Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Newbie Lounge

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th September 2006, 11:12 PM   #1
steve_stogwart Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 343
Default Winamp not always on top

I just installed winamp and checked 'always on top'.

The problem is that only part of it will stay on top when IE is open (and maybe other programs, i haven't really noticed). The playlist stays on top, but the other part doesn't. Also it dissapears when i 'show desktop'.

I had fixed it one other time, but i can't remember how. I'm pretty sure it's some option within winamp itself.

Any help would be appreciated.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by technophiliac
i got a free box of detergent anda dust pan

Last edited by steve_stogwart; 10th September 2006 at 11:15 PM.
steve_stogwart is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 11th September 2006, 7:23 AM   #2
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 98,956
Default

There's an "aways on top" function but I've found it doesn't work anymore. Used to work perfectly but all of a sudden with a certain release it stopped working properly, no idea why. I haven't been able to get it working properly for quite a while now.....but I'm never sure if it has something to do with the theming I'm using or not. I share your pain.
__________________
The Prime Minister of Australia: "no one can be the suppository of all wisdom''
abbott on the NBN: "We're not against using the internet, errr, for all these things, ah but do we really want to invest $50billion dollars of hard earned tax payers money on what is essentially a video entertainment system."
| Co2 is weightless apparently
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2006, 8:14 AM   #3
lagmaster
Member
 
lagmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,071
Default

Just uncheck it and check it again, and she comes good.

(I think it's a bug.)
__________________
My other PC is a kebab.
lagmaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2006, 8:19 AM   #4
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 98,956
Default

Tried that, no good for me, if it's a bug it's a bug that's been around for a while now :/
__________________
The Prime Minister of Australia: "no one can be the suppository of all wisdom''
abbott on the NBN: "We're not against using the internet, errr, for all these things, ah but do we really want to invest $50billion dollars of hard earned tax payers money on what is essentially a video entertainment system."
| Co2 is weightless apparently
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2006, 9:33 AM   #5
CoolerMaster
Member
 
CoolerMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SA
Posts: 599
Default

There is an option in the preferences to do with running full screen programs and always on top that fixed it for me. I'm at work now so I don't have winamp to check, but i'll post when I get home.
__________________
X-Blade Case|Opteron 150|GA-K8NXP-9|2GB OCZ EL Platinum Rev. 2|Powercolor X1800XT 512Mb|OCZ Modstream 520W|2x74GB Raptors|2xWD2000JS|300GB Barracuda 7200.8|Pioneer 212D|Liteon SHW-1635S|X-Fi Platinum|Dell 2707WFP|Samsung 930BF|Logitech G15|Logitech G7|Logitech Z-640's|Trades
CoolerMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2006, 10:14 AM   #6
SuiCid3
Member
 
SuiCid3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: 2007
Posts: 3,267
Default

My Winamp ALWAYS stays on top.... it always ticks itself again every time I exit the program.
__________________
'To be pleased with one's limits is a wretched state'
- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
SuiCid3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2006, 10:57 AM   #7
cyanidebubbles
Member
 
cyanidebubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 120
Default

click on winamp, and press Ctrl +A, and to unlock it, press it again
cyanidebubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2006, 12:37 PM   #8
steve_stogwart Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolerMaster
There is an option in the preferences to do with running full screen programs and always on top that fixed it for me. I'm at work now so I don't have winamp to check, but i'll post when I get home.
Yeah this guy is on the money. I eventually worked it out.

So yeah you have to have always on top ticked, but for some stupid reason it still fucks up.

You then also have to untick "disable always on top while fullscreen applications are focused" in down the bottom of the general preferences. If you do that the 'always on top' function will work like it should have worked in the first place.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by technophiliac
i got a free box of detergent anda dust pan
steve_stogwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2006, 11:19 PM   #9
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 98,956
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve_stogwart
You then also have to untick "disable always on top while fullscreen applications are focused" in down the bottom of the general preferences. If you do that the 'always on top' function will work like it should have worked in the first place.
Almost forgot about this thread, was going to try this a while back. Just for the record this solution worked for me, everything back to normal.

Cheers for the tip.
__________________
The Prime Minister of Australia: "no one can be the suppository of all wisdom''
abbott on the NBN: "We're not against using the internet, errr, for all these things, ah but do we really want to invest $50billion dollars of hard earned tax payers money on what is essentially a video entertainment system."
| Co2 is weightless apparently
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!