Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > Windows Operating Systems

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd January 2007, 9:18 AM   #1
Malakai Thread Starter
Member
 
Malakai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 597
Default Moving a computer to a new Domain Controller without losing local user profiles?

I have a friend that needs to move some windows 2000 Pro and XP Pro machines to a new Active Directory Domain Controller without losing the user Profiles on the local machine.

We have done it in the past by copying the profiles and backing up the e-mail and such, disjoining the computer, rejoining it to the new server, then restoring everything from the copies made. It is time consuming though, there has to be a better way?

What’s the easiest way to do this?
__________________
Trusted Traders: [7]nothing, bees_man, Bollocks, mas_wiro, finnigan, D r M u t l e y, Grim_Revenant, aXLe, DeanCorp, trevdav, Iceman, XTRO, Loop Goose, dragon_keepa, mewerz, Technics, Makon0, CQGLHyperion, sp00nfed
Malakai is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 3rd January 2007, 11:55 PM   #2
chewbucca
Member
 
chewbucca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,801
Default

hmm... not exactly what your getting at. I dont think Windows will delete profiles when you add the pc to a domain.

Just look in C:\Documents and Settings and you should see them there untouched. However take a look at this, it may be what your after...

Control Panel->System->'Advanced' tab ->"User Profiles", hit the settings button and you will see the list of profiles, hit the 'copy to' button and you can dump it somewhere...

HTH
__________________
Bobby Fischer: "I like the moment when I break a man's ego."
chewbucca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2007, 6:29 PM   #3
RonDMC
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 469
Default

Yes once you change domains your local machine will create new user profiles. The old ones will not be deleted so just copy the contents of the old profiles across to the new ones once you have added the computers to the new domain.

You might want to setup roaming profiles, might make things easier in the future and when a user logs on to another computer their profile will follow them.
RonDMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2007, 4:37 PM   #4
dink
Member
 
dink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brisneyland
Posts: 7,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RonDMC

You might want to setup roaming profiles, might make things easier in the future and when a user logs on to another computer their profile will follow them.

Yeah, specially when they keep 500MB folders on their desktop.
__________________
10 years and counting
dink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2007, 4:55 PM   #5
FLB
Member
 
FLB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 3,334
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dink
Yeah, specially when they keep 500MB folders on their desktop.
Thats why you have profile quotas in place
__________________
I've got some computers :P
FLB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2007, 3:45 PM   #6
wilsontc
Member
 
wilsontc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 326
Default

you could just use folder redirection..?
wilsontc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2007, 2:06 PM   #7
NiTeHaWk
Member
 
NiTeHaWk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,890
Default

Have fun going to the new domain as youll end up with shit like this.
current profile. c:\documents and settings\user
new domain. c:\documents and settings\user.newdomain

Even if you copy everything across to user.newdomain you will encounter problems. Many applications are shithouse and will try access the old userprofile path as they don't request the user profile path each time their launched, only when the program is first run or installed.
NiTeHaWk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 8:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!