Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th September 2016, 10:28 PM   #1
nimmers Thread Starter
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 894
Default Scanline thread

I've picked up a few Sony PVM's over the last few months and have been doing some retro gaming.

Picked up a 1 chip Japanese Super Famicom and built a groovymame box.

So far Ive finished:
Shadowrun (SNES)
Crono Trigger (SNES)
Super Mario World
Shadow of the Colossus (PS2)
And played heaps of SF2: Hyper Fighting and DoDonPachi in groovymame


Click to view full size!


Click to view full size!


Anyone else out there hooking up old consoles to CRT monitors via RGB?
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 14th September 2016, 8:24 AM   #2
DonutKing
Member
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tweed/Gold Coast
Posts: 995
Default

I already posted in the retro activity/acquisitions threads, but I recently scored a Teac 68CM CRT TV with RGB SCART and S-VHS inputs.
I got it home and it had a pincushion problem - the sides were collapsed inwards in the middle, while the upper and lower parts were stretched outwards.

Turned out to be a dead bipolar electrolytic cap in the horizontal deflection circuit, so once that was replaced everything came good.

I've picked up RGB SCART leads for my Master System, SNES, Megadrive, N64 and PSX and have been enjoying heaps of retro gaming lately. The images really do look sharp and clear, and colours are very vibrant.
So far I've been playing - Sonic, Wonder Boy: Dragons Trap on SMS
Super Mario World, Seiken Densetsu 3, Final Fantasy 2 on SNES
Sonic 1 and 2 on Mega Drive.
DonutKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2016, 8:56 PM   #3
nimmers Thread Starter
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 894
Default

Awesome! Next on my list is Castlevania SOTN on PS1, just waiting for my RGB cable to arrive.
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2016, 6:05 AM   #4
Grant
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by partybear View Post
They just make the image look weird and dark
That's the point though, the color output of 8-16-bit consoles was tuned to take that into account. So a lot of people load up an emulator and think it's okay, but what they'd seeing is too bright compared what it should be. Then they turn on scanline generation and the game suddenly just looks "right" and now you can't live without them.

Scanlines also help reduce the blockiness of the large pixels of those kinds of games, then there's the other qualities of CRTs that are different to LCDs...
Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2016, 9:17 AM   #5
Urbansprawl
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 529
Default

I've gone the other way to get to console scanlines due to space constraints at my place. Per my thread I'm using a Nanao MS2931 hooked up to a PC running CRT_EmuDriver. CRT_EmuDriver generates lists of resolutions needed for games and then adds these to Windows as supported resolutions. You then need to find an emulator that is happy to run games at full screen native resolution - this is more or less difficult depending on what system you want. It is also hard to get the emulator to switch resolution the way some original systems did as well (SNES using high resolution for menu screens etc).

I'd love to get a PVM/BVM and consoles (and started collecting in that direction) but it is just too much space - I'm in an apartment and choices have to be made
Urbansprawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2016, 6:47 PM   #6
nimmers Thread Starter
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
I get an "access denied" on that one. Do you have another link?
The image is:


Click to view full size!


Point taken I guess if you played nes over composite as a kid. Your c64 would not have looked like that if you had the commodore monitor, and the games at Timezone definitely didn't look like that. It's an image from 4chan, says it all really.
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2016, 8:09 PM   #7
nimmers Thread Starter
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
None of those images are accurate, for a bunch of reasons specific to NES hardware.
If you want to be semi accutate, the c64 monitors back in the day were around 600 tv line 14" monitors with RGB/S-video and composite inputs. The c64 did S-Video natively.

I have 2 14" PVMs, a 500 line PVM-14N6 (1998) and an 800 line PVM-14L5 (2005).

Here are some screens of both with my real childhood c64 attached via S-Video:

On the N6:

Click to view full size!


Click to view full size!


Click to view full size!


On the L5 (obviously being from 2005 this is not period correct, just here as porn):

Click to view full size!


Click to view full size!


Pretty visible scanlines on both. Even on my crappy iphone5 camera.

I'm not too sure how the 1998 PVM 14N6 compares with the commodore monitors from the 80's but the N6 has less TV lines. The truth is probably somewhere between these two.

Perhaps as kids our parents couldn't afford the things in the computer store showrooms (mine certainly couldn't) and we went home to play them over RF on the family woodgrain HMV telly and were super happy. It's also fun as a grown up to be able to play them like they were in the showroom.
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2016, 8:32 PM   #8
zebu
Member
 
zebu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Albury
Posts: 871
Default

I don't recall seeing it ever discussed on here

whats peoples thoughts on the cheaty effects developers used that relied on colour bleed/etc on a composite output

for example the transparency of Sonic's shield

http://imgur.com/a/JS63b


does a legit RGB monitor with the original hardware scanlines produce the effect?
zebu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2016, 9:05 PM   #9
nimmers Thread Starter
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zebu View Post
does a legit RGB monitor with the original hardware scanlines produce the effect?
Nah I saw a video comparing it somewhere, it looks cooler via composite.
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2016, 9:07 PM   #10
DonutKing
Member
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tweed/Gold Coast
Posts: 995
Default

Really, scanlines aren't really a big thing for me. I don't even really see them because I sit far enough away from the TV. (And before anyone asks - yes I can still see a clear difference between composite and RGB from where I sit, I've tried).

You might say that everybody played their consoles over RF back then, which is true.... I didn't know anyone that hooked up speakers and a sub to their TV in the 90's but I've gone and done that as well...

For me its more about having the systems I wished I could have afforded, and having them the best they can be... I've gone over why I don't think emulation and LCD's are the go in this forum before so I won't repeat myself.

But yes, that bloke that adjusted his PVM to get bigger scanlines is taking it a bit far

Quote:
Originally Posted by zebu View Post
I don't recall seeing it ever discussed on here

whats peoples thoughts on the cheaty effects developers used that relied on colour bleed/etc on a composite output

for example the transparency of Sonic's shield

http://imgur.com/a/JS63b


does a legit RGB monitor with the original hardware scanlines produce the effect?
Yeah, I noticed this on my RGB TV- looks exactly like the lower picture, and it rotates around Sonic. Better, worse? I dunno, its just an effect. I'd rather have the sharp pixels then the mushy composite soup regardless of the shield effect!

I know that Sierra did this with some of their early Quest games - if you had CGA Composite video, it would use the artifacts to show more colours than was normally possible.
DonutKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2016, 9:31 PM   #11
nimmers Thread Starter
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zebu View Post
does a legit RGB monitor with the original hardware scanlines produce the effect?
https://youtu.be/IPbDvqFdjG4 skip to 17:30 and you can see the comparison. Personally I prefer RGB.
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2016, 9:46 PM   #12
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 28,117
Default

So here's a curveball.

I've got a couple of TVs that do component YPbPr input. Theoretically "as good" as RGB to the naked eye. One is a whopper 80cm (31") 4:3 beast.

I've considered for ages opening these up and modding them for RGB input. Plenty of examples of this around the Internet, with varying degrees of success depending on the model of TV - oddly enough, the "cheap and nasty" Chinese model TVs often work best due to their very simple chassis and jungle IC design.

But then I came across this:

http://www.tg16pcemods.com/rgb-to-co...rter-v-20.html

Simple, cheap, RGB to YPBPr converter. Just converts colour space, doesn't do anything else magical (no scaling, effects, or other stuff done by high end devices like the Extronn do-dads or the Open Source Scan Converter).

They sell two models, one for the TG16 (from what I read, it had a rather weak RGB out, so there's a small amp in there too), and one for SNES/Genesis with a LM1881N sync stripper built in to clean up the sync.

I bought myself one a short time ago. Waiting for it to land from the US. As soon as I get it hooked up, I'll try and grab some shots of it in action, and attempt to do a compare/contrast on a few different inputs on this particular TV.

I'm absolutely not expecting PVM quality. But I'll be interested to see if it betters S-Video by a noticeable margin or not.
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2016, 11:52 AM   #13
nimmers Thread Starter
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
So here's a curveball.

I've got a couple of TVs that do component YPbPr input. Theoretically "as good" as RGB to the naked eye. One is a whopper 80cm (31") 4:3 beast.
Set it up and post the results.

I'm a unit dweller, the couple of 14" and 20" monitors I use take up as much space as I have.
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2016, 6:56 PM   #14
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 28,117
Default

I fired up my Chinese made "Megalo City" candy cabinet tonight. Monitor is a 29" (huge!) Mexican tube with a Chinese chassis. Not the clearest thing in the world, but still pretty bloody amazing considering how cheap the whole cabinet (including screen) is.

This has had various things in it over the years. Most recently a Playstation 2 with hacked controls so I could play my Japanese copy of Street Fighter III: Third Strike on an arcade machine. However my wife a few years ago bought me a real Sega Versus City with SF3:3S CPSIII board, making the setup redundant. I played with a couple of other things on PS2, but over time they've all been emulated by MAME, and the PS2's mostly interlaced output sucks.

So tonight it's got GroovyArcade + GroovyMAME in it. "World Rally" has been released to the public domain, and comes as a nice test to see how things look.

A couple of photos here:
http://imgur.com/a/JALro

Hard to get stills with fast moving images, but so far so good. Very little tweaking needed on my behalf compared to last time I tried this with AdvanceMAME years ago it was a royal pain. Now, it was about 5 minutes of following wizard-driven setups, and it was working.

The monitor needs tweaking every time new modelines fire up (vertical rolling is a pain between different 59.9Hz and 60.0Hz modes), but that's the price to pay for accuracy, I guess.

Last edited by elvis; 10th February 2017 at 8:04 AM.
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2016, 8:39 PM   #15
Grant
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
Simple, cheap, RGB to YPBPr converter.
Oh cool, I paid almost double that for an asian eBay SCART RGB->component converter. I get a clear picture with it, but I also get a blue hue over everything - from what I've seen it's a pretty common board and there's a few potentiometers in there to adjust the colours, but I haven't cracked it open yet.

My problem is my TV (a mid 2000s Sony CRT) does a pretty darn good job at composite, and it's almost not worth the effort...
Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 7:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!