Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > OCAU Community > Team OCAU - Distributed Computing

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23rd March 2017, 5:33 PM   #1
hairy Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 349
Default anyone still fold ?

so after failing mining bitcoins I'm looking for a new project.
found out my 1070 gets about 600k-650k ppd.
I do game a fair bit and the upgrade itch needs scratching so I was thinking of grabbing a couple of 1080ti's to crank some points out also will game well.
was looking at getting a 6950x but it really isn't worth the points.
so the aim is 2x1080ti's and will give the 1070 to my son so his new machine can pump some points out (will warm his room a little in winter).
second build for my son will probably be a ryzen 1700.
hopefully I can pump out 3m ppd combined.
I know most people have stopped folding because of power costs but I have solar so it shouldn't matter too much.

so who on here still folds ? is folding dead or have people gone to other teams ?
__________________
antec skeleton, msi gaming m5, 6700k, 32 gig 3200 ram, gtx 1080ti sli, hb bridge, cm 280 aio, 500gig 950pro, 750gb crucial ssd, 43inch phillips and 24 inch aoc monitors. server dual xeon quads, 48gig ram, 5x3tb and 2x1tb, hx850, lianli case, freenas.
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 23rd March 2017, 10:23 PM   #2
AERO
Member
 
AERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: corowa 2646 nsw
Posts: 2,996
Default

i still fold, started back in the athlon xp days and stopped for a while, @ about 10mill points team_clown for ocau.

that sounds like some nice ppd, i only use my 1060 6gb and my i5 6790 to fold with when im not gaming (have to turn it off when gaming as it stuffs it too much)

would get a 1080 if the price come down but given ive just gone back to 2 days of work a week from 5 im trying to not spend too much on this sort of thing. (daddy daycare is great though)
__________________
"GO AERO CLUB MEMBER NUMBER #69"
quote from killer bee --->
"I still cant fathom it, how can pee shoot out 90 degrees from the nozzle direction."
AERO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2017, 11:11 AM   #3
/invariance\
Member
 
/invariance\'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 606
Default

Been at it for a few years now.
As I made it to the top 50 I decided to move the cpu back to some BOINC projects (LHC/Einstein/Milkyway/NumberFiels@home) and leave the two heaters Folding.
Having all that silicon working will definitely see your name on the Top 20 Producers board.
I don't know what the nvidias are like, but you might have to set up some profiles and down clock them to keep the fan noise under check (more input required here).

Edit: Also give a good excuse to custom water cool. Adds to the fun.
__________________
F@H Stats BOINC Stats
Folding: Phenom II 1100T, ASUS M5A99X EVO, 8G Patriot PG38G1600EL, Sapphire R9 270, MSI HD7870 Twin Frozr3.
The only BS I want to hear is from a Model M: IBM Model M, P/N 1391401, DOB 04FEB87.
Smooth vintage MX blacks on a Wyse 85 courtesy of Soarer's Wyse Converter.
/invariance\ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2017, 1:59 PM   #4
hairy Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 349
Default

last night I was 103k rank now I'm 66k rank, moving up quick even with one gpu pushing 650ppd.
my 1070 msi gaming flashed to gaming z bios is quiet as a mouse !
looking forward to smashing up the ranks and doing some good with my spare power.
not quite sure on watercooling again as last time I had trouble selling my gpu's for an upgrade ass not many people had custom loops, its quiet anyway.
__________________
antec skeleton, msi gaming m5, 6700k, 32 gig 3200 ram, gtx 1080ti sli, hb bridge, cm 280 aio, 500gig 950pro, 750gb crucial ssd, 43inch phillips and 24 inch aoc monitors. server dual xeon quads, 48gig ram, 5x3tb and 2x1tb, hx850, lianli case, freenas.
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2017, 7:21 PM   #5
hairy Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 349
Default

rank 254 on team ocau out of 1k ! slowly creeping up !
should climb a lot quicker tomorrow as I just ordered a couple of 1080ti's.
also my sons rig will be folding with my old 1070.
__________________
antec skeleton, msi gaming m5, 6700k, 32 gig 3200 ram, gtx 1080ti sli, hb bridge, cm 280 aio, 500gig 950pro, 750gb crucial ssd, 43inch phillips and 24 inch aoc monitors. server dual xeon quads, 48gig ram, 5x3tb and 2x1tb, hx850, lianli case, freenas.
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2017, 1:27 AM   #6
Renza
Member
 
Renza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Adelaide, 5051
Posts: 4,526
Default

My last work unit was 6 years ago. Still at number 445. Cost of electricity is too damn high for me these days
__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.5ghz | AsRock Z77 Professional | 16gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz | Gigabyte GTX580 | Seasonic X750 | Silverstone TJ07 | Crucial M4 256GB | 2x Dell U2011
Canon 5D Mark III | Canon EF 24-70 f/2.8L | Canon EF 17-40 f/4L | Canon EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 | Canon EX-580II | Manfrotto 190 Pro B
Traded over $22,000 on OCAU! - PM for recent traders
Renza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2017, 4:32 PM   #7
hairy Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 349
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renza View Post
My last work unit was 6 years ago. Still at number 445. Cost of electricity is too damn high for me these days
I understand why not many people fold now days with power costs.
my power bill comes in at 100 per quarter so it doesn't bother me.
my daughter just asked for her own machine for minecraft aswell so another excuse for another folding client lol.
currently folding at 2.5m ppd on one rig (1070 doesn't fit in my sons case) so have to get a case for him tomorrow.
__________________
antec skeleton, msi gaming m5, 6700k, 32 gig 3200 ram, gtx 1080ti sli, hb bridge, cm 280 aio, 500gig 950pro, 750gb crucial ssd, 43inch phillips and 24 inch aoc monitors. server dual xeon quads, 48gig ram, 5x3tb and 2x1tb, hx850, lianli case, freenas.
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2017, 12:16 PM   #8
Bertross
Member
 
Bertross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Melb, CBD
Posts: 12,257
Default

i used to fold back in the day, but my folding now its now a constant mountain of kids clothes.
__________________

BORROWED 780TI REF THANKS OJR |RYZEN 1700+H100I | ASUS ROG BIG HERO 6+SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 | 32GB TRIDENT Z RGB 3000 | PHANTEKS ENTHOO EVOLV TEMPERED |
EVGA SUPERNOVA 750 | CINTIQ 24HD+U2711 | SWAN M200MKIII+DT770 PRO+D1 DAC
Bertross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2017, 12:46 PM   #9
/invariance\
Member
 
/invariance\'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 606
Default

$100 a quarter! Haven't seen that since before kids and we were both at work all day.
Shows the improvement in technology where only a few generations ago water was a must.
__________________
F@H Stats BOINC Stats
Folding: Phenom II 1100T, ASUS M5A99X EVO, 8G Patriot PG38G1600EL, Sapphire R9 270, MSI HD7870 Twin Frozr3.
The only BS I want to hear is from a Model M: IBM Model M, P/N 1391401, DOB 04FEB87.
Smooth vintage MX blacks on a Wyse 85 courtesy of Soarer's Wyse Converter.
/invariance\ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2017, 4:46 PM   #10
hairy Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 349
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by /invariance\ View Post
$100 a quarter! Haven't seen that since before kids and we were both at work all day.
Shows the improvement in technology where only a few generations ago water was a must.
i have a 5kw solar system on my roof.
I do have a lot of t.v's and pc's etc running but its pretty stable.
__________________
antec skeleton, msi gaming m5, 6700k, 32 gig 3200 ram, gtx 1080ti sli, hb bridge, cm 280 aio, 500gig 950pro, 750gb crucial ssd, 43inch phillips and 24 inch aoc monitors. server dual xeon quads, 48gig ram, 5x3tb and 2x1tb, hx850, lianli case, freenas.
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2017, 4:54 PM   #11
shredder
Member
 
shredder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dec 1991
Posts: 9,005
Default

Folding is cool. But on the topic of coin mining - waste of time mining bitcoin, Ethereum is probably the thing to mine these days (biggest future prospect in that industry). You can dual-mine it with Decred or Siacoin on the side. If you mined it for a year and held onto the mined coins the entire time, you might get a nice return. Anyway, I don't mean to take things off topic, just had to mention where you might have gone wrong if you were looking at mining bitcoin, which is itself pointless these days without specialist gear.
shredder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2017, 11:38 PM   #12
Sm00thY
Member
 
Sm00thY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: hills.perth.wa.au
Posts: 453
Default Ex folder refolding

I haven't been on OCAU for quite some time, but found some good info here when setting up my new server over the weekend. As I now have a bit of CPU grunt to spare, I dug out some old config files and installed the latest Linux client for Folding. I also installed it on my desktop, but won't be running that one 24/7 like I used to years ago. The new FAHControl & Web viewer do make things easier.

I previewed the post and noticed my signature is well and truly out of date. That can be fixed later....
__________________
Intel 2.6GHz, 800FSB, HT | Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000 PRO 2 M/board | Kingston HyperX 512MB Kit | WD 120GB SATA HDD | Gigabyte GeForce FX5900XT | Pioneer DVD-116 | Pioneer DVR-108

OCAU Camera Club - Member #201
Canon EOS 350D | EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM | EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 II | EF 50mm f/1.8 II | EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM Zoom | Speedlite 420EX
Sm00thY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2017, 2:12 PM   #13
Fatmantan
Member
 
Fatmantan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 9,057
Default

For some reason, i decided to fire it up yesterday.

Havent folded since 2010!!!



Kinda sad looking at all the old names i used to have races with in grey The good ol days...

Edit: It seems that TPG DNS cant contact stanford servers.

Lost a 40k GPU protein that couldnt upload...RIP!

Changed to google DNS and it's picked up a new unit. Dont know why it wouldn't still send...

Edit2: Or it just hasnt updated?



Edit3: Or is that after bonus points are applied? Meh....Have been out of the game too long
__________________
| Dell 2407WFP-HC | i5 2500k | Asrock P67 Extreme 6 | 8gb Kingston HyperX 8500 | EVGA GTX970SC | 4.2tb Storage |
| Canon 7D | Tokina 11-16 | Sigma 30 1.4 | Canon 15-85 | Canon 70-200 F4L | Canon 430ex |
| D3 Profile | Over $20,000 Successful Trades | f@h Stats |

Last edited by Fatmantan; 18th April 2017 at 2:29 PM.
Fatmantan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2017, 9:18 PM   #14
AERO
Member
 
AERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: corowa 2646 nsw
Posts: 2,996
Default

so from what ive figured out, most efficient way to get points is gpu folding, compare 300k ppd to 10k ppd. bit of a diff.

anyway, i still cpu fold regardless as points are points,

best to get a passkey from the folding website if you havnt already, you get bonus points, no idea why but yea good idea to do so as it will boost your ppd.

ive also had a few units go bad or lost, including 90k units etc.. no idea why as all my stuff is running stock, even cranked up the fan on my gpu to keep it down a tad (and i dont care for the noise as its in the lounge anyway)

in the settings theres a way to make it only get big workunits like the 50k+ units which can be crunched in a short period of time.

my 1060 6gb seems to push out about 360k ppd, a 1080ti can do 1.5 million ppd (your total contribution in less than a week lol)



i know as i restarted a few months ago and finally broke the 1 million point and 12k wu target i always wanted, im now at 15 mill points and kicking along nicely as of recent
__________________
"GO AERO CLUB MEMBER NUMBER #69"
quote from killer bee --->
"I still cant fathom it, how can pee shoot out 90 degrees from the nozzle direction."
AERO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2017, 9:26 PM   #15
AERO
Member
 
AERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: corowa 2646 nsw
Posts: 2,996
Default

this is where i entered in the settings,
hopefully i did it right myself lol, my ppd has gone up so it should have been

just type the values in as i have and be all good, your ticket to a bigger and newer you :P


__________________
"GO AERO CLUB MEMBER NUMBER #69"
quote from killer bee --->
"I still cant fathom it, how can pee shoot out 90 degrees from the nozzle direction."
AERO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!