Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Networking, Telephony & Internet

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 9th January 2003, 11:09 AM   #1
nick__who Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: buderim.qld.net.au
Posts: 383
Default Telstra changing ADSL modem ip??

I want to do the software hack to change my Alcatel speed touch home, to a speed touch pro. But i cant telnet to the modem or access its web interface through the default IP (10.0.0.138). I got this modem from telstra at the start of my contract, (18 months ago), would they have changed the IP to stop people doing this? Does anyone know of a way i can find the modems IP, or know what telstra changes them to?

Thanks
Nick
__________________
Quote:
Originally posted by Whitey Ford
Shitty crappy threads like this should only be read in forums such as gamearena and atomic, but not the great OCAU forums.
nick__who is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 9th January 2003, 11:20 AM   #2
Narkov
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 598
Default

is the computer you are telnetting from in the same subnet? eg 10.0.0.1?
Narkov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2003, 11:20 AM   #3
Rogue
Old Member
 
Rogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kellyville NSW
Posts: 3,663
Default

The default IP is set by firmware. Telstra do not change this.

If you go to the Speedtouch Support website you can download the manual which explains how to reset the modem to defaults, either via the reset button or by ping. It also shows how to set the IP address of the modem via ping.

Make sure your network card is set to:
IP Address 10.0.0.x (where x is between 1 and 254, but not 138)
Netmask 255.0.0.0
Gateway 10.0.0.138
__________________
In a perfect world... spammers would get caught, go to jail, and share a cell with many men who have enlarged their penises, taken Viagra and are looking for a new relationship.

Power corrupts. Power failure corrupts absolutely.
Rogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2003, 11:29 AM   #4
nick__who Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: buderim.qld.net.au
Posts: 383
Default

thanks
__________________
Quote:
Originally posted by Whitey Ford
Shitty crappy threads like this should only be read in forums such as gamearena and atomic, but not the great OCAU forums.
nick__who is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!