Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Storage & Backup

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20th February 2017, 10:12 PM   #1
DavidRa Thread Starter
Member
 
DavidRa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NSW Central Coast
Posts: 2,883
Default Honey, I bricked the SSD (950 Pro NVMe)

So I think I broke it last night with a firmware update. Only had about 2.7TB written, so it's not at EOL yet. It's backed up, but I'm without a system for a while obviously - it doesn't detect as "present" in UEFI setup.

I found a stack of articles about 850's bring bricked and also the recovery process by forcing flash from a CD, but nothing for the 950. Anyone have any ideas on recovery before I RMA it? I only have the one and it's a single NVMe board.
__________________
Folding as djr 45,000 Club @ 4,000,000 Points Milestone
Earlier: Folding as djr(at)wamoz(dot)com 20,000 Club @ 250,000 Points Milestone
Blogging at http://www.pdconsec.net/blogs/davidr/
DavidRa is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 21st February 2017, 12:34 AM   #2
ni9ht_5ta1k3r
Member
 
ni9ht_5ta1k3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney: it sucks!
Posts: 29,843
Default

you shouldn't have a problem if you flashed it through samsung magician.
__________________
XBOX Live: The Gh0sts | Steam: Th3_Gh0sts | PSN: TheGhosts (AU) - TheGh0sts_CA (CA) | Origin: Th3_Gh0sts - RSSC: Chillawhat | UPlay: spartan33 | Battle.Net: Th3Gh0sts#1131
Current PC: Metabox Prime-X P870DM-G with a GTX 1070N GPU
My Web & Graphic Design Portfolio | My EBay Listings | Overwatch Vids
ni9ht_5ta1k3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2017, 6:15 AM   #3
Luke212
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,864
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ni9ht_5ta1k3r View Post
you shouldn't have a problem if you flashed it through samsung magician.
Yeah he shouldn't have a problem... but he does.
__________________
Democracy's greatest trick was convincing man he was informed.
Luke212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2017, 9:27 AM   #4
DavidRa Thread Starter
Member
 
DavidRa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NSW Central Coast
Posts: 2,883
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ni9ht_5ta1k3r View Post
you shouldn't have a problem if you flashed it through samsung magician.
Unfortunately Magician's only trick was a vanishing trick.
__________________
Folding as djr 45,000 Club @ 4,000,000 Points Milestone
Earlier: Folding as djr(at)wamoz(dot)com 20,000 Club @ 250,000 Points Milestone
Blogging at http://www.pdconsec.net/blogs/davidr/

Last edited by DavidRa; 21st February 2017 at 9:30 AM.
DavidRa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2017, 2:44 PM   #5
ni9ht_5ta1k3r
Member
 
ni9ht_5ta1k3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney: it sucks!
Posts: 29,843
Default

Do you remember what revision it was going to flash?
__________________
XBOX Live: The Gh0sts | Steam: Th3_Gh0sts | PSN: TheGhosts (AU) - TheGh0sts_CA (CA) | Origin: Th3_Gh0sts - RSSC: Chillawhat | UPlay: spartan33 | Battle.Net: Th3Gh0sts#1131
Current PC: Metabox Prime-X P870DM-G with a GTX 1070N GPU
My Web & Graphic Design Portfolio | My EBay Listings | Overwatch Vids
ni9ht_5ta1k3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2017, 9:52 AM   #6
DavidRa Thread Starter
Member
 
DavidRa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NSW Central Coast
Posts: 2,883
Default

No, I didn't see what revision it was (new version of Magician too). Bit careless of me not to dig harder for it.
__________________
Folding as djr 45,000 Club @ 4,000,000 Points Milestone
Earlier: Folding as djr(at)wamoz(dot)com 20,000 Club @ 250,000 Points Milestone
Blogging at http://www.pdconsec.net/blogs/davidr/
DavidRa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2017, 12:53 PM   #7
ni9ht_5ta1k3r
Member
 
ni9ht_5ta1k3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney: it sucks!
Posts: 29,843
Default

I flashed my 950 pros and it worked fine so it could be a bad stick or something interrupted the flash.
__________________
XBOX Live: The Gh0sts | Steam: Th3_Gh0sts | PSN: TheGhosts (AU) - TheGh0sts_CA (CA) | Origin: Th3_Gh0sts - RSSC: Chillawhat | UPlay: spartan33 | Battle.Net: Th3Gh0sts#1131
Current PC: Metabox Prime-X P870DM-G with a GTX 1070N GPU
My Web & Graphic Design Portfolio | My EBay Listings | Overwatch Vids
ni9ht_5ta1k3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2017, 2:57 PM   #8
Lostnewb
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 154
Default

Partly related, why do we need to do firmware updates on SSD's? If I install the thing and it works, what benefit is there in updating the firmware?

Not being a smartarse or intentionally dumb, I just am curious and whether I should be doing it...
__________________
i7-980x @ 2.93GHz, X58-UDR3, 12Gb G-Skill 1600 3 x 4Gb, GTX780, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, Lots of mechanical drives
I7-5820k @ 4.40GHz, Asus x99 Deluxe, 32 GB DDR4 3000Mhz, Samsung 960 Evo, 1TB WD Black, GTX 980ti, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Custom loop
I7-4770k @ 4.0GHz, Gigabyte MB, 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, GTX780
Lostnewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2017, 3:05 PM   #9
roamin
Member
 
roamin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: melb / Crimebourne
Posts: 2,618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lostnewb View Post
Partly related, why do we need to do firmware updates on SSD's? If I install the thing and it works, what benefit is there in updating the firmware?

Not being a smartarse or intentionally dumb, I just am curious and whether I should be doing it...
if it aint broke, dont fix it.

peformance and stability are the 2 main reasons for firmware.

if you are happy with both performance and stability on your ssd's then dont touch them!!!!

i have 2x 1tb 850 evo ssd's and i have not bothered to update them, performance is good and never had a stability issue. other issue i have is mine are in raid 0 and as far as im aware you cant update main drives or raided drives, well i couldnt way back in the day when i bothered to try on an 120gb ssd i bought many moons ago.
__________________
Caselabs S8, I7 6700k @ 4.6ghz, giga Z170x Designare mobo, 32gb Corsair ddr4, 2x Evo 850 1TB in raid0, 1080ti Founders Edition with EK block, Creative titanium hd sound, 3x xspc 360 rads, ek cpu block, aquacomputer aqualis 440ml, aquacomputer D5 pump, acrlyic custom bent tubing.
roamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2017, 3:28 PM   #10
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 124,616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lostnewb View Post
Partly related, why do we need to do firmware updates on SSD's? If I install the thing and it works, what benefit is there in updating the firmware?
I tend to leave firmware upgrades almost entirely only to the motherboard and never any other hardware. I'm of the opinion, as above leave it alone unless there tends to be an issue.
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"

Last edited by MR CHILLED; 22nd February 2017 at 7:49 PM. Reason: sp
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2017, 5:11 PM   #11
ni9ht_5ta1k3r
Member
 
ni9ht_5ta1k3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney: it sucks!
Posts: 29,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roamin View Post
if it aint broke, dont fix it.

peformance and stability are the 2 main reasons for firmware.

if you are happy with both performance and stability on your ssd's then dont touch them!!!!

i have 2x 1tb 850 evo ssd's and i have not bothered to update them, performance is good and never had a stability issue. other issue i have is mine are in raid 0 and as far as im aware you cant update main drives or raided drives, well i couldnt way back in the day when i bothered to try on an 120gb ssd i bought many moons ago.
I use a 950 Pro as a main OS drive and it flashed the firmware fine.
__________________
XBOX Live: The Gh0sts | Steam: Th3_Gh0sts | PSN: TheGhosts (AU) - TheGh0sts_CA (CA) | Origin: Th3_Gh0sts - RSSC: Chillawhat | UPlay: spartan33 | Battle.Net: Th3Gh0sts#1131
Current PC: Metabox Prime-X P870DM-G with a GTX 1070N GPU
My Web & Graphic Design Portfolio | My EBay Listings | Overwatch Vids
ni9ht_5ta1k3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2017, 5:55 PM   #12
Aetherone
Member
 
Aetherone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 8,379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lostnewb View Post
firmware updates on SSD's?
I usually FW update a brand new SSD and then ignore them forever, unless there's a special reason to update like a significant bugfix or feature addition or something.

If its working, don't break fix it (y)
Aetherone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2017, 4:49 PM   #13
Maco88
Member
 
Maco88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lostnewb View Post
Partly related, why do we need to do firmware updates on SSD's? If I install the thing and it works, what benefit is there in updating the firmware?

Not being a smartarse or intentionally dumb, I just am curious and whether I should be doing it...
I probably wouldn't especially if its working well, but I did have a major problems with a Crucial BX100 SSD. Each time I would wake from Hibernate or was it SLEEP, well it was one of them, I'd BSOD.. After much googling and trying different things, it was a firmware upgrade on the SSD that solved that one, so sometimes they may just be useful.
Maco88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2017, 2:20 PM   #14
scrantic
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lostnewb View Post
Partly related, why do we need to do firmware updates on SSD's? If I install the thing and it works, what benefit is there in updating the firmware?

Not being a smartarse or intentionally dumb, I just am curious and whether I should be doing it...
Because sometimes the fuck shit up and the firmware fixes it.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/9196/s...nd-840-evo-fix

Quote:
After initially launching in 2013 to great fanfare as an excellent, strong-performing low-cost drive, over the long run performance regressions began to occur in deployed drives that saw the read performance of old data significantly drop.
__________________
System| Intel Core i7-860 | Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3P |
| Intel 530 180GB | 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333 |
| MSI GTX275 896MB| Antec P183 | Antec 750W PSU |
Storage Synology DS1511+ 4 x Hitachi 3TB Deskstar 5K3000
scrantic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2017, 3:39 PM   #15
hairy
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ni9ht_5ta1k3r View Post
you shouldn't have a problem if you flashed it through samsung magician.
last flash I did with Samsung magician worked..... until I tried to run any games I had installed.

needed to re-download them again because they were all corrupt so I wont be updating again any time soon!
__________________
antec skeleton, msi gaming m5, 6700k, 32 gig 3200 ram, gtx 1080ti sli, hb bridge, cm 280 aio, 500gig 950pro, 750gb crucial ssd, 43inch phillips and 24 inch aoc monitors. server dual xeon quads, 48gig ram, 5x3tb and 2x1tb, hx850, lianli case, freenas.
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 6:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!