Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Networking, Telephony & Internet

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd August 2003, 9:58 AM   #1
tez Thread Starter
Member
 
tez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,984
Default Internet usage leaving computer idle

Hi,

Just wondering, now that Im off Netstats and on Datamonitor with Optusnet, would leaving my computer on 24/7 chew up alot of download?

I would have thought no, but this morning when I got up, it had used approximately 100 - 150mb from where I left it last night.

No other computers connected to the network were left on, and the only thing I had running was AVG anti virus, which doesnt update automatically.

Is Windows update and other hidden Windows programs constantly accessing the net?

Terry
tez is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 2nd August 2003, 12:02 PM   #2
gords
Thread Killer
 
gords's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 6,340
Default

Windows Update might be downloading hotfixes in the background. Is it turned on or off?
gords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2003, 8:17 PM   #3
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 97,520
Default

No, it shouldnt be anywhere near that sort of overhead. Bit hard to answer given that no one knows what apps you have running. Get yourself a monitoring program like ZoneAlarm to let you see exactly what apps are requesting net access.
__________________
The Prime Minister of Australia: "no one can be the suppository of all wisdom''
abbott on the NBN: "We're not against using the internet, errr, for all these things, ah but do we really want to invest $50billion dollars of hard earned tax payers money on what is essentially a video entertainment system."
| Co2 is weightless apparently
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2003, 11:56 PM   #4
tristan8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 132
Default

you can use netstat from your command prompt to see what is using the net. maybe you have some spyware running or something....
tristan8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!