Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Business & Enterprise Computing

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th January 2017, 4:20 PM   #1
-Sk3tChY- Thread Starter
Member
 
-Sk3tChY-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NSW, In a house.
Posts: 3,874
Default Migrating from Hosted Exchange to O365? Built-in or Third Party?

This will be my first time migrating this particular type of setup. I'm about to get stuck into reading up on things to find the most appropriate solution and plan accordingly, but figure some of the more experienced minds here may be able to save me a little time reading up on things that perhaps aren't worthwhile considering.

All of the data currently resides within a Hosted Exchange account with Uber Global, there's about 15 mailboxes each with <10GB data. Uber look to use Exchange Version 15.0.1076.4000 (2013) and it's all managed from Parallels; I don't think there's ECP access.

Ideally I'd like to be able to just migrate everything over using a single process/platform, the most important items obviously will be mail/folders, contacts and calendars; autocomplete would be nice too.

Their user/groups/forwarding/shared mailbox stuff is all very simple, so I can manually recreate all of this within an hour.

At this point my considerations are:
  • Built-in Cutover - Seems to migrate everything, but not sure if I can use with Hosted Exchange?
  • Built-in IMAP - migrates only mail
  • Skykick - I belive costs, not sure how much or if necessary for a small/simple migration
  • MigrationWiz - I belive costs, not sure how much or if necessary for a small/simple migration
I was hoping to try using one of the free built-in O365 Data Migration tools from the Admin Center - but I've seen a lot of people suggesting things like Skykick/MigrationWiz.

Just after any suggestions/experiences - I'll be spending the following week reading into all of this. Thanks in advance for any replies.
__________________
| Main Rig | i5-2500K @ 4.326Ghz | CM 212+ | Sabertooth P67 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1648Mhz | Asus GTX960 Strix DirectCU II OC 4GB | Silverstone ST75F-P | Fractal Design Define R3 | 2 x Samsung 850 Pro 256GB in RAID0 | 3 x Dell U2412M |

Last edited by -Sk3tChY-; 8th January 2017 at 5:17 PM.
-Sk3tChY- is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 8th January 2017, 4:46 PM   #2
NSanity
Member
 
NSanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 16,016
Default

Pay me.
NSanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2017, 4:47 PM   #3
scips
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 368
Default

Haven't had any issues with the builtin cut-over, but have always had access to ECP/admin panels to give all the permissions needed.

Only heard good things about skykick but haven't used them yet (probably wouldn't bother using them for such a tiny migration either)
scips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2017, 5:08 PM   #4
-Sk3tChY- Thread Starter
Member
 
-Sk3tChY-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NSW, In a house.
Posts: 3,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scips View Post
Haven't had any issues with the builtin cut-over, but have always had access to ECP/admin panels to give all the permissions needed.
Doing a little research on the built-in cutover migration now, looks like it migrates everything I want it to, but just not sure if I can use it with a Hosted Exchange environment.

When I went through the Email Setup Advisor it suggested IMAP, the description also says "You can use the Internet Message Access Protocol (IMAP) to migrate user email from hosted Exchange and other email systems that support IMAP migration."

This will to migrate all the mail data, but then I'd have to manually migrate calendars/contacts, was hoping something a little more automated.
__________________
| Main Rig | i5-2500K @ 4.326Ghz | CM 212+ | Sabertooth P67 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1648Mhz | Asus GTX960 Strix DirectCU II OC 4GB | Silverstone ST75F-P | Fractal Design Define R3 | 2 x Samsung 850 Pro 256GB in RAID0 | 3 x Dell U2412M |
-Sk3tChY- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2017, 6:08 PM   #5
Daemon
Member
 
Daemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: qld.au
Posts: 4,895
Default

MigrationWiz.

The built in tools work until they don't... Microsoft are on their 4th variant to try and get it right.

Meanwhile, MigrationWiz just works and means only 1/3 of the dicking around with inbuilt tools. The time savings far outweigh the costs, it's a no brainer.
__________________
Fixing the internet... one cloud at a time.
Daemon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2017, 9:13 PM   #6
-Sk3tChY- Thread Starter
Member
 
-Sk3tChY-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NSW, In a house.
Posts: 3,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
MigrationWiz.

The built in tools work until they don't... Microsoft are on their 4th variant to try and get it right.

Meanwhile, MigrationWiz just works and means only 1/3 of the dicking around with inbuilt tools. The time savings far outweigh the costs, it's a no brainer.
Ahh so the built-in tools are no good? Not even for like, tiny environments like 15 mailboxes? I would have thought they'd at least do what they're supposed to, being Microsoft and all.

When I originally moved these guys from their previous IMAP host to this Hosted Exchange I used MigrationWiz, but it was all purchased via Uber Global so I'm not sure if it's some restricted version.

There's still a MigrationWiz tab within Parallels and it looks like the licenses/coupons purchased are still there, I can even still start a migration project but it all goes through openconnect.selfmigration.com/Public/ - might give it a crack and see if it actually allows me to do anything.

I'm thinking it will probably say the coupons I purchased previously have already been consumed from the past migration.

EDIT: Looks like the licenses that were purchased expired after 12 months, still have the BitTitan/MigrationWiz account there though.
__________________
| Main Rig | i5-2500K @ 4.326Ghz | CM 212+ | Sabertooth P67 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1648Mhz | Asus GTX960 Strix DirectCU II OC 4GB | Silverstone ST75F-P | Fractal Design Define R3 | 2 x Samsung 850 Pro 256GB in RAID0 | 3 x Dell U2412M |

Last edited by -Sk3tChY-; 9th January 2017 at 12:02 AM.
-Sk3tChY- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2017, 9:30 PM   #7
Dre_
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 603
Default

Just have the users drag and drop the emails themselves from one mailbox to another.

Seriously, someone thought that's a good idea with a 1600 user migration across 60 or so affiliate entities.

On a more serious point, got plans for backup?
Skykick migration is free if you purchase 12 months of backup.
Dre_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2017, 11:30 PM   #8
-Sk3tChY- Thread Starter
Member
 
-Sk3tChY-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NSW, In a house.
Posts: 3,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dre_ View Post
Just have the users drag and drop the emails themselves from one mailbox to another.

Seriously, someone thought that's a good idea with a 1600 user migration across 60 or so affiliate entities.
I actually did this with these guys many years ago when I first started helping them out - they were using SeaMonkey/POP! Worked a charm!

Of course, that was only 8 small mailboxes, not 1600! I was also the one copying over all the stuff.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dre_ View Post
On a more serious point, got plans for backup?
Skykick migration is free if you purchase 12 months of backup.
As you know mate, just started to get into all the O365 stuff. Backup is next on the cards.

Skykick definitely looked cool from your demo, might try and take a look at pricing on this and see if it's something worth considering.

Was hoping I'd be able to try and keep things as MS/simple as possible for my first little migration, but if their built-in Data Migration tools are really that bad, I may have to consider Skykick/MigrationWiz.

Does the cutover tool work with Hosted Exchange or only on-prem?
__________________
| Main Rig | i5-2500K @ 4.326Ghz | CM 212+ | Sabertooth P67 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1648Mhz | Asus GTX960 Strix DirectCU II OC 4GB | Silverstone ST75F-P | Fractal Design Define R3 | 2 x Samsung 850 Pro 256GB in RAID0 | 3 x Dell U2412M |
-Sk3tChY- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2017, 10:24 AM   #9
Rea:Per
Member
 
Rea:Per's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 224
Default

I went from On Prem Exchange 2013 to O365 E1 & E3 plans just over the Christmas break using the inbuilt tools.

Cutover Migration
GOOD - Works fine to migrate all users in 1 go. creates each user in O365 and Azure AD.
BAD - I could not then get Azure AD Connect to sync with my on prem AD, i tried syncing then cutover, and cutover then sync, no dice. I migrated 500gb of data twice trying the cutover method. gave up and did hybrid


Hybrid Migration
GOOD - Works in batches of what ever size you like, I suggest user mailbox batches and shared mailbox batches seperatly.
GOOD - works with Azure AD Connect, setup AD Connect FIRST, let it create all the users and groups. give all your users their licenses and start the batches
BAD - you must give even shared mailboxes licenses to complete the migration, once the data is in O365 it changes them to shared mailboxes and you can remove the license again. but its good to have a handfull of spare licenses or do the shared mailboxes in your first batch, assign license and remove once complete and assign to the users.

NOTE: if using AD groups to give calendar / mailbox permissions make sure they are in your sync filters of AD Connect. (I made this mistake, easy to fix but easier if you sort it first)

I did ~50 Mailboxes + 15 Shared with around 250-300gb of exchange data.

Don't know if all of this applies to your hosted exchange but its what i did.
__________________
2700K @ 4.5 - 1.275v | Maximus IV Extreme-Z | 16gb RipjawX DDR3 1866mhz | Crossfire Sapphire 7970 @ Ghz | Eyefinity @ 5760*1080 | 2x Vertex 4 128gb RAID 0 | 3x WD Black 1TB Raid 0 | Custom Water Cooled | Thermaltake 1200w PSU | Thermaltake Tai-Chi Case
OCAU Trades: $2000+
WTB Thermaltake Swordm & Tai-Chi Cases
Rea:Per is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2017, 6:08 PM   #10
NSanity
Member
 
NSanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 16,016
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dre_ View Post
Just have the users drag and drop the emails themselves from one mailbox to another.
Christ no.

The Microsoft tools work ok if you have Shell access (I agree with Daemon, they work till they don't). Other tools that utilise EWS work great when all you have is the end user accounts.

Last edited by NSanity; 9th January 2017 at 8:45 PM.
NSanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2017, 8:01 PM   #11
IACSecurity
Member
 
IACSecurity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: ork.sg
Posts: 727
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSanity View Post
Pay me.
ooOOOOOOoooo ideas!!
__________________
Wartcom man loves sad donkey
Whatever I say is generally bullshit Trololing. So get over it.
IACSecurity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2017, 9:44 AM   #12
bcann
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NSW
Posts: 4,187
Default

i freely admit to never having done this, but having an 0365 account that does have hosted exchange that we don't use at the moment, why not dump it to .pst if you don't trust the tools and import the pst's as it can all be done through the web interface, and it fits your criteria of emails, calander, etc.

again I've not done a migrate to O365 hosted exchange so I've no idea how well it works.

and i'd only do this if the wizard is borked or not running properly.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
All I do is hand folks the working gun. Up to them as to whether or not they go hunting to bring home the bacon, or shoot themselves in the foot. I am merely the lowly gunsmith, and nothing more.

Last edited by bcann; 10th January 2017 at 2:26 PM.
bcann is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2017, 4:49 PM   #13
-Sk3tChY- Thread Starter
Member
 
-Sk3tChY-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NSW, In a house.
Posts: 3,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rea:Per View Post
*snip*
Thanks for the post. I'm still trying to ascertain whether or not I can/should use the cutover migration tool with Hosted Exchange - if I can, I think for such a small migration it should work perfectly fine.

Has anyone used the cutover migration tool with a Hosted Exchange environment?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcann View Post
i freely admit to never having done this, but having an 0365 account that does have hosted exchange that we don't use at the moment, why not dump it to .pst if you don't trust the tools and import the pst's as it can all be done through the web interface, and it fits your criteria of emails, calander, etc.

again I've not done a migrate to O365 hosted exchange so I've no idea how well it works.

and i'd only do this if the wizard is borked or not running properly.
To do this I'd first have to export all of the mailboxes from Outlook to PST's. This in itself would mean either downloading all the mailboxes to my own Outlook client or going around to each workstation and exporting.

I'd then be left with like 15 seperate PST files, each from about 1-10GB in size which I'd then have to upload via the web interface from a crappy upload speed WAN link - which would take quite some time.

----------

I'm thinking I'll perhaps use a combination of the built-in IMAP migration tool to copy all of the mail data over, then when I actually go to reconfigure each users Outlook client I'll just manually export their contacts/calendar to PST and upload this via the web interface. Likewise, I'll just manually migrate their autocomplete files over too.
__________________
| Main Rig | i5-2500K @ 4.326Ghz | CM 212+ | Sabertooth P67 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1648Mhz | Asus GTX960 Strix DirectCU II OC 4GB | Silverstone ST75F-P | Fractal Design Define R3 | 2 x Samsung 850 Pro 256GB in RAID0 | 3 x Dell U2412M |

Last edited by -Sk3tChY-; 10th January 2017 at 4:52 PM.
-Sk3tChY- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2017, 5:12 PM   #14
Dre_
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Sk3tChY- View Post
I'd then be left with like 15 seperate PST files, each from about 1-10GB in size which I'd then have to upload via the web interface from a crappy upload speed WAN link - which would take quite some time.
Fire up an Azure trial and setup a VM and use that instead.

Most of our partners run Hosted Exchange and use SkyKick for migrations, you can call their support line and they can help you validate it.

Can help run you through it tomorrow.
Dre_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2017, 5:45 PM   #15
PabloEscobar
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9,563
Default

What does "hosted exchange" mean in your situation?

Is it just a bunch of mailboxes on someone elses exchange Org

Or is it a proper Multi-Tenant hosted exchange environment
PabloEscobar is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!