Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Troubleshooting Help

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 1st August 2005, 9:07 PM   #1
Li0n Thread Starter
Member
 
Li0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney North West
Posts: 59
Default BIOS update on 8kha+ --> retarted sound on Vibra128

Hi

I flashed my bios (epox 8kha+) earlier today because i just bought a 200 gig maxtor hdd and the current revision didn't support >137gig hdd's. So anyway, after flashing it and getting everything working i started playing my mp3's on winamp and i noticed that there's a very minute static sound coming in randomly and lasts for like 1/10000000000000th of a second, though just enough for me to notice.

I have absolutely no idea why this is so, and im assuming the reason mp3s are retarted now is because of the flash. The soundcard im using atm is a vibra128 with the onboard sound disabled.

Anyone got an idea?
because google doesn't and yeah

update

i tried different BIOS rev's, switching PCI slots, i even did a clean format etc, no luck, im going berserk here.


An observation i made though was that when im doing alot of HDD activity, the static sound becomes much more frequent in the music. I sent an email to epox tech support to see what they can do about it.





Thanks in advance
__________________
Trades with 40+ Forum members
Li0n is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 2nd August 2005, 6:16 PM   #2
MadOnion87
Member
 
MadOnion87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Old Trafford, Manchester
Posts: 3,236
Default

sounds like something flooded your pci bus
what else do you have in your comp?
try pull out everything and check irq sharing
maybe try assigning a specific irq to your sound card?
__________________
Manchester United
Old Trafford, theatre of dreams

Any language that doesn't support inline assembly is too high level for me =(
MadOnion87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2005, 9:34 PM   #3
Li0n Thread Starter
Member
 
Li0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney North West
Posts: 59
Default

irq sharing was fine, well somewhat


nevertheless i found the problem vvv


http://alive.singnet.com.sg/tech/click.htm

http://www.georgebreese.com/net/software/

http://adsl.cutw.net/dlink-dsl200-via.html

http://www.geocities.com/phileosopho...cilatency.html


following links above are ones which i used.
Only program i installed was the PCI Latency patch, it fixed it instantaneously


thanks for the help all, i posted the links for reference for others incase the shit problem happens to them
__________________
Trades with 40+ Forum members
Li0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!