Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Electronics & Electrics

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 31st January 2013, 7:27 PM   #1
O()O Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Default Mystery Part - "7TT 3.6MG" - from remote control

Have Google searched 7TT 3.6MG - - - CORRECTION > ZTT 3.6MG
but could not find what this is.

It is from a media player remote control which I need to replace this part
because it is broken off.

It looks like it has 3 pins, 1 in the middle is broken off.

Anyone know this part ?


Last edited by O()O; 1st February 2013 at 9:50 AM.
O()O is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 31st January 2013, 7:29 PM   #2
BeanerSA
Member
 
BeanerSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gateway to the Barossa
Posts: 3,546
Default

It's a resonator. Will be back with link.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madengineer View Post
If you follow the rules and use your brains. Everything works out.
BeanerSA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2013, 7:35 PM   #3
O()O Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Default

CORRECTION - it is - ZTT 3.6MG.

The photo flash blocked out the bottom of the Z.

I assumed it was a 7.

I just shone a LED torch on it and I can now see it is a Z.

When I first tried to look at it a few days ago the writing was so small
I had trouble reading it.
O()O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2013, 7:37 PM   #4
2xCPU
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: melb
Posts: 2,796
Default

There is only one common part that fits the description, but first I want to know how this component came to be broken off?

2.
__________________
If "building a computer" doesn't involve powertools, you're just assembling spare parts.
----
The universe is made up of atoms and empty space, the rest is mere opinion. Democritus, 400 BC.
2xCPU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2013, 7:44 PM   #5
BeanerSA
Member
 
BeanerSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gateway to the Barossa
Posts: 3,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2xCPU View Post
There is only one common part that fits the description, but first I want to know how this component came to be broken off?

2.
Probably just got dropped. I couldn't find 3.64 in a leaded package. I found that people had had success with 3.68, if you can find one.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madengineer View Post
If you follow the rules and use your brains. Everything works out.
BeanerSA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2013, 7:47 PM   #6
2xCPU
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: melb
Posts: 2,796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeanerSA View Post
I couldn't find 3.64 in a leaded package.
Closest I can find is 3.58

2.
__________________
If "building a computer" doesn't involve powertools, you're just assembling spare parts.
----
The universe is made up of atoms and empty space, the rest is mere opinion. Democritus, 400 BC.
2xCPU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2013, 7:50 PM   #7
BeanerSA
Member
 
BeanerSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gateway to the Barossa
Posts: 3,546
Default

3.64 does seem to be an unusual value, I couldn't even find a metal can xtal in that f. I thought as a last resort he could solder a couple of caps to the legs.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madengineer View Post
If you follow the rules and use your brains. Everything works out.
BeanerSA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2013, 7:55 PM   #8
Technics
Member
 
Technics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 604
Default

X-ON have them but you'll get killed on postage.

http://www.x-on.com.au/InventoryDeta...id=1078436&s=1

Edit: 3.58 would probably work. They aren't super accurate anyway.
__________________
Disclaimer: Any statements made in this post that are not based on historical fact are forward-looking statements. Any forward-looking statements made in this post represent Technics's best judgment as to what may occur in the future. However, the actual outcome and results are not guaranteed and are subject to certain risks, uncertainties and assumptions (“Future Factors”), and may differ materially from what is expressed.

Last edited by Technics; 31st January 2013 at 7:58 PM.
Technics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2013, 8:03 PM   #9
BeanerSA
Member
 
BeanerSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gateway to the Barossa
Posts: 3,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technics View Post
X-ON have them but you'll get killed on postage.

http://www.x-on.com.au/InventoryDeta...id=1078436&s=1

Edit: 3.58 would probably work. They aren't super accurate anyway.
Wow. 70c for the part, $15 for shipping.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madengineer View Post
If you follow the rules and use your brains. Everything works out.
BeanerSA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2013, 9:51 PM   #10
Bravs
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cranbourne, VIC
Posts: 205
Default

How about this one?

http://www.digikey.com/product-detai...1017-ND/813104

I can add this in for you through work. Might get it by next week, save you from postage.
Bravs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2013, 10:01 PM   #11
O()O Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the leads on identifying the part.

I will try Alltronics, which are not too far from me.

It came off because it could not handle the G-forces.

It is from the Xtreamer Mk 1 and Xtreamer Sidewinder media player.
Worst remote I have ever used.
Too many freeze's.
Have had it for about 2 years now, then I eventually !had it! with it.

The contacts of a capacitor on the board
have been known to break over time if dropped a few times.
It had, so I fixed that, but was checking this blue resonator.

Anyway if none of this works I have the codes copied to
better backlit universal remotes.

I just wanted to try and fix it.
O()O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2013, 10:35 PM   #12
2xCPU
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: melb
Posts: 2,796
Default

RS and e14/farnell both list several, but all SMT package.

Pulling one out of a unwanted remote may be the easiest place to find one.
Quote:
then I eventually !had it! with it.
hehe - I thought it must be something like that.
I've got a PVR that may go the same way!

2.
__________________
If "building a computer" doesn't involve powertools, you're just assembling spare parts.
----
The universe is made up of atoms and empty space, the rest is mere opinion. Democritus, 400 BC.

Last edited by 2xCPU; 31st January 2013 at 10:38 PM.
2xCPU is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 8:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!