Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Other Topics > Audio Visual

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th December 2001, 10:17 PM   #1
SkiNLaB Thread Starter
Member
 
SkiNLaB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sydney's Inner West
Posts: 709
Default Do any games support surround sound!?

we just got a 7.1 system, sooooooo good.
and after watching the matrix on it 50 times over, i thought to myself how good it would be if u could play a FPS game on a surround sound system, hearing the bullets fly past, steps from behind etc..

so do tell!

(Pc or console games)
SkiNLaB is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 24th December 2001, 10:20 PM   #2
DangerMouse
Member
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Central Coast, NSW
Posts: 933
Default

Well people aren't paying $300+ for sound cards to get plain old 4 point sound.
__________________
Think of how stupid the average person is, and realise half of them are stupider than that. - George Carlin
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2001, 12:22 AM   #3
Crash Dummy
Member
 
Crash Dummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Posts: 1,728
Default

Lemmie tell you. Half-Life and or Counter Strike with A3D 4 point surround is beautiful almost scary at times.

EAX is pretty good too for posistional sound but the effects for reverb and and shit are pretty bad. Oh well.
__________________
Click to view my Flickr Photostream
Intel Core i7-3820 3.6Ghz @ 4.3Ghz|Gigabyte P79 UD3|XFX Radeon 7970
Apple Mac Pro 2,1 8x3Ghz Cores|16GB FD-DIMM RAM|ATI Radeon 4870 512MB
Crash Dummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2001, 12:25 AM   #4
clonex
Member
 
clonex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: SEQ
Posts: 9,630
Default

as far as i know NFS-HS has surround sound logo on it somewhere
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThankDog View Post
Why do people always have to argue about whether or not an argument should be argued about?

If you don't want to discuss it, go play Mario Bros.
clonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2001, 1:26 AM   #5
Crash Dummy
Member
 
Crash Dummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Posts: 1,728
Default

I'm 90% sure that all Electronic Arts games support Dolby Pro Logic surround.

But anyway yeah there's tons of games that support surround sound.
__________________
Click to view my Flickr Photostream
Intel Core i7-3820 3.6Ghz @ 4.3Ghz|Gigabyte P79 UD3|XFX Radeon 7970
Apple Mac Pro 2,1 8x3Ghz Cores|16GB FD-DIMM RAM|ATI Radeon 4870 512MB
Crash Dummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2001, 1:27 AM   #6
clonex
Member
 
clonex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: SEQ
Posts: 9,630
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Crash Dummy
I'm 90% sure that all Electronic Arts games support Dolby Pro Logic surround.
yeah i thnk that's it....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThankDog View Post
Why do people always have to argue about whether or not an argument should be argued about?

If you don't want to discuss it, go play Mario Bros.
clonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2001, 10:27 AM   #7
BiKESEAT
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 294
Default

If you get an nForce, all your games will be encoded to dolby digital 5.1 correct?
BiKESEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2001, 5:56 PM   #8
Zilla123
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
I'm 90% sure that all Electronic Arts games support Dolby Pro Logic surround.
prologic is still 'really' only stereo isn't it.
Zilla123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2001, 11:26 PM   #9
Chronos
Member
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,378
Default

oh man....

pro-logic isnt part of the source (eg game/video/dvd). pro-logic is done buy the reciver's processor. you feed a 2 channel signal into the reciver, and it emulates the 4 channels for you

just like your '7.1' amp gives you 8 channels. your source is 6 channels, and the front 2 effects are created, although they really arnt there...if u know what i mean

is that a yamaha amp uve got there? last time i checked, only yamaha made a decent 7.1 system
__________________
no expectations - no disappointments
OCAU Night Owl
OzHonda
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2001, 8:57 AM   #10
zebu
Member
 
zebu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Albury
Posts: 805
Default

this is from memory, so dont shoot me if im wrong

in dolby pro logic both the rear channels are the difference between the left and right channels, with about 20 milliseconds delay added

i remember reading it somewhere, can anyone confirm it?
zebu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2001, 8:59 AM   #11
StraM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hobart
Posts: 158
Default

If you have a good sound setup you can play CS with your eyes closed... I have head phones and it's amazing to be able to pinpoint peple using sound... then getting called wallhack for knowing where they are... LOL!
__________________
http://m4c4.auscstrike.com ~ SIFNT THE SEX

He had alot to say. He had alot of nothing to say. We'll miss him. So long. We wish you well. You told us how you weren't afraid to die. Well then, so long. Don't cry. Or feel too down. Not all martyrs see divinity. But at least you tried. ~ Tool, Eulogy
StraM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2001, 10:24 AM   #12
Maz
Member
 
Maz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,680
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by StraM
If you have a good sound setup you can play CS with your eyes closed... I have head phones and it's amazing to be able to pinpoint peple using sound... then getting called wallhack for knowing where they are... LOL!
I am yet to incorporate sound into 100% of my gameplay, i dont use sound to pinpoint where they are but only when im in a fire fight. im not very leet
Maz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2001, 10:25 AM   #13
StraM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hobart
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
I am yet to incorporate sound into 100% of my gameplay, i dont use sound to pinpoint where they are but only when im in a fire fight. im not very leet
That's how we all start....
__________________
http://m4c4.auscstrike.com ~ SIFNT THE SEX

He had alot to say. He had alot of nothing to say. We'll miss him. So long. We wish you well. You told us how you weren't afraid to die. Well then, so long. Don't cry. Or feel too down. Not all martyrs see divinity. But at least you tried. ~ Tool, Eulogy
StraM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2001, 11:12 AM   #14
SkiNLaB Thread Starter
Member
 
SkiNLaB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sydney's Inner West
Posts: 709
Default

hmm well i have a 7.1 system set up with a denon receiver working on it.

So CS just outputs a stereo signal, but that pro logic processer crap in the receiver CAN make it into useful 4 point surround sound? like u describe it (being able to 'hear' where people are)

i think it is time for me to get this so called counterstrike game.
SkiNLaB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2001, 10:15 PM   #15
Cypher
Member
 
Cypher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North of Brisbane
Posts: 1,790
Default

i have cheapo speakers for my front speakers and some Akai stereo speakers on the shelf behind me for rear, powered by an old crappy PYE amp that i picked up for free cuz the cd player is fucked...

works quite nicely...

oh, sb liveage, so it had has front and rear outputs..
Cypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!