Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Networking, Telephony & Internet

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20th June 2004, 11:43 PM   #1
rockofclay Thread Starter
Member
 
rockofclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Melbourne, 3056
Posts: 1,325
Question Why won't my torrent finish?

I'm downloading a program about 2 gig and it gets to 99.7% complete, with 5.8Mb remaining and just keeps on downloading without completing. There are over 20 seeds and just won't finish.

Please help someone.
rockofclay is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 20th June 2004, 11:57 PM   #2
fallen
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 257
Default

Usually if the torrent keeps on downloading the size reported is actually incorrect. The torrent will finish once all the parts have been downloaded. I've had it happen with a few files lately, with up to 50MB "extra" downloaded.
fallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2004, 12:03 AM   #3
rockofclay Thread Starter
Member
 
rockofclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Melbourne, 3056
Posts: 1,325
Default

It has actually downloaded 500Mb over the reported size. Does that sound strange?
rockofclay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2004, 12:09 AM   #4
fallen
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 257
Default

It does, but I'd be inclined to let it keep downloading because to my experience it's only continuing to download 'cause the real size is a lot bigger than what the torrent file reported it to be
fallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2004, 6:24 PM   #5
mibberz
Member
 
mibberz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Kalgoorlie
Posts: 2,637
Default

i had one that had one bad section and downloaded that bad seection off this oneguy for 2 weeks 400meg down the drain then another guy jumped on and bam finished
__________________
Referer links are not permitted on OCAU. incase people didnt know!
OCAU Scuba Diver Member #01
My Ebay Stuff
Urban Dead rocks!
mibberz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2004, 7:47 PM   #6
NV28_OF_NV28GL
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 322
Default

I would agree with mibberz. Corrupted blocks are your problem. Configure your client to autoban hosts that send lots of corrupted blocks your way, otherwise you'll download the same thing over and over again.
__________________
OCAU MetaL Club Member #39
NV28_OF_NV28GL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2004, 8:00 PM   #7
Gigitt
Member
 
Gigitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 578
Default

It depends on the client if you get this information.

Bittornado gives you each segment size under "Details"
Under "Advanced" you will see:
Total Segments, how many segments to go, how many segments just started, how many segments finished, and last but not least how many BAD or extra information downloaded.

This extra information is a segment that was not valid, or failed the HASH check, so it is redownloaded. Hopefully it is redownloaded from another source or sources so you don't get another corrupted segment.

Also depending on your client... Bittornado does KICK and BAN client IP's if they are delivering corrupt packets or not following correct protocols... (You can see these under "Advanced" which is good as these IP's generally are the ones giving you bad data and by not downloading from them again you should get that segement without corrupt data.

Each bad segment is counted as part of your download but discarded... and the segment is redownloaded... that is why you can download more than what the file actually states.

Last edited by Gigitt; 23rd June 2004 at 8:03 PM.
Gigitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2004, 12:42 PM   #8
zetter
Member
 
zetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Woodcroft, SA
Posts: 272
Default

This link from the Azuerus Wiki fixed the problem for me when I had a similar thing happening (the thumbs.db file)
zetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2004, 9:01 AM   #9
chewbucca
Member
 
chewbucca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,797
Default

rockofclay, how did it turn out in the end?
__________________
Bobby Fischer: "I like the moment when I break a man's ego."
chewbucca is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!