Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > PC Audio

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21st February 2013, 4:29 PM   #1
xok Thread Starter
Member
 
xok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: 4069
Posts: 603
Default New cable for Q701

Hey all,

I need a shorter cable for my Q701. Sick of it being like 3 metres long.

Does anyone know of the best way to procure a cable that's probably 2 feet long?
__________________
i5 3570k :: 16gb DDR3 :: Gigabyte 670 :: h80i :: Creative ZXR :: x760 :: 60gb OCZ Sandisk 240gb Extreme :: 6tb storage :: FT03 :: s271950d @ 120hz :: u2412m @ Portrait :: KBT pure w/blacks:: Corsair M60 :: Razer Ironclad :: Microlab Solo 6c
xok is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 21st February 2013, 4:36 PM   #2
Suopermanni
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 296
Default

Have you tried Addicted to Audio or perhaps asked Benno? He gave me contact details to someone who runs a place that specialises in high end cables that could go for the length you want.
__________________
i5 4670K @ stock/ Asrock Z87 Fatality/16GB GSkill Trident 2400mhz/Gigabyte GTX 670 SLI/Corsair AX 850/2TB WD Black/Crucial M4 256GB/3TB WD ???/Pioneer Blu-Ray Drive/Random DVD RAM Drive/
Suopermanni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2013, 4:38 PM   #3
xok Thread Starter
Member
 
xok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: 4069
Posts: 603
Default

I havn't - I found a place in america that'll do it to length but i was wondering if anyone knew of anywhere else :P

I'll check out addicted to audio, hopefully they have something that may work

edit: jesus christ - they're like $140 for what i'm after. I was just after something a bit shorter, not necessarily that expensive though
__________________
i5 3570k :: 16gb DDR3 :: Gigabyte 670 :: h80i :: Creative ZXR :: x760 :: 60gb OCZ Sandisk 240gb Extreme :: 6tb storage :: FT03 :: s271950d @ 120hz :: u2412m @ Portrait :: KBT pure w/blacks:: Corsair M60 :: Razer Ironclad :: Microlab Solo 6c

Last edited by xok; 21st February 2013 at 4:42 PM.
xok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2013, 5:33 PM   #4
Dingostolemyghz
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 557
Default

Cut the stock cable, solder on a new plug. You probably know someone with a soldering iron, if not someone on here might help.
Dingostolemyghz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2013, 7:17 PM   #5
xok Thread Starter
Member
 
xok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: 4069
Posts: 603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dingostolemyghz View Post
Cut the stock cable, solder on a new plug. You probably know someone with a soldering iron, if not someone on here might help.
Yeah, I can solder but was hoping that there was a pre-made version already available
__________________
i5 3570k :: 16gb DDR3 :: Gigabyte 670 :: h80i :: Creative ZXR :: x760 :: 60gb OCZ Sandisk 240gb Extreme :: 6tb storage :: FT03 :: s271950d @ 120hz :: u2412m @ Portrait :: KBT pure w/blacks:: Corsair M60 :: Razer Ironclad :: Microlab Solo 6c
xok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2013, 8:03 PM   #6
Dingostolemyghz
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 557
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xok View Post
Yeah, I can solder but was hoping that there was a pre-made version already available
probably not with out a ridiculous price tag to match all the snake oil you get with it

if you don't wanna cut any of your stock cables, you can build the whole thing from scratch. The plug at the headphones end is just a mini-xlr, so not overly hard to get hold of.
Dingostolemyghz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2013, 8:42 PM   #7
Stonerboy779
Member
 
Stonerboy779's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 197
Default

This is what I did with my Q701 cables now 1 and 2m long instead of 3 and 6m

Stonerboy779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2013, 9:11 PM   #8
xok Thread Starter
Member
 
xok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: 4069
Posts: 603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stonerboy779 View Post
This is what I did with my Q701 cables now 1 and 2m long instead of 3 and 6m

image
that can't be good for the cable!
__________________
i5 3570k :: 16gb DDR3 :: Gigabyte 670 :: h80i :: Creative ZXR :: x760 :: 60gb OCZ Sandisk 240gb Extreme :: 6tb storage :: FT03 :: s271950d @ 120hz :: u2412m @ Portrait :: KBT pure w/blacks:: Corsair M60 :: Razer Ironclad :: Microlab Solo 6c
xok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2013, 9:18 PM   #9
Suopermanni
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 296
Default

Hey Stonerboy, how did you manage to do that to the cable?
__________________
i5 4670K @ stock/ Asrock Z87 Fatality/16GB GSkill Trident 2400mhz/Gigabyte GTX 670 SLI/Corsair AX 850/2TB WD Black/Crucial M4 256GB/3TB WD ???/Pioneer Blu-Ray Drive/Random DVD RAM Drive/
Suopermanni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2013, 10:14 PM   #10
lithos
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6,066
Default

I could probably do one up for you.

Don't expect voodooistic bullshit hand-forged 24k gold connectors or anything, though. Just standard-issue figure-eight OFC.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GooSE View Post
Congratulations, OP, you've discovered stereotypes and hyperbole. These two things have been used for centuries by imbeciles and morons.
lithos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2013, 10:31 PM   #11
xok Thread Starter
Member
 
xok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: 4069
Posts: 603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lithos View Post
I could probably do one up for you.

Don't expect voodooistic bullshit hand-forged 24k gold connectors or anything, though. Just standard-issue figure-eight OFC.
I appreciate the offer, I really do - but if it ends up that a new cable needs to be soldered i'd rather be the one to do it :P

I'm pretty decent at soldering stuff, it's just I wanted to check that there may exist a place where you can buy spare cables - like ebay or something.

Gold plated, pfft.
__________________
i5 3570k :: 16gb DDR3 :: Gigabyte 670 :: h80i :: Creative ZXR :: x760 :: 60gb OCZ Sandisk 240gb Extreme :: 6tb storage :: FT03 :: s271950d @ 120hz :: u2412m @ Portrait :: KBT pure w/blacks:: Corsair M60 :: Razer Ironclad :: Microlab Solo 6c
xok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2013, 11:20 PM   #12
Stonerboy779
Member
 
Stonerboy779's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xok View Post
that can't be good for the cable!
The cable has quite a bit of give in it but naturally the first time I did it I uses a much looser braid and then with the second cable that I never used tried a tight braid. Its been running like this for a few months now no issues.

At the time I did it I also a/b tested with the braided cord and the straight cord for differences in audio quality and to my ears and playing lots of different music I could not hear a single ounce of difference.

As for doing it yourself there is a nice little guide here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rt-m6C5-T0M
Stonerboy779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 7:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!