Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > Windows Operating Systems

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd August 2003, 3:30 PM   #1
5000Mhz Thread Starter
Member
 
5000Mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 1,165
Default Windows SP 3/4..file is corrupt..wtf?

I have d/l Windows SP 3 & 4 from several different sources & when I unzip it gets to about 99% & then says 'file is corrupt'..anyone know wtf is up with that? Do I need to use some specific extractor or program to install?
5000Mhz is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 2nd August 2003, 4:59 PM   #2
Bahamut Zer0
Member
 
Bahamut Zer0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 641
Default

WinRAR can extract the w2ksp4_en.exe file.

It should be 129 MB (135,477,136 bytes) and to extract with winrar, just right click it and select 'Extract to w2ksp4_en\'
If the file is indeed corrupt, winrar will report what it cannot extract.

If it extracts fine, just run the \w2ksp4_en\update\update.msi file to initiate the installer
__________________
Have you ever tried simply turning off the TV, sitting down with your children...and hitting them?
Bahamut Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2003, 12:08 AM   #3
5000Mhz Thread Starter
Member
 
5000Mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 1,165
Default

Hmmm..still no go..thats like 450Mb I have d/l for nothing..I even tried dropping a MSI file into the extracted files folder & still no go. Surely its not normally this difficult? I havent ever installed a Win2k service pack & the PC I'm trying it on aint mine but I get the same file corrupt error even if I try extracting it on my XP PC so somethings amiss..
5000Mhz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2003, 1:59 AM   #4
5000Mhz Thread Starter
Member
 
5000Mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 1,165
Default

yea sorry I shoulda mentioned I tried WINRAR also..the error message I got was similar to the Winzip error..I recall one error said something about wrong .inf file but that was after I dropped the installer into the folder & it was an NT installer (couldnt find one for win2k only NT & Win9x)..maybe I need to take a closer look at the logs...
5000Mhz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2003, 11:03 AM   #5
zzzzz
Member
 
zzzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia.
Posts: 1,822
Default

Did you download the files from Microsoft? I get the following with mine:

Filename: w2ksp4_en.exe
Size: 135,477,136 bytes (129.2 MB)
MD5: a4ef6c91d418418b287cefe31f958175
__________________
zzzzz private message
zzzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2003, 7:28 PM   #6
elvis
(Taking a Break)
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 22,701
Default

are you using a download accellerator like flashget or getright? these will often corrupt files from particular servers. i havea lot of problems with corrupted files that have been segment downloaded from places like microsoft.com and nvidia.com.
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2003, 7:32 PM   #7
5000Mhz Thread Starter
Member
 
5000Mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 1,165
Default

Yea the file I d/l is 135,477,136 bytes (129.2 MB). & I didnt use an accelerator program..dunno got me stuffed..might have to get it off a mate on CD or something..
5000Mhz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 7:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!