Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Networking, Telephony & Internet


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Thread Tools
Old 2nd August 2003, 8:58 AM   #1
tez Thread Starter
tez's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,986
Default Internet usage leaving computer idle


Just wondering, now that Im off Netstats and on Datamonitor with Optusnet, would leaving my computer on 24/7 chew up alot of download?

I would have thought no, but this morning when I got up, it had used approximately 100 - 150mb from where I left it last night.

No other computers connected to the network were left on, and the only thing I had running was AVG anti virus, which doesnt update automatically.

Is Windows update and other hidden Windows programs constantly accessing the net?

tez is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 2nd August 2003, 11:02 AM   #2
Thread Killer
gords's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 6,464

Windows Update might be downloading hotfixes in the background. Is it turned on or off?
gords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2003, 7:17 PM   #3
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 113,300

No, it shouldnt be anywhere near that sort of overhead. Bit hard to answer given that no one knows what apps you have running. Get yourself a monitoring program like ZoneAlarm to let you see exactly what apps are requesting net access.
abbott classic moments: "no one can be the suppository of all wisdom''
abbott on the NBN: "We're not against using the internet, errr, for all these things, ah but do we really want to invest $50billion dollars of hard earned tax payers money on what is essentially a video entertainment system."

abbott on housing affordability: "I do hope our housing prices are increasing"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2003, 10:56 PM   #4
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 132

you can use netstat from your command prompt to see what is using the net. maybe you have some spyware running or something....
tristan8 is offline   Reply With Quote


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +10. The time now is 5:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!