Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Networking, Telephony & Internet

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 31st December 2002, 3:16 PM   #1
poeee Thread Starter
Member
 
poeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Geelong, Australia
Posts: 76
Default Wiring Diagrams

I am after a Wiring Diagram so I can terminate the cat5, that I have ran though the house, to the RJ45 wall sockets.

I have read through teh Networking FAQ, but the pics seem to be down, so no diagrams.

Thnx in advance.
poeee is offline  

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 31st December 2002, 4:33 PM   #2
grill
Member
 
grill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 620
Default

all of the sockets i have seen are colour coded so you just follow that. Have you looked at it closely?
grill is offline  
Old 31st December 2002, 5:16 PM   #3
nbk
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nambour
Posts: 2,174
Default Re: Wiring Diagrams

Quote:
Originally posted by poeee

I have read through teh Networking FAQ, but the pics seem to be down, so no diagrams.

Thnx in advance.
*Looks at dead server sitting on bench*

The pics are down atm, I'll be relocating them onto another (more stable, faster) server asap.
nbk is offline  
Old 31st December 2002, 5:20 PM   #4
poeee Thread Starter
Member
 
poeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Geelong, Australia
Posts: 76
Default

So they're the same at either end?
poeee is offline  
Old 31st December 2002, 5:34 PM   #5
Iceman
Member
 
Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane (nth), Australia
Posts: 6,453
Default

Yes. Pardon me but you don't seem to know what you are doing here. Perhaps you should consult some guides or better yet, a professional to avoid ruining your cable?
__________________
_,`,_,`,_,`,_

WTB: Cisco 1801-M PM me
Please rehash my posts and pass them off as your own ideas! Triple points for doing it in the same page of the thread. Plagiarism is the sincerest form of copyright infringement.
Iceman is offline  
Old 31st December 2002, 9:25 PM   #6
katastrophe
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Gladstone
Posts: 85
Default

Ruin your cables? If you bugger one end up you cut it off and try again. Never learn anything if you don't get down and get your hands dirty....

As for CAT5 standard practice for the colours is (looking at the RJ45 module from the underside, ie the side WITHOUT the clip)

---Orange White
---Orange
---Green White
---Blue
---Blue White
---Green
---Brown White
---Brown

And for a crossover cable you swap the orange white with the green white and the orange with the green at ONE end.

Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

Don't let people discourage you from doing it yourself. Best case scenario you save a buttload of cash. Worst case scenario you bugger up and have to get the pros in to fix it. So long as you didn't go kinking the cable the pros would just be able to fix the ends and it would be right as rain. Not a big loss in my books.

Feel free to flame/correct me if I'm wrong, I love learning new things

-katas
__________________
Me? Nah...couldn't be....
katastrophe is offline  
Old 1st January 2003, 12:39 PM   #7
poeee Thread Starter
Member
 
poeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Geelong, Australia
Posts: 76
Default

Thnx katastrophem, I couldn't agree with you more, how ya gunna learn if ya don't just give it a go.

Iceman, before ya have a go at me, perhaps you should consult my question, which was asking for the diagram as the pics were down in the NETWORKING FAQ, which I would say is a damn good GUIDE!

Last edited by poeee; 1st January 2003 at 12:42 PM.
poeee is offline  
Old 1st January 2003, 12:47 PM   #8
Iceman
Member
 
Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane (nth), Australia
Posts: 6,453
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by poeee
Thnx katastrophem, I couldn't agree with you more, how ya gunna learn if ya don't just give it a go.

Iceman, before ya have a go at me, did you should perhaps you should consult my question, which was asking for the diagram as the pics were down in the NETWORKING FAQ, which I would say is a damn good GUIDE!
I wasn't having a go at you, just making a suggestion how you might save yourself some time and hassles. It may be a good guide but there is a lot more to laying interior cat 5 cabling (if you want it to perform correctly) then just getting the ends right.

I won't knock anyone trying to do something for themselves or learn a new skill, but when you jump head first into something new it helps to do a little research on it first.
__________________
_,`,_,`,_,`,_

WTB: Cisco 1801-M PM me
Please rehash my posts and pass them off as your own ideas! Triple points for doing it in the same page of the thread. Plagiarism is the sincerest form of copyright infringement.
Iceman is offline  
Old 1st January 2003, 2:10 PM   #9
poeee Thread Starter
Member
 
poeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Geelong, Australia
Posts: 76
Default

Well I can say that I have got as far as having the 2 PC's conected, sharing internet, files, printer, etc. next to each other with a short cross over cable. My father is a technitian at Telstra, so he knows how to run the cable correctly, terminate it, because its the same as your average phone socket, but we're unsure of the actual order of the wires.

Grill, I think the actual wall sockets we have, which my father got from work, don't have the colour codes on them, as I think they're phone ones (exactally the same RJ45).

As for ruining the cable, no chance of that happening, once the order of the wires are determined, my father has no chance of stuffing it up. We have put more than enough cat5 in, so if anything does need changing, pull a little more through, as easy as that.

Last edited by poeee; 1st January 2003 at 2:13 PM.
poeee is offline  
Old 1st January 2003, 2:43 PM   #10
Gnuthad
Member
 
Gnuthad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,604
Default

You are aware that permanently installing your own network cable if you intend to use the internet through a modem (dial-up or ADSL) is illegal without a permit ($66), aren't you?

Last edited by Gnuthad; 1st January 2003 at 2:44 PM.
Gnuthad is offline  
Old 1st January 2003, 2:49 PM   #11
Iceman
Member
 
Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane (nth), Australia
Posts: 6,453
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gnuthad
You are aware that permanently installing your own network cable if you intend to use the internet through a modem (dial-up or ADSL) is illegal without a permit ($66), aren't you?
Thats a new one, show me that regulation on the ACA website please?
__________________
_,`,_,`,_,`,_

WTB: Cisco 1801-M PM me
Please rehash my posts and pass them off as your own ideas! Triple points for doing it in the same page of the thread. Plagiarism is the sincerest form of copyright infringement.
Iceman is offline  
Old 1st January 2003, 3:11 PM   #12
driver
Member
 
driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane - Northside
Posts: 3,535
Default

AFAIK, you can run your own network cable at home providing it doesn't connect to the public telephone network.

And if that's not the rule, then I got some tradesman out of the newpaper ages ago to install it

Last edited by driver; 1st January 2003 at 3:12 PM.
driver is offline  
Old 1st January 2003, 4:04 PM   #13
pax
Member
 
pax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: God's Country
Posts: 1,340
Default

http://www.jonny-m.net/images/cat5.gif

Standard, Crossover and rollover images
pax is offline  
Old 1st January 2003, 4:24 PM   #14
Tharg
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sin City
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by poeee

Grill, I think the actual wall sockets we have, which my father got from work, don't have the colour codes on them, as I think they're phone ones (exactally the same RJ45).
Are you sure you aren't talking about RJ11/RJ12 sockets?

Most Cat5 jacks these days are colour coded for both 568a & 568b configurations.

On an rj45 wiring scheme ethernet uses pins 1 & 2 , 3 & 6 for rx/tx
It matters that you use the orange and green pairs on these pins.
(see Pax's link) otherwise you won't get Cat5 performance. If you are using 100bTX you will get packet loss resulting in poor network performance.
Same applies to the jacks (rj45 sockets) if they aren't Cat5 or above , expect problems at anything over 10bT.
Tharg is offline  
Old 1st January 2003, 5:46 PM   #15
poeee Thread Starter
Member
 
poeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Geelong, Australia
Posts: 76
Default

RJ45 is the wall mount, RJ11/RJ12 are at the device end.

Permit, eh?
poeee is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 3:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!