed1985, alexis, onbail, xsphera, OAG, Duff Man, skiitz, byson, Cestevenson, ShaunDXB, Piroteknik, myf360f1, Thraxeh, austin nguyen, QLDguy1, cooleagles, Temp16, Haillion, nordica-k2, Barra-oz, austin nguyen, MAXKNOTT, LG456, junkie13, Reveng3, sunjet, 2red, jbomb, OnGsTa, k1ll3r, DEMONDOCTOR, dabell, bumthology, Zee, JWM, ricey236, Defyant, Macross, freshwat3r, zzyss, r3s, Henry, Loadingdread, frenzal, Shaker, lonewolf77, raikay
Stooge007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2013, 12:02 AM   #4
lawltank
Member
 
lawltank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 393
Default

Here's mine:



I just got raped by a level 24. They used 10x Giants, 1x Archer and 19x Barbs. All of them had level 2 upgrades. Lost around 5k of gold and elixir..doesn't seem like a profit there if you ask me haha.
lawltank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2013, 8:54 AM   #5
Stooge007 Thread Starter
Member
 
Stooge007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Shire, Sydney
Posts: 7,067
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stooge007 View Post
i'm level 15, and a while away from rebuilding my clan castle

still have to:

- build a (meth) lab
- upgrade mortar to lvl 2
- upgrade camps to lvl 3
- upgrade barracks to lvl 6
etc. etc.

takes sooooo long!

will post another pic of my map tomorrow
played a bit yday

- town hall finally upgraded to lvl 4
- built a lab
- rebuilt clan castle
- built extra elixir/gold extractors/storage

still not happy with my map. got wailed on by a Lvl 20 with a few giants

i find it's sometimes quicker to attack people for gold/elixir than mine it. just go in with 5-10 goblins, and find a village that has relatively unprotected storage. you can usually get 2-3k with 5-10 goblins pretty easily. takes some time though.

also, in what order should i do my defense upgrades? cannon -> archer -> mortar? i have 2 x cannon - lvl 4, 2 x archer - lvl 3+4, 1 x mortar - lvl 1


Click to view full size!
__________________
Over 150 successful trades, most recent: Elfanger, peteed1985, alexis, onbail, xsphera, OAG, Duff Man, skiitz, byson, Cestevenson, ShaunDXB, Piroteknik, myf360f1, Thraxeh, austin nguyen, QLDguy1, cooleagles, Temp16, Haillion, nordica-k2, Barra-oz, austin nguyen, MAXKNOTT, LG456, junkie13, Reveng3, sunjet, 2red, jbomb, OnGsTa, k1ll3r, DEMONDOCTOR, dabell, bumthology, Zee, JWM, ricey236, Defyant, Macross, freshwat3r, zzyss, r3s, Henry, Loadingdread, frenzal, Shaker, lonewolf77, raikay
Stooge007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2013, 9:02 AM   #6
Slavetonet
Member
 
Slavetonet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 1,791
Default

Hello OCAU - clash of clans addict.
Be warn you will be addicted to this game. "full stop"!

A tip for the people starting out.
When your shield is up, spend time building your weapon, ie. cannon, archer tower, mortar and wizard tower and so on..

When your shield has run out, spend time building your resources, elixir, gold storage first, secondary are the both types of mines.

To advance as quick as possilble, don't worry about trying to beat the single player (raid the goblin), just go straight for the multi-player gaming.
Forget about raiding their whole town, just go for the max. resources raid.
Using the raid to forterfy your walls.

Enjoy this game. Awesomeness.
__________________
LIFE IS TOO SHORT!
GO ALL OUT ON EVERYTHING YOU DO!
Slavetonet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2013, 5:12 PM   #7
lawltank
Member
 
lawltank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 393
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stooge007 View Post
also, in what order should i do my defense upgrades? cannon -> archer -> mortar? i have 2 x cannon - lvl 4, 2 x archer - lvl 3+4, 1 x mortar - lvl 1
Just level them whenever you can. At the level we are at, enemies usually do not have flying just yet so it doesn't really matter. Maybe later on most people focus on anti-air stuff but I've no idea.
lawltank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2013, 8:53 AM   #8
Stooge007 Thread Starter
Member
 
Stooge007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Shire, Sydney
Posts: 7,067
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slavetonet View Post
Hello OCAU - clash of clans addict.
Be warn you will be addicted to this game. "full stop"!

A tip for the people starting out.
When your shield is up, spend time building your weapon, ie. cannon, archer tower, mortar and wizard tower and so on..

When your shield has run out, spend time building your resources, elixir, gold storage first, secondary are the both types of mines.

To advance as quick as possilble, don't worry about trying to beat the single player (raid the goblin), just go straight for the multi-player gaming.
Forget about raiding their whole town, just go for the max. resources raid.
Using the raid to forterfy your walls.

Enjoy this game. Awesomeness.
this is good advice

wish i had seen this before i started

stupid me went and attacked someone multiplayer within the first few hours, not realising i had a 3 day shield!

you need just enough trophies to be able to attack higher level players with lots of gold/elixir, and then you let your goblins loose

it's surprising how unguarded some people leave their gold/elixir storage, yet have army camps within walls???

who wants to set up an OCAU clan?
__________________
Over 150 successful trades, most recent: Elfanger, peteed1985, alexis, onbail, xsphera, OAG, Duff Man, skiitz, byson, Cestevenson, ShaunDXB, Piroteknik, myf360f1, Thraxeh, austin nguyen, QLDguy1, cooleagles, Temp16, Haillion, nordica-k2, Barra-oz, austin nguyen, MAXKNOTT, LG456, junkie13, Reveng3, sunjet, 2red, jbomb, OnGsTa, k1ll3r, DEMONDOCTOR, dabell, bumthology, Zee, JWM, ricey236, Defyant, Macross, freshwat3r, zzyss, r3s, Henry, Loadingdread, frenzal, Shaker, lonewolf77, raikay
Stooge007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2013, 4:24 PM   #9
Dark Passenger
Member
 
Dark Passenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: I'm not telling
Posts: 956
Default

i have been playing this for a while and i think i am hooked very enjoyable. When i get a chance im level 26 at the moment with level 5 town hall. Im just upgrading everything to max before i upgrade the town hall again. I wouldnt mind figuring out how to reset my clan as im not happy with the way i went about building everything.
__________________
From the eyes of iOS see my android journey here
Dark Passenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2013, 9:24 PM   #10
Ravennoir
Member
 
Ravennoir's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,571
Default

I've just started this, I'm up to lvl 10

Would love a OCAU clan

Quick question, do the guys defend if you have them standing around?
__________________
i7 970 - Gigabyte X58A UD3R - 12Gb GSkill 1333 - 240Gb SSD - 2x GTX 280 - H50 - Logitech G19
Logitech G9x - Silverstone TJ11 - Silverstone 850W - Dell U2410 - Win 8 Pro (64bit)

PSN ID : Ravennoir / BattleTag : Ravennoir#1705
I'll take crazy over stupid any day

Last edited by Ravennoir; 23rd January 2013 at 9:48 PM.
Ravennoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2013, 10:28 PM   #11
Stooge007 Thread Starter
Member
 
Stooge007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Shire, Sydney
Posts: 7,067
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Passenger View Post
I wouldnt mind figuring out how to reset my clan as im not happy with the way i went about building everything.
you can't reset (well you can, but it's a lot of f'ing around)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravennoir View Post
I've just started this, I'm up to lvl 10

Would love a OCAU clan

Quick question, do the guys defend if you have them standing around?
no, the guys in your army camps don't defend during an attack

once you rebuild your clan castle though, your clan members can donate troops to you, that will spring out and attack during a raid (or you can use them on an offensive raid)

this game is very addictive!

i'll post up another pic of my clan in the morning

EDIT - pic below

- town hall being upgraded to level 6
- wizard tower being upgraded to level 2
- gobins being upgraded to level 3
- have L3 barbarians, L2 archers, giants, wall breakers, L1 balloons and wizard

don't seem to get attacked that much, and usually my defence wins

i normally have a lot of gold/elixir on hand though, and sometimes i get goblin raided


Click to view full size!
__________________
Over 150 successful trades, most recent: Elfanger, peteed1985, alexis, onbail, xsphera, OAG, Duff Man, skiitz, byson, Cestevenson, ShaunDXB, Piroteknik, myf360f1, Thraxeh, austin nguyen, QLDguy1, cooleagles, Temp16, Haillion, nordica-k2, Barra-oz, austin nguyen, MAXKNOTT, LG456, junkie13, Reveng3, sunjet, 2red, jbomb, OnGsTa, k1ll3r, DEMONDOCTOR, dabell, bumthology, Zee, JWM, ricey236, Defyant, Macross, freshwat3r, zzyss, r3s, Henry, Loadingdread, frenzal, Shaker, lonewolf77, raikay

Last edited by Stooge007; 24th January 2013 at 9:45 AM.
Stooge007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2013, 11:51 AM   #12
Dark Passenger
Member
 
Dark Passenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: I'm not telling
Posts: 956
Default

stooge do you know how to reset as i would love to start again. Would you have a link or something for me.
__________________
From the eyes of iOS see my android journey here
Dark Passenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2013, 12:29 PM   #13
Stooge007 Thread Starter
Member
 
Stooge007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Shire, Sydney
Posts: 7,067
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Passenger View Post
stooge do you know how to reset as i would love to start again. Would you have a link or something for me.
OK, I screwed up. Can I reset?

Yes, but it is not easy. I also don't recommend restarting, even if you broke every one of the things listed above. To reset do this:

■ Plug your iDevice into your computer and back up via iTunes
■ Factory reset your iDevice with iTunes
■ Restore via backup (5-15 min process)
■ Create a new Game Center ID if you had been using one before while playing Clash of Clans and log into it. If you don't have a Game Center account, skip this step.
■ Redownload and launch Clash of Clans

You can also play your village on several devices at the same time. Simply log in with your same Game Center Account on the new device and launch Clash Of Clans.

http://clashofclans.wikia.com/wiki/F...Can_I_reset.3F
__________________
Over 150 successful trades, most recent: Elfanger, peteed1985, alexis, onbail, xsphera, OAG, Duff Man, skiitz, byson, Cestevenson, ShaunDXB, Piroteknik, myf360f1, Thraxeh, austin nguyen, QLDguy1, cooleagles, Temp16, Haillion, nordica-k2, Barra-oz, austin nguyen, MAXKNOTT, LG456, junkie13, Reveng3, sunjet, 2red, jbomb, OnGsTa, k1ll3r, DEMONDOCTOR, dabell, bumthology, Zee, JWM, ricey236, Defyant, Macross, freshwat3r, zzyss, r3s, Henry, Loadingdread, frenzal, Shaker, lonewolf77, raikay
Stooge007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2013, 12:39 PM   #14
Dark Passenger
Member
 
Dark Passenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: I'm not telling
Posts: 956
Default

i might try this tonight i dont want to try this at work :P
__________________
From the eyes of iOS see my android journey here
Dark Passenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2013, 2:16 PM   #15
Stooge007 Thread Starter
Member
 
Stooge007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Shire, Sydney
Posts: 7,067
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Passenger View Post
i might try this tonight i dont want to try this at work :P
why do you want to reset?

i thought i wanted to reset too, but just played through it and am now relatively happy with where i'm at
__________________
Over 150 successful trades, most recent: Elfanger, peteed1985, alexis, onbail, xsphera, OAG, Duff Man, skiitz, byson, Cestevenson, ShaunDXB, Piroteknik, myf360f1, Thraxeh, austin nguyen, QLDguy1, cooleagles, Temp16, Haillion, nordica-k2, Barra-oz, austin nguyen, MAXKNOTT, LG456, junkie13, Reveng3, sunjet, 2red, jbomb, OnGsTa, k1ll3r, DEMONDOCTOR, dabell, bumthology, Zee, JWM, ricey236, Defyant, Macross, freshwat3r, zzyss, r3s, Henry, Loadingdread, frenzal, Shaker, lonewolf77, raikay
Stooge007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 3:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!