Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - PC Database - QuickLinks - Job Search - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Portable and Small Form Factor


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th June 2006, 12:28 PM   #1
Julz Thread Starter
Member
 
Julz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Doncaster East, Victoria
Posts: 2,674
Default $499 Toshiba on TV?

Hi,

Not sure if anyone else saw these ads on late nite TV but some company was advertising Toshiba laptops for $499 + $39.95 postage.

I called up their 1300 66 48 52 number to enquire about it and what the catch was or why it was so cheap. She couldn't tell me because she was just taking orders as long as the company had stock. It seems like the company behind the deal wants to remain anonymous because I asked if I could get some more details about the company, website, etc. because I was skeptical about handing over my credit card details to a company I knew nothing about.

Anyway she told me the laptops were in stock, brand new with 7 days money back guarantee and a 12 month warranty.

Here are the specs:

Toshiba Satellite A75-S211
15.4" WS 1280x800 LCD
ATI Mobility
80gb HDD
Pentium 4 3.2GHZ
DVD +/- R burner
512mb RAM
Wifi super-G
MS XP HOME

Seems way too good to be true but if it is the real deal then its a steal at that price. I'm tempted to just put in an order because credit card companys have insurance against fraud but im going overseas for 2 weeks so I wont be home.

What do you think? Is it legit? They had several ads on TV so its publically known.
Julz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 12:39 PM   #2
Anarki
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,235
Default

Hi,

There is a thread about this one - seems dodgy: http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh...d.php?t=481872

Cheers,
Sam
__________________
My trades list is here.
__________________

Anarki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 12:43 PM   #3
Crystallin
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,595
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Julz
What do you think? Is it legit?
There's another thread about these laptops, but nobody is replying to it anymore, so hopefully this thread stays too.

My opinion is that the deal is legit. However, there's a catch. Have a read of this link:

http://reviews.cnet.com/5208-7587-0....ssageID=629003

To sum it up in a few words, the Toshiba A75 has some major faults. It has serious overheating problems, and touching the speaker grilles cause the computer to crash, so that's why they're being sold so cheap.

I think the low price more than makes up for the problems though. I mean, what sort of alternative is there for $500? None, if you want a brand new laptop...

Just curious, but what did she say when you asked about the company? I haven't called them yet, but I will in a day or two.
Crystallin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 12:56 PM   #4
Julz Thread Starter
Member
 
Julz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Doncaster East, Victoria
Posts: 2,674
Default

ah ok cool thanks will check out that thread.


she seemed very sketchy on the company. She sounded as if she didnt know who they were either (ie she was just a telemarketer). She couldnt give me a website of the company or tell me what the company does, etc. or a reason why they were so cheap.

She told me to google the laptop to find more info on it.
Julz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 12:56 PM   #5
Conventional
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 22
Default

I think i read somewhere in the last thread that Toshiba Australia claimed that these units were refurbished units and therefore would not be coming under their warranty.

In addition to this, one member called up and asked for an ETA on the laptops and was given an estimate of 6-8 weeks. This raises the speculation that these units are being shipped from overseas in bulk. This also checks in with the claims and position of Toshiba Australia on these units.

Remember, you get what you pay for. This company is obviously making a profit somehow, so think about it

But then again, this is all idle speculation - you wont know until you take the plunge.
Conventional is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 1:40 PM   #6
Kelvin
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,668
Default

Saw the ad last night...

Nowehere did it say the laptops were new..

and it stated a 12month conditional warranty...
(?What on earth is a conditional warranty...._
Kelvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 1:56 PM   #7
Julz Thread Starter
Member
 
Julz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Doncaster East, Victoria
Posts: 2,674
Default

i called them and they told me it was new.

have a read of the other thread more info there
Julz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2006, 4:31 PM   #8
aussie7
Member
 
aussie7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Leichhardt, Sydney
Posts: 1,491
Default

There's already a huge post in the PUB about this

http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh...hlight=toshiba
__________________
lending money to friends is like gambling and you should only gamble what you can afford to lose
PCDB Entry

FS - AMD MB / 3000+ / 1GB Ram
aussie7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2006, 5:10 PM   #9
Varuna
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydneys Northern Beaches.
Posts: 1,050
Default

Whingepool also has a large thread. The consensus isnt good.
__________________
If all else fails, immortality can always be assured by spectacular error.

Last edited by Varuna; 22nd June 2006 at 5:12 PM.
Varuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:40 AM.


eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. - This page served to you by: surf
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!