Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > Windows Operating Systems

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20th August 2015, 3:19 AM   #1
Mistikal Thread Starter
Member
 
Mistikal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Forgotten West
Posts: 2,364
Default So who still uses it? and why?

Sold a PC package today (second hand), AMD box from about 2005/2006. The guy who bought it specifically requested WinXP as the vinyl cutting printer he uses is not supported on anything newer - figured that was a decent reason.

So why do you (or someone you know) still use Win XP?
__________________
Main PC: i5 3750K, GA-Z77-D3H, 256GB SSD, 2x 3TB @ RAID1, 32GB DDR3 1600, GB GTX970 4GB, Win 7 HP.
My Junker: HP ProBook 5320M, i5 450M, 840 Evo 120GB SSD, 4GB DDR3 1333, 13.3" LED, Win 7 HP.
Car #1: 04 VY Calais LS1 - 310rwhp, AP brakes, HSV 19s - cruiser! || Car #2: 95 K11 Micra Super S - paint job, engine swap, big stez - daily!
Mistikal is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 20th August 2015, 11:08 AM   #2
looktall
Working Class Hero
 
looktall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: brabham.wa.au
Posts: 23,149
Default

we still use them at work for operating instruments that can't run on anything newer.
looktall is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2015, 11:10 AM   #3
mr626
Member
 
mr626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,642
Default

Am building a 'retro' PC of sorts, specifically for games from the early 2000s. XP is the best OS for this.
mr626 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2015, 11:10 AM   #4
RyoSaeba
Member
 
RyoSaeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 11,418
Default

Same. Legacy software. Would cost too much to update them. And there's no real reason to anyway since they do what they're supposed to.
RyoSaeba is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2015, 11:15 AM   #5
Havabigjuan
Member
 
Havabigjuan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Surrey Downs
Posts: 1,370
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by looktall View Post
we still use them at work for operating instruments that can't run on anything newer.
same....I have some protection relay software that still needs it so I just keep an old Dell with XP on it....reminds me must make some back ups
__________________
Skilled labour isn't cheap......Cheap labour isn't skilled
If you build it, Nerds will come
Havabigjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2015, 11:46 AM   #6
broccoli
Member
 
broccoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 15,946
Default

Because it does what I want to do. If it ain't broke, there's no reason to "fix" it.

(Edit: oh, and there's also things that the "newer and better" have taken away)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
People are idiots.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sankari View Post
I expected this to be bad, but they really put the effort in and took it to a whole new level of atrocious.
broccoli is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2015, 11:56 AM   #7
looktall
Working Class Hero
 
looktall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: brabham.wa.au
Posts: 23,149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by broccoli View Post
(Edit: oh, and there's also things that the "newer and better" have taken away)
things such as?
looktall is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2015, 11:58 AM   #8
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 125,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistikal View Post
So why do you (or someone you know) still use Win XP?
At this point I don't know anyone who uses it.....everyone I know has gone to at least windows 7 and enjoying the experience.
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2015, 12:04 PM   #9
broccoli
Member
 
broccoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 15,946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by looktall View Post
things such as?
On my "old" computer with ati graphics card, there's a "thing" that converts video files to different formats which is really quick and easy. Then ATI got taken over by amd and they took it away. Win7 has where you can convert things if you attach a device, but you can't just do what you want to because you want to. I find that irritating.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
People are idiots.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sankari View Post
I expected this to be bad, but they really put the effort in and took it to a whole new level of atrocious.
broccoli is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2015, 12:46 PM   #10
Ck21
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SA
Posts: 568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by broccoli View Post
On my "old" computer with ati graphics card, there's a "thing" that converts video files to different formats which is really quick and easy. Then ATI got taken over by amd and they took it away. Win7 has where you can convert things if you attach a device, but you can't just do what you want to because you want to. I find that irritating.
its still there, but only shows up under certain circumstances, mainly AMD cpu + AMD/ATI video card, and basic view + its hidden in a basic wizzard style interface.

You can get it to show on intel pc's if you play with the config files, as well as force it to show more options (I had it working awhile back on a Radeon 5670 and 6670, i think the last time i used it was on catalyst 10.9 just before 11.0 realesed)
__________________
My beastly Watercooled PC:
Intel e5 2640 v4 (Broadwell-E)
32GB DDR4 ECC RAM
Geforce GTX1070 8GB
Ck21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2015, 12:53 PM   #11
Smokin Whale
Member
 
Smokin Whale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pacific Ocean off SC
Posts: 5,166
Default

Legacy applications and hardware ONLY. Shouldn't be used for anything else.

Edit:

Quote:
Originally Posted by broccoli View Post
On my "old" computer with ati graphics card, there's a "thing" that converts video files to different formats which is really quick and easy. Then ATI got taken over by amd and they took it away. Win7 has where you can convert things if you attach a device, but you can't just do what you want to because you want to. I find that irritating.
Wait, what? Seriously?



I kind of expect someone with 11k posts on this forum to know better.
__________________
New RIG!
AMD Athlon64 x2 4400+ S939 (stock), Gigabyte K8N-SLI, 4GB DDR1 RAM, ATI X1550 256mb + X300 128MB, 24GB SSD, Triple 17" 1280x1024 monitors, Linux Mint MATE 18.1 64bit

Last edited by Smokin Whale; 20th August 2015 at 2:15 PM.
Smokin Whale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2015, 12:55 PM   #12
NSanity
Member
 
NSanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 16,017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistikal View Post
Sold a PC package today (second hand), AMD box from about 2005/2006. The guy who bought it specifically requested WinXP as the vinyl cutting printer he uses is not supported on anything newer - figured that was a decent reason.

So why do you (or someone you know) still use Win XP?
Quote:
Originally Posted by looktall View Post
we still use them at work for operating instruments that can't run on anything newer.
This is pretty much the reason i see it around now.

Because 5, 6 or 7 figure machines are hanging off it, and replacing them is not an option.

Then again, all of these machines are isolated from the internets and largely from usb keys etc.

Fuck, most of them still have floppy drives - and use them.
NSanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2015, 1:08 PM   #13
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 125,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smokin Whale View Post
Legacy applications and hardware ONLY. Shouldn't be used for anything else.
And for that reason I'll always keep a copy handy, just in case.
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2015, 1:20 PM   #14
broccoli
Member
 
broccoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 15,946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ck21 View Post
its still there, but only shows up under certain circumstances,
Sure, but the point remains - my old, "obsolete" computer does stuff out of the box that my newer "better" computer requires a shit-ton of pfaffing around to do.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
People are idiots.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sankari View Post
I expected this to be bad, but they really put the effort in and took it to a whole new level of atrocious.
broccoli is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2015, 1:38 PM   #15
mshagg
Politburo
 
mshagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 23,088
Default

Ive got a build kicking around on one of my drives. - good for a few hundred physics points in 3Dmark.
mshagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 3:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!