Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Other Topics > Audio Visual

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd October 2006, 5:03 PM   #1
spawn154 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 352
Default How to connect Foxtel Digital to new LCD TV?

Hello,

We are just about to purchase a 40" LCD.

I am just checking the best way to connect Foxtel Digital to the TV.

Currently we use 3 x RCA's (Red White and Yellow). What type of connection is this? And does it only output stereo sound?

I am looking into the SCART to 5 RCA (RGB + 2 audio I am assuming) as a solution to the new setup, as I believe the current connection we are using (Red White Yellow) is the worst for picture quality?

But what connection from the Foxtel Digital box would give the best image + sound to an LCD TV?

I am also confused between RGB, Composite and whatever the Red White Yellow connections are called, and what order in performance they rank.

Thanks Guys!
__________________
Asus U30SD-RX067X
spawn154 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 2nd October 2006, 5:10 PM   #2
HellsAngel
Member
 
HellsAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,342
Default

Use Scart to Component. Best for Foxtel.
HellsAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 6:31 PM   #3
aussie7
Member
 
aussie7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Home
Posts: 1,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HellsAngel
Use Scart to Component. Best for Foxtel.
Do you mean this one

http://www.hometheatre.net.au/foxtelcable.htm
__________________
lending money to friends is like gambling and you should only gamble what you can afford to lose

Wanted Lego Figures
aussie7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 7:09 PM   #4
HellsAngel
Member
 
HellsAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,342
Default

Yeah

The one we use for main TV we paid $80 from JB

The one I use for my Dell 2407 in my room I got from Ebay for $24 delivered.
HellsAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 7:18 PM   #5
aussie7
Member
 
aussie7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Home
Posts: 1,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HellsAngel
Yeah

The one we use for main TV we paid $80 from JB

The one I use for my Dell 2407 in my room I got from Ebay for $24 delivered.
Thanks, I just pulled that link for google for illustration purposes
__________________
lending money to friends is like gambling and you should only gamble what you can afford to lose

Wanted Lego Figures
aussie7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 7:52 PM   #6
beeker
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 537
Default

I am using a SCART to component for my connection. I don't use the speakers from the TV though. I've plugged it via optical to my receiver. It's a pity I don't get real 5.1 from Foxtel

Foxtel actually makes Scart to component cables. I foolishly got some and then realised that they have composites from the same connector.

Replaced those when I could. Anybody want the Foxtel branded cables, I'm more than happy to give it away
beeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2006, 6:51 PM   #7
timc
Member
 
timc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 765
Default

Foxtel will look crap on your LCD unfortunatley. Doesnt do the TV any justice anyway its connected.
timc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2006, 8:11 AM   #8
oz-boofhead
Member
 
oz-boofhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 54
Default

Jaycar also supply a suitable cable

http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView...Max=&SUBCATID=

Use this on the Panasonic plasma (through to the Yamaha Receiver) on the main TV, and on the setup in the bedroom to a Philips CRT TV - picture quality is about a good as you are going to get from Foxtel (better than the standard composite)
__________________
Core2Duo E6600 @ 3.1Ghz/Big Typhoon | 2GB G.Skill 6400PHU-2GBHZ | ASUS P5W DH Deluxe | ATI HD 4870MB | 2x Seagate 320GB | Thermaltake ToughPower 750w | Antec P180B | Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music
oz-boofhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2006, 6:05 PM   #9
DoCsIs
Member
 
DoCsIs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hornsby, Sydney
Posts: 1,419
Default

Sorry mate Im going to have to agree with timc, foxtel looks like rubbish on my LCD tv using component. Some stuff looks good (cricket on 9, movies) but most of the stuff is just shit.
DoCsIs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2006, 9:21 PM   #10
Yianni69
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Slightly off topic, but anyone connected their PC with ReelTime to TV, and what sort of results do you get?

Im on a MAC, running Parrallels (so watch it on my Mac Monitor) which is ok - but I cant find a connector for the Mac to connect to the TV in any case (Mac has this square video output) - S- Video seems to have disappeared on these new Intel Mac's........
Yianni69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2006, 1:07 PM   #11
darken_rahl
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Melbourne VIC
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoCsIs
Sorry mate Im going to have to agree with timc, foxtel looks like rubbish on my LCD tv using component. Some stuff looks good (cricket on 9, movies) but most of the stuff is just shit.
what lcd? a mate's parent's 32" acer even looks surprisingly awesome with foxtel.
darken_rahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2006, 7:15 PM   #12
spawn154 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 352
Default

Do you think there is any quality difference between the linked Jaycar Component cables and say $150 component cables?

I saw some today at a Lifesytles store and they wanted $160 for a set of component cables.

I think not...... but

Cheers
__________________
Asus U30SD-RX067X
spawn154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2006, 11:15 PM   #13
timc
Member
 
timc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 765
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darken_rahl
what lcd? a mate's parent's 32" acer even looks surprisingly awesome with foxtel.
Foxtel is a low quality image through any medium. (cable or satellite). It is a 'nature of the beast' issue due to the conversion of most of these channels from NTSC to PAL. (Soccer for example from Europe is PAL NATIVE then it gets sent to the states which is NTSC so it has to be CONVERTED to NTSC this is then sent out on the world feed which foxtel receives and CONVERTS IT TO PAL.)

You must have very forgiving eyes if you think the PQ is awesome. Watchable yes for sure but awesome is not the word to use. I am a Foxtel lover by the way but for a pay service the quality should be atleast onpar with FTA. This is the general consensus.

If you are after anymore info on this issue the Aussie DTV forums are full of info www.dtvforum.info

Cheers

Tim

Last edited by timc; 5th October 2006 at 11:24 PM.
timc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!