Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Storage & Backup

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th February 2003, 4:58 PM   #1
Eluial Thread Starter
Member
 
Eluial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: 3075
Posts: 1,565
Question HDD Encounter of a Third Kind

Not long ago I was at a dodgy-looking computer retailer. I was after a Western Digital 400JB but the guy said he didn't have any, but apparently he had a 400BB and so he hands me one... or something he claimed to be one. The guy mentions that he'll give me that for $150 or a Seagate for $160. Thinking that the price discrepancy was peculiar, I took a closer look at the 400BB only to see that it had no WD markings on it at all, but instead had a logo of 'MDT Magnetic Disk Technologies' and had the URL 'www.mdt.com'. Never having heard of this 'MDT' before, I promptly declined his offer and popped-off home to check out this website.

http://www.mdt.com/ I entered into Mozilla and to http://www.mdt.com/ it did take me. However http://www.mdt.com/ diverts to another page; https://www.welldata.net/Application/default.asp. 'Peculiar' I said to myself. I then proceeded to tell myself to stop talking to myself which got me even more confused, so I wont bother telling myself that anymore.

Has anyone ever heard of 'Welldata' or this 'MDT' before?
__________________
*
Eluial is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 26th February 2003, 5:01 PM   #2
Mjollnir
Member
 
Mjollnir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, VIC3104
Posts: 5,879
Default

yeah I have. they are just some cheap ass generic HDD brand..
__________________
OCAU Extreme Cooling Club H2O / Phase Change Member

Last edited by Mjollnir; 26th February 2003 at 5:01 PM.
Mjollnir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2003, 5:45 PM   #3
chainbolt
Little member
 
chainbolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 76,442
Default

whether it's generic WD or a kind of OEM half-fake, don't buy the 400BB, they are REALLY slow.
chainbolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2003, 8:06 PM   #4
W.G.A.F
(Taking a Break)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 584
Default

MDT is actually quite a respectable and long established U.S company that's been in the HDD business for some years. It has plants in a couple of countries that I've read and all the majors like WD and Maxtor have at times past outsourced production to MDT.

I don't know whether the company has only just decided to build models themselves under their own brand or whether they have previously done so.

MDT was recently aquired by a company called Solectron.

It's a bit of work and hunting down info on either company but it's there if you want to find it via google.

I'm curious about their drives as well and wondering if they are clones of other companies models or outright new designs, unfortunately the price of them is not sufficiently cheaper than other brands to warrant parting with cash to find out.

If anyone has bought any of their drives it would make interesting reading if some benchmarks etc are done because currently it's impossible to find any reviews or benchmarks on their models.

I know of 2 online sites that sell their drives, one of which is GameDude and the other is the DiscShop although there is bound to be others in OZ.
W.G.A.F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2003, 1:20 AM   #5
chainbolt
Little member
 
chainbolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 76,442
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by W.G.A.F
MDT is actually quite a respectable and long established U.S company that's been in the HDD business for some years. It has plants in a couple of countries that I've read and all the majors like WD and Maxtor have at times past outsourced production to MDT.

I don't know whether the company has only just decided to build models themselves under their own brand or whether they have previously done so.

MDT was recently aquired by a company called Solectron.

It's a bit of work and hunting down info on either company but it's there if you want to find it via google.

I'm curious about their drives as well and wondering if they are clones of other companies models or outright new designs, unfortunately the price of them is not sufficiently cheaper than other brands to warrant parting with cash to find out.

If anyone has bought any of their drives it would make interesting reading if some benchmarks etc are done because currently it's impossible to find any reviews or benchmarks on their models.

I know of 2 online sites that sell their drives, one of which is GameDude and the other is the DiscShop although there is bound to be others in OZ.
maybe this is all true and right, but nonetheless: don't buy a WD400BB
chainbolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2003, 8:41 AM   #6
Eluial Thread Starter
Member
 
Eluial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: 3075
Posts: 1,565
Default

Interesting! I've never considered the posibility of generic HDDs until now. Ah well, I'll let someone else give them a test before I even touch one.

Chainy, don't worry, I'm after the 400JB.
__________________
*
Eluial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2003, 9:05 AM   #7
brainbug
Member
 
brainbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Central Vic
Posts: 195
Default

I work as a tech, and I have only ever seen one of these hard drives, it was brand new.... maybe just me, but i'd take a well known brand name any day.
brainbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!