Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Troubleshooting Help

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th March 2002, 8:51 AM   #1
niai Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 25
Default EPOX, WinXP, Nvidia GEFORCE 3, DIVX and Invinite Loop Problem

My Problem:
1. Computer Freezes at random intervals when watching DIVX movies,
this is unrecoverable and requires a reboot using either the reboot
button or holding down the power button for 5 seconds. There is no
BSOD, the image freezes and the soundcard plays the same sound over
and over. This suggests that the graphics card and sound card are
still working, but the operating system has failed.

2. Invinite Loop BSOD when playing Aliens VS Predator 2, although no
problems playing Half-Life mods. I have only seen this problem a few
times so far when playing. Although I recently encountered problems at
a LAN party where AVP would crash in the same way as the DIVX movies
would when playing a network game.

Solutions Tried:
1. Removed soundcard
2. Changed graphics card for old Creative Labs TNT2 Ultra
3. Removed NIC
4. Swapped RAM
5. Different Nvidia Drivers
6. Different DIVX Versions
None of these solutions worked. I am unsure if this is a software
problem or a hardware problem.

My System:

Epox 8K7A+ Motherboard
Taisol CGK760092 CPU Cooler
AMD Athlon XP 1700
Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 ECC CAS-2.5 (Registered) RAM
AGP Gainward Geforce 3 Ti 550 Golden Sample
Creative Labs Soundblaster LIVE 1024
3COM 3C905-TX NIC

30 Gig Maxtor Drive - IDE Controller Primary Master
CyberDrive CDRW - IDE Controller Secondary Master
60 Gig IBM Drive - RAID Controller Primary Master
Creative DVD Drive - RAID Controller Secondary Master

Software:

BIOS Updated to latest (BIOS Date 3/4/2002) from
(http://www.epox.com/html/english/sup.../bios/8k7a.htm)
Windows XP Pro Build 1600 w all Windowsupdate patches
Nvidia Official 2.8.3.2 Drivers
VIA Apollo IDE busmaster Drivers v3.014
DIVX 5.0 Pro


Thanks in advance for any advice you could give me.

Iain
niai is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 27th March 2002, 7:44 PM   #2
tired
Member
 
tired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 5,619
Default

Consensus in the Via forums is the power supply is to blame and if the power supply is inadequete it can help in causing these problems.

Therefore , they are telling people to buy better made and more well known supplies known for their quality.
__________________
OCAU Guitar Players Club
tired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2002, 1:06 AM   #3
happygilmore
Member
 
happygilmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Hiding from a stalker
Posts: 1,168
Default

here's a longshot, but Norton AV off my epox 8kta3 CD did this to me.
happygilmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2002, 9:28 AM   #4
maddhatter
Member
 
maddhatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: 21.1607S, 149.0648E
Posts: 4,804
Default

Turn off Sideband addressing (if you've tried tweaking it using nvtweak or the like, and also in your bios) and turn off AGP fastwrites in bios.
__________________
99 bugs in the code, 99 little bugs.
Take one down, patch it around.
127 little bugs in the code.
maddhatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2002, 3:17 PM   #5
sabretooth
Overdue for a new title
 
sabretooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: QLD
Posts: 8,241
Default

22.81 detonators stopped BSODs with a GeForce 3 for me (When 23.11's were the latest)
sabretooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2002, 4:58 PM   #6
pat77
Member
 
pat77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,793
Wink Memory Settings

It also comes down to how aggressive your memory settings are also. Try reducing the aggressiveness of your memory settings and install the 28.32 XP Dets. Also try the suggestion of reducing your video card memory settings also if they are tweaked to high also.
__________________
A hero need not speak, for when he is gone the world will speak for him...
pat77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2002, 4:59 PM   #7
sabretooth
Overdue for a new title
 
sabretooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: QLD
Posts: 8,241
Default

Also try the latency patch, and the latest 4in1's.
sabretooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2002, 5:38 PM   #8
Wolf
Lex generalis
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Southbank
Posts: 8,506
Default

Assuming your psu is decent and you aren't pushing your system - o/c fsb/cpu, low memory latency, etc there could still be a couple things to explain the problem...

Try installing XP with a different HAL, some of the VIA chipsets I have delt with worked better with 'Standard PC' than the default ACPI HAL - this lets the bios control IRQ settings, so you have more control over devices sharing resources...

For best results, install with only your video card inserted - Use the F5 key to reach the HAL options menu when first installing XP - select 'Standard PC' - When finished, add devices one by one, without using the first PCI slot so you don't share an IRQ with your video card...

In my experience - don't bother installing any of the via 4-1 drivers - (unless you are having latency or USB problems) - XP seems to run fine without them.

Then when you finish up with the latest drivers etc for your cards - try the same programs etc - and hopefully you'll no longer have the problem... (NB - I could be way off here, but after having some headaches with via chipsets in the past , I now use this method - and it hasn't failed yet
Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2002, 9:57 AM   #9
niai Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 25
Default

OK, So I thought I had fixed my system by making the following changes.

BIOS Updated to Custom BIOS including latest Highpoint (2.31) from http://www.biosmods.com/bios.php?cla...rsion=1b26_231. Installing 2.31 Highpoint drivers, and moving the harddisks and cdroms around so the cd drives were on the IDE controller and the harddisks on the Raid. In addition it turned out that my motherboard had been configured incorrectly and the jumper on it was set to a 100Mhz FSB instead of 133. The machine was, however, set to 133 in the BIOS so the AGP and PCI bus were both being stressed due to the way the Epox 8K7A sets those speeds. I have now corrected this and the PCI and AGP bus are both running at the correct speed.

AFAIK I am not stressing the machine in anyway, although I am unsure about the BIOS settings I should use for the AGP and Memory. I currently have left the Memory to automatic settings and the AGP is set to 4x and Fast Writes disabled. AFAIK The 8K7A doesn't require the 4-in-1's.

I'm not too bothered about the infinite loop problem as it doesn't occur in the games I play the most. However the DIVX freezing continues to occur. I have just reinstalled Windows using the Standard PC HAL instead of the ACPI one as adviced by Wolf, but I get the strange feeling this may be a hardware error. Although how-come the computer doesn't display the same symptoms when I perform any other task?

Could this be a hardware issue?
niai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2002, 2:35 AM   #10
niai Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 25
Default

Just to update, it has frozen when watching a DIVX with ACPI disabled.
niai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2002, 3:33 PM   #11
niai Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 25
Default

Ok so two months after this problem first appeared I think I have it solved.

The solution? Install AMD Miniport Drivers.

Let's hope I don't see it again, because if I do i'm gonna cry.
niai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2002, 3:26 AM   #12
niai Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 25
Default

I'm close to tears (honest).

My computer decided to freeze again. My next plan is to try another psu to see if it has the same problem.
niai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2002, 9:22 AM   #13
Bahamut Zer0
Member
 
Bahamut Zer0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 641
Default

I had the 8k7a board and i had not one single problem. I sometimes wish I still had it actually, I gave up raid for the 8kha+


Anyway, in your memory page (in bios), there is a performance setting with values like normal, fast, fastest and Turbo. Try putting it on normal and try and reproduce the error.
If all is well, go up a notch (fast) and try again. Keep going as far as you can until you get the error. Document what settings are changed when you go from stable setting to crash setting and then troubleshoot why it would be doing that.

Also, if you are overclocking your geforce, put it back to stock speeds. I get crashes as well when watching/encoding divx with my vid card overclocked.
I also get frequent crashes with AvP. The latest patch fixed it up though.

Currently using 27.52 dets and i havnt seen a loop yet

good luck!
__________________
Have you ever tried simply turning off the TV, sitting down with your children...and hitting them?
Bahamut Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2002, 8:34 PM   #14
niai Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 25
Default

Memory settings are currently at normal. It crashes when the Geforce isn't overclocked.

I had a look at the power supply in the machine and its got 300W Total Power and 165W Combined power. Epox recommend a 350W Total with 195W Combined power according to an email they sent me. I am going to try another PSU which meets these recommended values.
niai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2002, 9:55 PM   #15
niai Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 25
Default

Have tried a PSU which exceeds EPOXs recommended values. Still freezes when watching DIVX movies.

Invinite Loop problem has completely gone.

Could this be the CPU? It only crashes when watching DIVX movies in any software with any DIVX codec version.

The CPU and Motherboard are the only things I haven't changed.
niai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 2:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!