Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Networking, Telephony & Internet

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th January 2004, 1:40 PM   #1
leviathan Thread Starter
Member
 
leviathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 960
Question Help with Telstra call diversion

Well I have to use Dial Up for a couple of weeks whilst my ADSL Application goes through, and was wondering what the Telstra Call Diversion procedure is.

Basically I want to be Dialled up, and have my mobile ring when somebody tries to call our land line.
__________________
-
leviathan is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 8th January 2004, 1:43 PM   #2
Invictus
Member
 
Invictus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 1,155
Default

I believe its ...

Call Diversion Immediate
To activate, press * 21 (number diverting to) #
To de-activate, press #21#.

Call Diversion on Busy
To activate, press * 24 (number diverting to) #
To de-activate, press #24#.

Call Diversion on No Answer
To activate, press * 61 (number diverting to) #
To de-activate, press #61#.
__________________

"In a past life I had three arms, and two heads, and the days were 48 hours long.
I'm still struggling to adjust."
Invictus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2004, 1:47 PM   #3
leviathan Thread Starter
Member
 
leviathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 960
Default

Thanks.

Its no fun being back on Dial up
__________________
-
leviathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2004, 2:25 PM   #4
Iceman
Member
 
Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane (nth), Australia
Posts: 6,484
Default

Be aware that telstra charge 1) the person who dialed a local call fee 2) your phone as if it had dialed your mobile for as long as you talk
__________________
_,`,_,`,_,`,_

WTB: Cisco 1801-M PM me
Please rehash my posts and pass them off as your own ideas! Triple points for doing it in the same page of the thread. Plagiarism is the sincerest form of copyright infringement.
Iceman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2004, 2:32 PM   #5
leviathan Thread Starter
Member
 
leviathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 960
Default

Yeah I was aware of the extra charge.
I am used to being done from behind with Telstra.

Grrr.
3 months ago I finally bit the bullet to get ISDN installed after being told I couldn't get ADSL. Paid $120 for that, then to be told 3 months later, "Oh hang a sec, your exchange can now get ADSL". Paid about $140 to have ISDN removed, and now I have to pay even more money to apply for ADSL.

A little mobile bill transfer is not as bad as what I have had to recently put up with

/me Shake Fist in Air!
__________________
-
leviathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2004, 9:01 PM   #6
caspian
Member
 
caspian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,784
Default

Your other option is to add the free poverty-pack messagebank 101 service to your line, and check your messages occasionally.... cheaper than the divert, but of course you won't know someone has rung. Or just note the number on your mobile, answer if you want, and if not let it go through to your mobile m/bank.
caspian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2004, 11:34 PM   #7
Iceman
Member
 
Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane (nth), Australia
Posts: 6,484
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by caspian
Or just note the number on your mobile, answer if you want, and if not let it go through to your mobile m/bank.
For which you get charged another diversion fee
__________________
_,`,_,`,_,`,_

WTB: Cisco 1801-M PM me
Please rehash my posts and pass them off as your own ideas! Triple points for doing it in the same page of the thread. Plagiarism is the sincerest form of copyright infringement.
Iceman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2004, 7:07 AM   #8
mtech
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 142
Default

you're not around the point cook area are you? - that sounds exactly the same as happened to me

why did they charge you to remove ISDN?
mtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2004, 9:45 AM   #9
caspian
Member
 
caspian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,784
Default

Probably because he had it removed within the minimum contract period.
caspian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2004, 10:01 AM   #10
leviathan Thread Starter
Member
 
leviathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 960
Default

I moved into a new estate.
Was on a irim / cmux thing.
Told I couldn't get ADSL

Waited for 8 months and telstra released a new ISDN plan.
I think that was a contract thing, like you have to be on ISDN for 12 months or some crap like that. So 4 months after I have ISDN, my estate has done a deal with Telstra to get us 48 ADSL ports on the mini - cmux thing.

So I could of paid like $60 to have ISDN removed, and then cost like $200 to install a new phone line. Or I could pay $140 to "convert" my phone lines back.

Took the Telstra tech no more that 15 mins to do that.

So I am just throwing money around at the moment. Its not fun. I could of stayed on ISDN, heck i was doing 34 gig a month on it. But I couldn't browse at all.

I simply hate Telstra, and its costing me a fortune for just set up costs
__________________
-
leviathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!