Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Overclocking & Hardware

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th July 2001, 3:24 PM   #1
BLeR Thread Starter
Member
 
BLeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Gold Coast, QLD
Posts: 417
Default Fake Kingmax 256mb?

Hello,

I just went outand brought a stick of Kingmax 256mb. I already had 2 x 128mb sticks of Kingmax, and am now questioning if I got what I paid for. My 2 x 128mb sticks have Kingmax stamped on the actual RAM chips, however my 256mb stick has MTI (MGI?) instead. It does have a Kingmax sticker on it, but that could be faked easily...

Can someone please do me a favour and have a look at their Kingmax stick? Preferably a 256mb stick. Im at work at the moment so can't get the serial number from the chip (I can compare these at Kingmax's website).

Any info is appreciative!

BLeR
BLeR is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 14th July 2001, 5:29 PM   #2
JonZA
Member
 
JonZA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melb
Posts: 72
Default

is it made with the tinyBGA stuff?
JonZA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2001, 5:33 PM   #3
BLeR Thread Starter
Member
 
BLeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Gold Coast, QLD
Posts: 417
Default

Yeh its small but not as small as the Kingmax chips on the 128mb modules. Also, it says version 1.0 on the 256mb chip....I thought they were now at 1.2, or this could only be for the 128mb sticks.

DOH now I'm confused...

BLeR
BLeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2001, 5:47 PM   #4
max223
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NSW 2114
Posts: 1,384
Default

dude, we recently bought 6 pieces of kingmax 256MB PC150, all have kingmax stamp on the chips and it's version 1.0. Don't know how much would that help bcos you are talking about the PC133 one.
max223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2001, 5:50 PM   #5
Mako
Member
 
Mako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Mornington Peninsula, Vic
Posts: 814
Default

well all the chips i have, have kingmax on them so i would check.
and the newer 128 and 256 are ver 1.0.
but the best thing to do will email www.kingmax.com.au and ask them.
oh yea i have pc150.
__________________
Transmission loss... Woot!
Mako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2001, 7:25 PM   #6
buddyholly
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 66
Wink

yeah mate - I just bought another 256Mb stick of the pc-150 from gamedude and the chips are exactly the same size as my other stick of knigmax pc 133 - only the 256 is double sided and the numbering on the chips is identical except for the last couple of digits

ie pc 133 ........A1A-07
pc 150 ........A2A-06
buddyholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2001, 2:09 PM   #7
BLeR Thread Starter
Member
 
BLeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Gold Coast, QLD
Posts: 417
Default

Ok heres whats on the chip:

Sticker has:
MPGB63S-68K13
P160283.03 MAA

The actual RAM chips have the following on them:
KTI
TSV684T4A2A

I checked out Kingmaxs web site and found that the sticker information matches what a 256mb module should be. I wonder if KTI stands for Kingmax Technologies International....I also did a search for a review on Kingmax RAM and found one that was reviewing Kingmax/KTI RAM, so I guess I've got the right stuff.

Hopefully Kingmax reply to my email anyway

BLeR

Last edited by BLeR; 15th July 2001 at 2:18 PM.
BLeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2001, 2:11 PM   #8
max223
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NSW 2114
Posts: 1,384
Default

where did you buy it?
max223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2001, 2:19 PM   #9
BLeR Thread Starter
Member
 
BLeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Gold Coast, QLD
Posts: 417
Default

A place called Best Computers on the Gold Coast.
BLeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2001, 2:35 PM   #10
max223
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NSW 2114
Posts: 1,384
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BLeR
A place called Best Computers on the Gold Coast.
No idea...

Fingers crossed the kingmax will get back on you. Good luck.
max223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2001, 12:26 PM   #11
BLeR Thread Starter
Member
 
BLeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Gold Coast, QLD
Posts: 417
Default

Ok heres what I got back from Kingmax:

Dear Sir:

1.KTI chip: Is made by Kingmax USA ,mainly use for ibm,compaq,viking product ,system builder.price cheaper on qty order).
2.Kingmax chip: Is made by Kingmax taiwan,mainly use for the retail market.
No difference on the chip and quality.

256MB & 128MB: 256MB use 16 x8 chip (bigger) than 128MB 8x8 chip.But the new 128MB now also use 16x8 chip.

Jay

:


Looks like Kingmax might be stearing away from TinyBGA?

Anyway, at least I know its real

BLeR
BLeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!