Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Troubleshooting Help

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20th April 2017, 6:36 PM   #1
obit11 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Wollongong, NSW
Posts: 19
Default 3770k + p67a-ud7-b3 overclock

Hey guys.

I bought a p67a board (solely for the fact it was a ud7 (wankfactor)) and it seems you can't put the multiplier past x39. What would i do in order to achieve a high multiplier?

I have a 2700k handy, but id rather use my 3770k. But i guess i can if i must.

Cheers.
__________________
Z77x UP7 found... upgrading in the process...
obit11 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 20th April 2017, 6:47 PM   #2
ginger_nuts
Member
 
ginger_nuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Morphett Vale, SA
Posts: 1,164
Default

The board dont support the 3770k. Thats why.

It should happily play game with the 2700k.
__________________
The world will keep turning
HWBot Profile = Ginger_Nuts81 Member of Australia OC team.
ginger_nuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2017, 6:49 PM   #3
obit11 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Wollongong, NSW
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ginger_nuts View Post
The board dont support the 3770k. Thats why.

It should happily play game with the 2700k.
Does support it with the latest bios. I want to OC though.
__________________
Z77x UP7 found... upgrading in the process...
obit11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2017, 10:49 PM   #4
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 6,024
Default

With no idea of what your BIOS settings are it is hard to comment.

What happens at x39 or over?

Here is an informative OC guide for that mobo:

http://www.overclock.net/t/910467/th...ormance-review

If you can be more specific about what your BIOS settings are - some meaningful advice may come.
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768
Bold Eagle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2017, 3:58 PM   #5
obit11 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Wollongong, NSW
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bold Eagle View Post
With no idea of what your BIOS settings are it is hard to comment.

What happens at x39 or over?

Here is an informative OC guide for that mobo:

http://www.overclock.net/t/910467/th...ormance-review

If you can be more specific about what your BIOS settings are - some meaningful advice may come.
Ill see if some of those steps make a difference. But literally, the muliplier wont go higher then 39. I just have it set to default settings etc. I'll try disable the things suggested and see if that makes a difference.

It seems to be a common thing. Ivy Bridge on the p67a-ud7-b3 having locked multipliers.

Cheers
__________________
Z77x UP7 found... upgrading in the process...
obit11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2017, 4:06 PM   #6
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 6,024
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by obit11 View Post
Ill see if some of those steps make a difference. But literally, the muliplier wont go higher then 39. I just have it set to default settings etc. I'll try disable the things suggested and see if that makes a difference.

It seems to be a common thing. Ivy Bridge on the p67a-ud7-b3 having locked multipliers.

Cheers
Nps - need to know your settings - otherwise were just guessing.

AUTO OC always fail.
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768
Bold Eagle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2017, 4:45 PM   #7
C-BuZz
Member
 
C-BuZz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Melb, East
Posts: 5,076
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by obit11 View Post
Ill see if some of those steps make a difference. But literally, the muliplier wont go higher then 39. I just have it set to default settings etc. I'll try disable the things suggested and see if that makes a difference.

It seems to be a common thing. Ivy Bridge on the p67a-ud7-b3 having locked multipliers.

Cheers
I've seen this before with similar hardware (UD3 or something) on 2600k. Would not overclock at all (only to max turbo multi same as yours). Was a specific bios revision that borked it as I always update to the latest bios when I get a new mobo.

Good thing was that it was not possible to downgrade the bios at all so basically screwed the whole mobo.
C-BuZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2017, 3:57 AM   #8
terrastrife
Member
 
terrastrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ADL/SA The Monopoly State
Posts: 18,064
Default

are you changing base or boost multiplier, use boost.
terrastrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2017, 8:29 PM   #9
obit11 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Wollongong, NSW
Posts: 19
Default

Here is a gif of it. https://imgur.com/KTv5jw8 as you can see it literally just ticks back to the start??

Bios version is F7. 3770k. 16gb ddr3 1600mhz. Gtx 1070 h100 water cooler.

Let me know if any further info is needed

Cheers guys
__________________
Z77x UP7 found... upgrading in the process...
obit11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2017, 9:02 PM   #10
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 6,024
Default

Enable the Intel Turbo Boost as terra stated and try there (that is setting the multi on each core).

Also the CPU PLL should be Manual.

http://www.overclock.net/t/910467/th...ormance-review

Quote:
Instead of messing with this, use the Unlock CPUPLL Overvoltage Option under frequency control; this should help you get past 5.2 GHz on D2 stepping chips and beyond, if you need more oomph after that, increase it. (This setting if enabled on a D1 chip will actually cause it not to boot, like mine)
Change those two settings and see what happens?
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768

Last edited by Bold Eagle; 22nd April 2017 at 9:08 PM.
Bold Eagle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2017, 11:30 AM   #11
obit11 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Wollongong, NSW
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bold Eagle View Post
Enable the Intel Turbo Boost as terra stated and try there (that is setting the multi on each core).

Also the CPU PLL should be Manual.

http://www.overclock.net/t/910467/th...ormance-review



Change those two settings and see what happens?
Yeah no game. I doubt gigabyte would do a bios update to allow it this late on. Not sure i wanna bios modify lol.
__________________
Z77x UP7 found... upgrading in the process...
obit11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2017, 3:34 PM   #12
C-BuZz
Member
 
C-BuZz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Melb, East
Posts: 5,076
Default

What bios are you on exactly?

Looks really similar to your issues & i've seen this exact crap thing happen before with a previous Giga board.

http://forum.giga-byte.co.uk/index.php?topic=8761.0
C-BuZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2017, 10:29 PM   #13
obit11 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Wollongong, NSW
Posts: 19
Default

It was the latest. I just went back to my semi dodge z77 ud5 for now. Seems it was a common problem. And never rectified since gigabyte love $$ lol
__________________
Z77x UP7 found... upgrading in the process...
obit11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!