Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th May 2017, 6:46 PM   #1
Utetopia Thread Starter
Member
 
Utetopia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: BNE/TWMBA
Posts: 2,600
Default How old is your current Intel PC platform?

I was trudging thru my old online purchases the other day and found out i bought my primary PC in May of 2012. I included a 5870 and have since upgraded that to a 7970 and now 1080. Nothing else has been changed.

Usually this is something i'd have swapped out every 2 years.

Anyway I'm wondering how many ppl here are still running their old Sandy and Ivy Bridge machines? Do you normally wait this long to move on? Do you have prospects for upgrading?
__________________
3570K | Z77X-UD3H | 1080 G1 | 4350UC | STC-T01
Utetopia is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 26th May 2017, 6:54 PM   #2
Matthew kane
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 719
Default

Won't be upgrading my CPU/Mobo platform anytime soon, probably upgrade graphics card but that is it.
__________________
Intel i7 3960X @ 4.7GHZ - Noctua NH-D14 | 16GB OCZ Platinum Series DDR3 1600MHZ | Asus Rampage IV Extreme (4901 bios) | Zotac AMP! Edition GTX 980 Ti | PNY GTX 465 unlocked to 470 | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro with LME47920's opamps | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB | OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB| 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green, 4 x 2TB Seagate LP | Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250watt | Antec P280 + Veris Elite | LG BD Rewriter
Matthew kane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2017, 7:04 PM   #3
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 5,929
Default

I still have a 2600K on a Z68 in 2011 after finishing my latest tertiary qualification (Cert IV in ICT). Video card has been upgraded 5 times and more RAM added (8>>16GB) and frankly I think the latest AMD is the only thing that will give a possible performance hit >5% that is.
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768

Last edited by Bold Eagle; 26th May 2017 at 7:24 PM.
Bold Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2017, 7:05 PM   #4
timace
Member
 
timace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,768
Default

I've still got my first custom build, an i5-2500k, I think I purchased it in mid-2011.

As I don't do any gaming with it, it does the job just fine to this day. Have replaced drives, installed an SSD and a GT630.

In fact, I only began overclocking it last month.
timace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2017, 7:06 PM   #5
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 49,764
Default

Going to hit 5 years in a weeks time. Started with a 670, upgraded to a 980 and now onto a 1080Ti. No hurry to upgrade it. Only thing I updated was to an SSD then a bigger SSD.
__________________
this is who we are.
power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2017, 8:07 PM   #6
VirtualNinja
Member
 
VirtualNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Parramatta
Posts: 834
Default

2600k & a Z68 Deluxe. 3 GPU upgrades 6870 to GTX770 to 980ti.
VirtualNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2017, 8:12 PM   #7
Hater
Member
 
Hater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,150
Default

Good 'ol Ivy Bridge.

I throw multiple VM's at it every day and crunch big text files with it every week - Never ever a slow down.

It's all jammed within a laptop chassis too! 5 years old this year and no upgrade needed in the near future, unheard of 5 years ago.

It'll only happen once 32GB becomes available everywhere on common laptops that are capable of running OS X (and I don't mean Apple laptops)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
Quote me in 2026, and if I'm wrong, I'll buy you a nice steak dinner.
Hater is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2017, 8:17 PM   #8
Pemalite
Member
 
Pemalite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Lincoln, SA
Posts: 438
Default

Still got my 3930K rig from like 5+ years ago. Still runs everything I throw at it.
Still able to give the latest CPU's a run for their money.

Only thing I have upgraded is the GPU's and the SSD. The OCZ Vertex 2 64GB (You know that super unreliable SSD?) gave up the ghost about a month ago after 6-7 years of use.

LGA 2066 might bring the goods finally though?

****

Got my old Core 2 Quad rig hanging around as well, which is like 10 years old, same 4GB DDR2 single channel Ram. Only upgraded the GPU and sprinkled some SSD love. Happily runs Overwatch.
__________________
Cats.
Pemalite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2017, 8:40 PM   #9
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 49,764
Default

I only replaced my secondary C2Q system as the board was getting a bit flaky and I bought a good i5 bundle here which is the mini version of my main pc.
__________________
this is who we are.

Last edited by power; 26th May 2017 at 9:16 PM.
power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2017, 9:10 PM   #10
brainstew
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 51
Default

I have a 17" laptop with a i7 3615QM 2.3-3.1GHz quad core CPU which I have owned since 2013. Hasn't let me down in terms of raw processing speed. The GPU is an Geforce 650m which is quite weak for gaming, and unfortunately not upgradable which has tempted me into looking into the Gigabyte Aero 14" which has a Geforce 1060.

I think modern PC platforms can do a bit better in terms of latency. Not sure if it's my CPU, RAM or SSD... or Chrome.
__________________
Kaoru + Aoi + Shiho = Infinity
Apex Glacier, Denon AH-D2000, Fostex T50RP; Sony VAIO VPCZ1 | 13.1" 1920x1080 72Hz | 64GBx2+128GBx1 Samsung SSDs; Spinpoint M8 1TB HDD


Sony Vaio Club Member #20
brainstew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2017, 9:34 PM   #11
th3_hawk
Member
 
th3_hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: [VIC] SE Suburbs
Posts: 1,459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brainstew View Post
I have a 17" laptop with a i7 3615QM 2.3-3.1GHz quad core CPU which I have owned since 2013.
Sounds similar to mine... except mine is a Mac :P

Intel i7 3740QM @ 2.7GHz (speedboost to 3.7GHz)
NVidia GT 650M
16GB RAM
512GB SSD

Still working as a daily without any thought about a new one. Ever since the first of the 'core iX' series of CPUs PC's have really got fast enough for the average person not to need an upgrade unless they game or do something that stresses the CPU (like video work) or their current one breaks. Of course an SSD is key to the longevity of those old machines though!


My son's gaming rig is AMD based is getting on a bit these days (AMD Phenom II X6 1090T). Still works very well for what he plays but it's at a point where I don't know if it's worth updating the GPU alone or if it's time to drop in a new everything.
__________________
"Victory goes to the player who makes the next-to-last mistake."

Got a VW? VWWatercooled
Currently for Sale: Roboking
th3_hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2017, 10:05 PM   #12
partybear
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ballarat, Victoria
Posts: 728
Default

I'm still using a i7 860 but I did upgrade graphics card 3-4 times.
partybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2017, 10:34 PM   #13
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 5,929
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by partybear View Post
I'm still using a i7 860 but I did upgrade graphics card 3-4 times.
You would get a big hit to a Sandy Bridge build (2xxx series) but nothing significant after that.
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768
Bold Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2017, 6:25 PM   #14
hsv2000
Member
 
hsv2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: S/E Melbourne
Posts: 1,041
Default

Still stuck on my i5 2500k @ 4.7ghz from so long ago...
The longest I've had a PC in service since I began mucking around with computers 20 years+
hsv2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2017, 6:49 PM   #15
Ratzz
Member
 
Ratzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cheltenham East 3192
Posts: 5,068
Default

Most of mine is less than 6 months old and already nearly outdated..

I wish they'd stop making new goodies for awhile.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave_dave_dave View Post
Its like spreading peanut butter on your nipples, its so wrong but feels so right.
Quote:
Originally Posted by seizium View Post
I did visit the NBN van today at Westfields North Lakes, but their internet connection wasn't working so they couldn't give me any information
My Rig
Ratzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!