Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Modding

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th April 2004, 10:01 PM   #1
gregzeng Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: ACT
Posts: 1,086
Default TV aerial type & orientation for best reception?

Using rabbit-ears, I move the ears for the WORST reception. Then 90 degreee twist for the best. Is this alway correct.

Do the rod-strut aerials work better indoors? Does an outdoor aerial aerial, used indoors, work better than other types of indoor aerials?

It was interesting to read in other posts here that each TV device might work better having its seperate aerial. Is this true?
gregzeng is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 26th April 2004, 4:27 PM   #2
Symon
(Plugging your Socket)
 
Symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Brisbane QLD
Posts: 3,369
Default Re: TV aerial type & orientation for best reception?

Quote:
Originally posted by gregzeng
Using rabbit-ears, I move the ears for the WORST reception. Then 90 degreee twist for the best. Is this alway correct.

Do the rod-strut aerials work better indoors? Does an outdoor aerial aerial, used indoors, work better than other types of indoor aerials?

It was interesting to read in other posts here that each TV device might work better having its seperate aerial. Is this true?
Do some googling on antenna design, it really is an area of study in itself. The rabbit ear technique you describe may work in some areas, but not always. It all depends on how your TV station is set up.

By a "rod strut" antenna I assume you are talking about a Yagi (the ones with a long boom and elements along it at right angles to the boom). Generally speaking outdoor antennas will outperform any indoor antenna (going purely on design). You might not have enough room in your lounge room though to stick up a 22 element Yagi though...

And yes TV's will work better if they have their own antenna. If you have a few TV's off the same line, and you are having troubles, you may need a booster.
__________________
Founder of the bakasan Technical College -- My Web Server in a Box -- www.phased.com.au - electricians online community

"The biggest problem in Australia is the tall poppy syndrome. Without tall poppies you have only weeds" - Lindsay Fox
Symon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004, 6:20 PM   #3
GeeBee
Member
 
GeeBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 6,640
Default

Depends on alot of things. Standard TV is transmitted in the VHF and UHF bands which makes it pretty much line of sight so a higher antenna mast may improve reception. TV signals are also subject to reflection which is when they are bounced off objects such as buildings which may either bounce the signal to you or prevent it reaching you. It is also subject to dead spots which result when the same signal takes 2 different paths to a location and arrives 180 degrees out of phase and cancels itself out at that point. Other factors play a role in the quality of signal you get as well. Quality of components plays a big role in the signal that actually reaches the reciever from the antenna however very expensive top end components dont generally provide much benefit for the money you will shell out for them though it is worth avoiding the bottom end cheapies. If you want to shell out the cash antenna companies have frequency spectrum analysers that they can do a survey of the reception at your place with and advise on the best setup.
__________________
There is a difference between a winner and a hero.

Quote:
Originally Posted by -KoMoD0- View Post
how can someone be ignorant when they dont know any better?
GeeBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2004, 6:35 AM   #4
gregzeng Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: ACT
Posts: 1,086
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GeeBee
Depends on alot of things.
...
If you want to shell out the cash antenna companies have frequency spectrum analysers that they can do a survey of the reception at your place with and advise on the best setup.
I notice that some indoor antennas have rotary knobs to "tune" the aerial, as well as being able change the direction of the aerial. Do these work? Also, sometimes signal amplifier are used, at the aerial, etc ... are these ok for simple internal aerials ? Perhaps they just amplify the ghosts, noise & distortions?
gregzeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2004, 5:07 PM   #5
GeeBee
Member
 
GeeBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 6,640
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gregzeng
I notice that some indoor antennas have rotary knobs to "tune" the aerial, as well as being able change the direction of the aerial. Do these work? Also, sometimes signal amplifier are used, at the aerial, etc ... are these ok for simple internal aerials ? Perhaps they just amplify the ghosts, noise & distortions?
Inline amps often called a booster box will reduce ghosting and distortion. If you want to try the indoor type of antenna try tandy as they will let you return the product if it doesnt do the job so you wont be out of pocket. Dick smith probably has a similar policy. Be sure to ask first as this may have changed since I did a similar thing.
__________________
There is a difference between a winner and a hero.

Quote:
Originally Posted by -KoMoD0- View Post
how can someone be ignorant when they dont know any better?
GeeBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2004, 3:27 PM   #6
gregzeng Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: ACT
Posts: 1,086
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GeeBee
Inline amps often called a booster box will reduce ghosting and distortion. If you want to try the indoor type of antenna try tandy as they will let you return the product if it doesnt do the job so you wont be out of pocket. Dick smith probably has a similar policy. Be sure to ask first as this may have changed since I did a similar thing.
DSE & Tandy are owned by the same cvompany. Thank you for the very good suggestion.
gregzeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 6:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!