Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > General Software

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th August 2003, 11:17 AM   #1
THE_SHIZZ Thread Starter
Member
 
THE_SHIZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,477
Question jbmgr.exe or similar - Virus or Not?

My sister recieved an email from our aunty saying that this is a virus and she has it , and to delete it. Now i told her not to do it , even tho its not my pc, because it looked like a Hoax email and infact windows would probably need the file. She didnt listen and deleted it anyway.

I think it was called jbmgr.exe . Just wondering if i was right, and it isnt actually a virus , and if so , where would i get it again if its neccesary(i.e could i copy off my pc onto there's )


cheers
SHizz
__________________
OCAU Fishing Club Member #6
THE_SHIZZ is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 25th August 2003, 11:21 AM   #2
SpeedRacer
Member
 
SpeedRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,972
Default

You were indeed right if its the jdbgmgr.exe one . . . icon looks like a teddy bear?? It is a hoax.

Mind you if the person has deleted the file its no big drama either, unless they're a java developer. I think it has something to do with that. (If you wanted to replace it then you can just copy it from somewhere else back to its original location.)

Its been discussed on ocau in the past so do a search if you want to find out specific details of what its about.
__________________
Frangipani's on cars... Australia says NO!!!

Last edited by SpeedRacer; 25th August 2003 at 11:23 AM.
SpeedRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2003, 11:22 AM   #3
archie
Member
 
archie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: northmead, sydney
Posts: 2,854
Default

its not a virus, iirc its a java debugger or something along those lines, the icon is a teddy bear.

i think you can download it again from www.microsoft.com .

edit: above post just beat mine.
__________________
Monitor the air quality around you via this USB powered gas sensor
For all your gas detection needs
www.gasalarm.com.au


Last edited by archie; 25th August 2003 at 11:23 AM.
archie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2003, 11:37 AM   #4
THE_SHIZZ Thread Starter
Member
 
THE_SHIZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,477
Default

ok thanks guys

They are using home , i wonder if my XP Pro copy will work if i copy it over .
__________________
OCAU Fishing Club Member #6
THE_SHIZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2003, 12:36 PM   #5
MiGiSHu
Member
 
MiGiSHu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada ePenis Size: Whoppingly Large
Posts: 2,165
Default

Should be, both XP CD's should come with teh same copy of Java
__________________
Brotherhood Against PM Bidders - Member #42
PCDB -=- Your Brute Sucks -=- Got Spyware? -=- Bored? Play Games!
Ricing is to Cars as to Modding is to Computers
MiGiSHu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2003, 12:47 PM   #6
looktall
Working Class Hero
 
looktall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: morley.wa.au
Posts: 17,920
Default

tell your sister that just because she receives and email saying she could have a virus, doesn't always make it true. (as she's now found out. )

send her off to vmyths.
they have a huge database of virus hoaxes.
__________________
JoJoker endorses this product and/or comment.
looktall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2003, 12:53 PM   #7
MiGiSHu
Member
 
MiGiSHu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada ePenis Size: Whoppingly Large
Posts: 2,165
Default

So does www.snopes.com

But that's got lots more stuff in it too
__________________
Brotherhood Against PM Bidders - Member #42
PCDB -=- Your Brute Sucks -=- Got Spyware? -=- Bored? Play Games!
Ricing is to Cars as to Modding is to Computers
MiGiSHu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2003, 6:45 PM   #8
THE_SHIZZ Thread Starter
Member
 
THE_SHIZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,477
Default

haha yeh she is dumb . I was in my room , and she yell's "OI JOSH, WE DO HAVE THAT VIRUS , I WAS RIGHT " so i come out and she has opened up the search thing , and im like nah i think i remember that being a hoax , and as soon as i said that she is Shift + deleting it
__________________
OCAU Fishing Club Member #6
THE_SHIZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2003, 12:45 PM   #9
biatch
Member
 
biatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Brisbane
Posts: 1,687
Default

Here's a specific link to the virus hoax in question

http://vil.nai.com/vil/content/v_99436.htm
__________________
I have the ability of single-minded determination and focu... Hey, look! A horse!
biatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!