Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 9th November 2006, 2:33 AM   #1
eva2000 Thread Starter
DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 21,895
Talking Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - Kentsfield + D975XBX Bad Axe rev304

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - Kentsfield


Yesterday afternoon a courier dropped off a new toy for me to play with, an Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield B3/Step 7 quad core cpu

QUPT, Week 32, 2006

Dropped it in a Intel D975XBX Bad Axe rev304 motherboard with latest 1441 bios and it is recognised as Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 cpu. Ignore the processor speed of 3.72Ghz, the bios since day 1 has misreported the speed IF the fsb strap is changed from default to say 1067fsb or 1333fsb strap. Right now it's set at 1067fsb strap.


Temps look okay for idle pretty close to my E6600 and E6700 B1 cpus on same cooling. I used the new application method for AS5 listed here.


New feature in bios that i have never seen on D975XBX Bad Axe board when i used my E6600 and E6700 B1 cpus, a selectable cpu multiplier!

The default vcore is 1.275v for Coretemp VID but i had 1.3125v vcore set in bios on my previous session with E6700 cpu. With 1.275v vcore set in bios, vcore reads 1.242v with 43C idle cpu temps. The default settings with automatic multiplier:


The manual default multiplier settings (whether multipliers higher than default 9x work haven't tested yet):


The manual multiplier max and min multipliers are 40x and 5x respectively in bios:


As you can see the Intel D975XBX Bad Axe rev304 has no problem recognising the Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield cpu in bios at least. I have enabled Enhanced Powerslope in bios which reduces vcore droop by as much as 50%
__________________
* Questions about memory? No PMs Ask on forums
* i7 980X Club @4844mhz H20
* Asus P6T6 WS Revo - W3540 @4821 H20 | W3570 @4997Mhz H20 | DFI UT X58-T3EH8 USB3.0
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 9th November 2006, 2:33 AM   #2
eva2000 Thread Starter
DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 21,895
Default

System:
  • Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield QUPT B3 Step 7
  • Corsair Hydrocool 200EX
  • Intel D975XBX Badaxe rev304 1441 bios
  • 128MB Gainward FX5200 PCI card
  • 2x1GB Gskill PC6400PHU2 2GBHZ Micron D9GMH 0629 batch
  • 3x320GB Seagate 7200.10 SATAII Matrix Raid 0
  • 1x74GB Western Digital Raptor 8MB
  • Pioneer DVD-RW
  • FDD
  • 1KW PCP&C SLI PSU

Cpuz v1.37 recognises the Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 correctly but Crystalmark thinks the cpu is a Woodcrest, while CoreTemp v0.93 thinks the cpu is a Intel Xeon Q6600 Kentsfield.

Not sure if it's the new 1441 bios or Corsair Hydrocool 200EX water cooling setup, but bios idle temps of 43-45C are reflected in Coretemp windows idle temp of 36-40C which cpu1 core being 3C cooler than the other 3 cores. That's still 6-10C hotter than E6600 B1 at default 2400Mhz and default vcore of 1.242v vcore.

Room ambient temps = 27.6C - 28.5C





Quad Stressprime at idle shows coretemps of 36-40C:
(click image for larger version)


Quad Stressprime load shows cpu0/2 at 57C and cpu1/3 at 55C:
(click image for larger version)


Quad Systool 8M and 16M PI:


Everest Ultimate Edition v3.50
D975XBX Bad Axe has one outstanding issue that effects any cpu, that is when Sandra 2007 or Everest are launched, it resets the vcore to that of below stock value.

On my E6600 B1s default vcore = 1.25 (1.242v), when Everest/Sandra 2007 are launched, vcore is reset to 1.218v. Seems same occurs with Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 cpu, default vcore = 1.275 (1.242v). When Everest is lauched, vcore resets to 1.15v :eek2:

This is way below the lowest vcore setting available in bios of 1.275v (1.242v). As you can see windows idle temps dropped too.



Weird never noticed there's a DIMM temp sensor there before ? 1441 bios added ?
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2006, 2:33 AM   #3
eva2000 Thread Starter
DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 21,895
Default

Overclocking:
Looks like the D975XBX Bad Axe rev304 board might not be fully working with Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 cpu. I ran Systool quad 16M Pi to test clocks with clockgen and from bios and managed

vFSB = default
vMCH = 1.628v
vDimm = 2.05v

- 2900Mhz at 1.242v (1.275v bios)
- 3003mhz at 1.277v (1.315v bios)
- 3060Mhz at 1.312v (1.35v bios)
- 3109Mhz is where trouble starts:
* 1.359v (1.4v in bios) = rebooted immediately in Systool quad 16M Pi tests.
* 1.359v vcore and raised vFSB to 1.395v = rebooted at 13% mark for Systool quad 16M Pi tests
* 1.406v (1.45v bios) with vFSB 1.395v = PASSED Systool quad 16M Pi tests.
* 1.453v (1.50v bios) with vFSB 1.395v = rebooted after 8-13% in Systool quad 16M Pi tests
* 1.476v (1.525v bios) with vFSB 1.395v = hangs at boot time just before windows logo

Raising vMCH to 1.685v from 1.628v allowed me to pass at
* 1.359v (1.4v bios vcore) + vFSB 1.395v + vMCH 1.685v = PASSED Systool quad 16M Pi tests (can even loop the test without problems).

Clockgen'ing from 3109Mhz to 3150-3200Mhz resulted in Systool quad 16M Pi test rebooting immediately regardless of vcore up to 1.453v. Similar, if i set in bios greater than +30% FSB adjustable i.e. +33% will result in hang just before windows logo loads.

For those that recall, originally D975XBX Bad Axe board came with max adjustable FSB in percentage terms at +30%. Then later bios allowed +50% max FSB. It seems with Q6600 cpu, i'm only getting stable FSB clock at +30% max so far with 1441 bios. Might need to try earlier bioses as well http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=2804 and see if it helps.

Hope it's the board/BIOS and not the cpu as this Q6600 was pretested by the seller to 3600Mhz 9x400fsb quad prime stable at 1.45v vcore on air on Asus P5B Deluxe and Asus P5W64 WS Pro motherboards
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2006, 2:34 AM   #4
eva2000 Thread Starter
DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 21,895
Default

Super Pi v1.50

Doing some stock cpu speed tests with no pi tweaks just to get an idea of how Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 cpu runs at 9x266fsb = 2400Mhz at 1.242v with memory @266mhz 4-4-4-8.

Single 1M & 32M


Dual 1M


Quad 1M


Dual 32M


Quad 32M
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2006, 2:34 AM   #5
eva2000 Thread Starter
DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 21,895
Default

Super Pi v1.5 Overclocked

Starting off below the motherboard FSB limit of ~345FSB at 9x333FSB with 2:3 divider and 500mhz 4-4-4-8 on memory with 1067fsb strap strap.

@3001Mhz at 1.336v (1.375v bios)



Single 1M & 2M


Single 4M & 8M


Single 16M & 32M


Cinebench with FX5200 PCI video card
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2006, 8:17 AM   #6
doghouse
Member
 
doghouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,750
Default

Nice work eva! Im watching very closely how you go with temperatures and how high you can go with FSB, my Q6700 is giving me hell with high FSB and extremely high temps.
doghouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2006, 5:20 PM   #7
eva2000 Thread Starter
DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 21,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doghouse
Nice work eva! Im watching very closely how you go with temperatures and how high you can go with FSB, my Q6700 is giving me hell with high FSB and extremely high temps.
Thanks doghouse, the Q6600 seems to run very cool indeed with Corsair Hydrocool 200EX H20 cooling stock it's idling around 35-39C in 26-28C room ambients

Swapped from 2GB Gskill PC6400PHU2 HZ Micron D9GMH 0629 batch memory to 2GB OCZ PC2-8000 Titanium Alpha VX2 Micron D9GKX memory.



System:
Re-ran some of the single Super Pi v1.5 32M Pi times with stock @2400Mhz 9x266fsb with 2:3 divider and OCZ Titanium AlphaVX2 @400mhz 3-3-3-8 at 2.29v vdimm.



Super Pi 1M & 32M




(Due to higher async upclocked memory speed and tighter timings of 3-3-3-8, the 32M time is 98+ seconds faster than 1:1 266mhz 4-4-4-8 timings!)

Super Pi 8M & 16M


(Due to higher async upclocked memory speed and tighter timings of 3-3-3-8, the 16M time is ~45 seconds faster than 1:1 266mhz 4-4-4-8 timings!)

Dual 32M


(Due to higher async upclocked memory speed and tighter timings of 3-3-3-8, the dual 32M Pi time is ~150 seconds faster than 1:1 266mhz 4-4-4-8 timings!)
__________________
* Questions about memory? No PMs Ask on forums
* i7 980X Club @4844mhz H20
* Asus P6T6 WS Revo - W3540 @4821 H20 | W3570 @4997Mhz H20 | DFI UT X58-T3EH8 USB3.0
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2006, 9:58 PM   #8
doghouse
Member
 
doghouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,750
Default

Hey Eva, good to se your is running nice and cool, my q6700 (es) is bloody hot. At this stage Im still trying to work out how to drive my motherboard properly, Intel overclocking and Asus motherboards are totally foreign to me. This is the temps Im gettin with a storm CPU block and 3x120 Gt Stealth rad running nexus fans.


Click to view full-sized image!
Hosted by UGBox Image Store

Pretty damn toasty, Im not sure it will go as high as chaniny's, we shall see.
doghouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2006, 10:37 PM   #9
eva2000 Thread Starter
DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 21,895
Default

Yeah Kentsfield B0 and B1 steppings run hotter than the B3 stepping which my Q6600 cpu is. Seen a few reviews of even B3 step QX6700 vs Q6600, the QX6700 at stock ran around 108 watts versus Q6600 87 watts.

So i think Q6600 generally run slightly cooler than QX6700.

Which motherboard you using ?
__________________
* Questions about memory? No PMs Ask on forums
* i7 980X Club @4844mhz H20
* Asus P6T6 WS Revo - W3540 @4821 H20 | W3570 @4997Mhz H20 | DFI UT X58-T3EH8 USB3.0
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2006, 10:43 PM   #10
doghouse
Member
 
doghouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,750
Default

Asus P5WDG2 WS Pro , goddamn, tried various bioses including the mythical beta 0005 and still have multi problems, cant get over 12, had to clear the bios manually, grrrr.
Edit: Hmm if I can get to 3.4 stable I thnik I will call it quits................naahhh

Last edited by doghouse; 9th November 2006 at 11:31 PM.
doghouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2006, 1:31 AM   #11
eva2000 Thread Starter
DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 21,895
Default

maybe your board is hitting an fsb limit for kentsfield like mine ? tried upping multiplier but keeping 266fsb ?

Time for some 3dmark/pcmark action with 2x 256MB BFG 7800GTX SLI with 85.96 SLI drivers

System:
Done with Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 at stock 2400Mhz 9x266fsb and 2GB OCZ PC2-8000 Titanium Alpha VX2 @400mhz 3-3-3-8.

2x 256MB BFG 7800GTX SLI @494(546)/1370

click image for full screen shot

PCmark05


3dmark06 & 3dmark05


3dmark2003


3dmark2001


Aquamark3



Sweet Q6600 clocked at 3001Mhz (9x333fsb) with memory 1:1 @333mhz 3-3-3-8 and 2x 256MB BFG 7800GTX SLI @473(525)/1350 managed to break all my previous 7800GTX SLI personal best scores for 3dmark06

3dmark06 = 9,633
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=620460



3dmark06 = 9,787
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=620581



Look at that cpu score
__________________
* Questions about memory? No PMs Ask on forums
* i7 980X Club @4844mhz H20
* Asus P6T6 WS Revo - W3540 @4821 H20 | W3570 @4997Mhz H20 | DFI UT X58-T3EH8 USB3.0

Last edited by eva2000; 10th November 2006 at 11:35 PM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2006, 1:59 AM   #12
Y3llowbeard
Member
 
Y3llowbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA. USA
Posts: 655
Thumbs up

VERY thorough as always eva2000.
__________________
Official Corsair Tech Support, If You Need Help, Please Ask.
Y3llowbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2006, 2:38 AM   #13
eva2000 Thread Starter
DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 21,895
Default

thanks mate

welcome to OCAU ... about time we had a Corsair rep hanging out down under

Still with 2x1GB OCZ PC2-8000 Titanium Alpha VX2 Micron D9GKX this time with Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @9x333fsb = 3001Mhz and 2:3 divider for 500mhz 4-4-3-4 with tightened memset v3.0 timings.

Single 1M & 8M


Single 32M


(~18 seconds faster than Gskill PC6400PHU2 HZ same cpu clock but memory at 500mhz 4-4-4-8 and no memset tweaks)

Crystalmark benchmark
__________________
* Questions about memory? No PMs Ask on forums
* i7 980X Club @4844mhz H20
* Asus P6T6 WS Revo - W3540 @4821 H20 | W3570 @4997Mhz H20 | DFI UT X58-T3EH8 USB3.0

Last edited by eva2000; 10th November 2006 at 8:53 PM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2006, 8:49 AM   #14
doghouse
Member
 
doghouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,750
Default

Nice work eva! My mobo is not FSB limited, with my pentium D I easily hit 400 FSB, but you are probably right, Kents seem to be FSB limited.

Welcome Y3llowbeard, Im using your products at moment but Im still bedding in my CPU

So what are safe temps for a Kent? I hit 3.35 this morning and the temps were still 70-73, I notice Tjunction is set for 100 degrees, am I right in assuming that 70-75 is stil a safe operarting temperature? I f yes damn, I can see my watercooling loop doubling as my kettle.
doghouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2006, 9:31 AM   #15
Y3llowbeard
Member
 
Y3llowbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA. USA
Posts: 655
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doghouse
Welcome Y3llowbeard, Im using your products at moment but Im still bedding in my CPU
Thanks for the welcome guys.
__________________
Official Corsair Tech Support, If You Need Help, Please Ask.
Y3llowbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!