Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Networking, Telephony & Internet

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 9th March 2017, 1:54 PM   #1
aokman Thread Starter
Member
 
aokman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 12,090
Default What if I don't want the NBN... *shock horror*

So story goes that NBN is being rolled out in my area soon and they are rolling out HFC.

Basically I don't want it, I just got a new $300 Fritzbox that would become a paperweight not to mention I don't want to buy new equipment / start a new contract with TPG.

Not to sound like a prick about it but I don't want to support the NBN in any way shape or form really. I am happy with my current monthly cost and my speeds and don't want to deal with NBN congestion issues.

I just don't understand how I can be forced off my current connection which I am still contracted to then told I have to pay for new equipment, pay more per month and start a new contract?

On top of all this, the house doesn't have cable installed and apparently they won't install it in the location where my router is currently setup which is at the opposite end of the house to where the line comes in without paying additional costs.
__________________

#neverstopchasing - weatheradventures.net

Last edited by aokman; 9th March 2017 at 2:14 PM.
aokman is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 9th March 2017, 2:12 PM   #2
FatBoyNotSoSlim
Member
 
FatBoyNotSoSlim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne - 3149
Posts: 14,039
Default

Are you on ADSL2 now? Once NBN fully covers your area, you'll have about 12 or 18 months (can't recall which) until the copper is shut off, and scalped. So, when that is done, you'll have no copper for ADSL, and no internet, other than NBN.

Maybe look at 4G wireless then?
__________________
I DONT WANT YO LIFE, MONT BLANC
ALWAYS B TROLL'N
FatBoyNotSoSlim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2017, 2:18 PM   #3
aokman Thread Starter
Member
 
aokman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 12,090
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatBoyNotSoSlim View Post
Are you on ADSL2 now? Once NBN fully covers your area, you'll have about 12 or 18 months (can't recall which) until the copper is shut off, and scalped. So, when that is done, you'll have no copper for ADSL, and no internet, other than NBN.

Maybe look at 4G wireless then?
I am on ADSL2 currently, I don't understand how the copper can be "cut off" when they are 2 technologies that have been running side by side in our area for many years. Just sounds like a bullshit move to push you on to the NBN and pay more.

I don't see how 4G wireless is an alternative. I am happy with my current monthly cost, unlimited data and setup.
__________________

#neverstopchasing - weatheradventures.net
aokman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2017, 2:18 PM   #4
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 50,075
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aokman View Post
So story goes that NBN is being rolled out in my area soon and they are rolling out HFC.

Basically I don't want it, I just got a new $300 Fritzbox that would become a paperweight not to mention I don't want to buy new equipment / start a new contract with TPG.

Not to sound like a prick about it but I don't want to support the NBN in any way shape or form really. I am happy with my current monthly cost and my speeds and don't want to deal with NBN congestion issues.

I just don't understand how I can be forced off my current connection which I am still contracted to then told I have to pay for new equipment, pay more per month and start a new contract?

On top of all this, the house doesn't have cable installed and apparently they won't install it in the location where my router is currently setup which is at the opposite end of the house to where the line comes in without paying additional costs.
I hear ya, but it's like when the 2G network gets swithed off and analogue tele went the way of the dodo - tough titties...
__________________
this is who we are.
power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2017, 2:19 PM   #5
caspian
Member
 
caspian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,063
Default

I did have a longer reply typed up but yay laptop crash.

the bottom line is that you don't have guaranteed access to the copper that carries your service. Telstra are agreeing to cease using it where they are selling their HFC network to NBN, and the government has agreed with that approach.

in terms of your current contract with TPG, I expect you'll find that there's no obligation for them to supply you a service. if they need to terminate your contract, you'll be told, and that's the end of it. equipment is something you provided at your risk.

I don't know much about the technicalities of HFC installation, but I will surmise it has some similarity with FTTP installs, so yes there will be limits as to what you get for a standard free install. if you want something custom it be will at billable rates.

Last edited by caspian; 9th March 2017 at 3:32 PM.
caspian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2017, 2:39 PM   #6
BAK
Member
 
BAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aokman View Post
Basically I don't want it, I just got a new $300 Fritzbox that would become a paperweight
Can set whatever modem is provided by TPG into Bridge mode and let your Fritzbox do the routing etc.
Quote:
not to mention I don't want to buy new equipment / start a new contract with TPG.
TPG and most other NBN RSPs have the option to go contractless. TPG is one of the ones that requires a payment (an "install" fee, ~200) if you do go contractless, but there are several out there that just offer you month to month "plans".
__________________
NeOnServ 2.0: Ubuntu 16.04LTS | Q6600 | 8gb | G/A 8EP35-DS3P | AOC-USAS-L8i | 15x 2tb Samsung HD204UI (ZFS Raid-Z2) | CMStacker 810
WoW ("Retired"): Paladin | Twitter
BAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2017, 3:51 PM   #7
closed_gate
Member
 
closed_gate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 732
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAK View Post
Can set whatever modem is provided by TPG into Bridge mode and let your Fritzbox do the routing etc.
Not with NBN. Just plug your router into the NTU if you have a WAN port on it and set your correct settings, I.e. Static IP/DHCP

I'm using a FortiWifi 60C for my NBN connection and works perfectly fine.
closed_gate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2017, 4:27 PM   #8
Renza
Member
 
Renza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Adelaide, 5051
Posts: 4,590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by closed_gate View Post
Not with NBN. Just plug your router into the NTU if you have a WAN port on it and set your correct settings, I.e. Static IP/DHCP

I'm using a FortiWifi 60C for my NBN connection and works perfectly fine.
Depends what tech you are on.

FTTP - just plug your router into the NTD and away you go. May require PPPoE for some providers, other IPoE
FTTN - you'll need a modem with bridge mode if you want to use your existing router
HFC - Plug your router into the HFC modem and it should work like FTTP.
__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.5ghz | AsRock Z77 Professional | 16gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz | Gigabyte GTX580 | Seasonic X750 | Silverstone TJ07 | Crucial M4 256GB | 2x Dell U2011
Canon 5D Mark III | Canon EF 24-70 f/2.8L | Canon EF 17-40 f/4L | Canon EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 | Canon EX-580II | Manfrotto 190 Pro B
Traded over $22,000 on OCAU! - PM for recent traders
Renza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2017, 4:42 PM   #9
gords
Thread Killer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 6,576
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aokman View Post
pay more per month
When I moved to the NBN I ended up paying less, because I didn't have to pay $24 per month for a landline I never used. Also went from syncing at about 2mbit/s to 100mbit/s.
__________________
"Grace is God giving us what we do not deserve and mercy is God not giving us what we do deserve."

"The beauty of grace is that it makes life not fair." - Relient K, Be My Escape

"God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us." Romans 5:8
gords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2017, 9:42 PM   #10
HSV_Enigma
Member
 
HSV_Enigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 410
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aokman View Post
I am on ADSL2 currently, I don't understand how the copper can be "cut off" when they are 2 technologies that have been running side by side in our area for many years. Just sounds like a bullshit move to push you on to the NBN and pay more.

I don't see how 4G wireless is an alternative. I am happy with my current monthly cost, unlimited data and setup.
Yes it's either a conspiracy, or a logical choice that they do not want to have to pay the ongoing maintenance costs of 2 side by side technologies
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzeng View Post
Personally I think it should be compulsory 4 primary school kids to directly experience 240v AC on the tip of one finger.
HSV_Enigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2017, 10:07 PM   #11
Pugs
Member
 
Pugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Highbury, SA
Posts: 8,919
Default

what a funny country we live in.. some people complaining they don't want better internet.. and others complaining they can't get decent internet...
__________________
PC Gamer, Licenced Cabler,MilsimCosplayer
My Becoming a Cabler & Tool Thread
To The Cloud...!!
Pugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2017, 10:34 PM   #12
SupremeMoFo
Member
 
SupremeMoFo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 5,011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAK View Post
Can set whatever modem is provided by TPG into Bridge mode and let your Fritzbox do the routing etc.
Quote:
Originally Posted by closed_gate View Post
Not with NBN. Just plug your router into the NTU if you have a WAN port on it and set your correct settings, I.e. Static IP/DHCP
Is that actually possible with TPG HFC? AFAIK it's not with iiNet/Internode NBN HFC, which is not really an in-house iiNet/Internode product - it's a wholesale AAPT service, so I imagine the TPG HFC offering is the same - authentication is tied to the Huawei router they supply.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aokman View Post
Basically I don't want it, I just got a new $300 Fritzbox that would become a paperweight not to mention I don't want to buy new equipment / start a new contract with TPG.

Not to sound like a prick about it but I don't want to support the NBN in any way shape or form really. I am happy with my current monthly cost and my speeds and don't want to deal with NBN congestion issues.

I just don't understand how I can be forced off my current connection which I am still contracted to then told I have to pay for new equipment, pay more per month and start a new contract?
There should be 18mths to change over, at which point just choose a different provider so you can continue using the Fritzbox?
__________________
The story so far: In the beginning the Internet was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.
i7-4790K | Corsair H60 | ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mk2 | ASUS STRIX GTX1070 | G.Skill 2x8GB 2400MHz | 500GB Samsung Evo 840 | 2x2TB WD Green | Corsair CS750M | Coolermaster HAF XB | Acer Predator XB270HU

Last edited by SupremeMoFo; 9th March 2017 at 10:36 PM.
SupremeMoFo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2017, 11:12 PM   #13
stevenx
Member
 
stevenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fai oh see fo.
Posts: 2,221
Default

I sympathise - I have no desire to pay for an NBN connection if I can avoid doing so. You're in Melbourne - look into a non-NBN fixed wireless provider, like Uniti Wireless. I don't know if they cover your area - they have a small presence in Melbourne, but they're expanding - but you'll get fast Internet without NBN.

I have a 100/100 business connection with Uniti. The NBN will reach here in late 2018 and by then we'll have had 100/100 for four years. Why change - unless the NBN drastically improve their offering?
stevenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2017, 11:27 PM   #14
Renza
Member
 
Renza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Adelaide, 5051
Posts: 4,590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SupremeMoFo View Post
Is that actually possible with TPG HFC? AFAIK it's not with iiNet/Internode NBN HFC, which is not really an in-house iiNet/Internode product - it's a wholesale AAPT service, so I imagine the TPG HFC offering is the same - authentication is tied to the Huawei router they supply.
Easy enough to clone the MAC address of the huawei router, then toss it in the cupboard to collect dust...
__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.5ghz | AsRock Z77 Professional | 16gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz | Gigabyte GTX580 | Seasonic X750 | Silverstone TJ07 | Crucial M4 256GB | 2x Dell U2011
Canon 5D Mark III | Canon EF 24-70 f/2.8L | Canon EF 17-40 f/4L | Canon EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 | Canon EX-580II | Manfrotto 190 Pro B
Traded over $22,000 on OCAU! - PM for recent traders
Renza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2017, 11:33 PM   #15
SupremeMoFo
Member
 
SupremeMoFo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 5,011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenx View Post
I have a 100/100 business connection with Uniti. The NBN will reach here in late 2018 and by then we'll have had 100/100 for four years. Why change - unless the NBN drastically improve their offering?
Unlicensed band wifi connections are not the future. A 100/100 plan with Uniti... guessing that's somewhere around $300/mth minimum.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renza View Post
Easy enough to clone the MAC address of the huawei router, then toss it in the cupboard to collect dust...
It looked like it was more concerned about the serial number of the router to me, not the MAC address.
__________________
The story so far: In the beginning the Internet was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.
i7-4790K | Corsair H60 | ASUS Z97 Sabertooth Mk2 | ASUS STRIX GTX1070 | G.Skill 2x8GB 2400MHz | 500GB Samsung Evo 840 | 2x2TB WD Green | Corsair CS750M | Coolermaster HAF XB | Acer Predator XB270HU
SupremeMoFo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 1:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!