Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Electronics & Electrics

Notices

Search our forums with Google:

Old 12th January 2007, 6:19 PM   #1
Philbee Thread Starter

Default Hot swapping VGA (D-sub) cable

This is something that gets brought up every now and then in the office.
I work in live production and we are often inserting vga cable to laptops or pulling them when the machine is on.
I have been doing this for 10 years and just chatting with my workmate who has been in the industry for 20 years, we have both yet to see problems from our hot swapping.

There are those in our circle who believe this can damage the PC. I am seeking opinions from those in the PC world.
I know the cable carries volts and mA in the way of video signal and as we also convert VGA to RGBHV on bnc and connect those all the time without problem I think this might be an overestimate on the dangers of hot swapping.

I can recall one time at home where I missed my VGA port (try looking next time) and it gave a spark off the pci plate or something like that, pc and CRT monitor are doing well.

Generally its not practical for us to plug in, then bootup. What sometimes happens is the vision switcher becomes the monitor and the laptop screen wont initialize, unless you have a preview screen or know the toggle commands for the particular laptop this isnt ideal, especially when a presenter is on stage in 2 minutes and hands the laptop over giving you little opportunity to fiddle.

Im sure we've all heard a mic plugged in when the volume is up, the spike at volume is quite dangerous for speakers and amps. What is stopping this type of surge with the VGA/RGBHV cable?

Cheers!!!

EDIT: 95% of the time we work with laptops.
Philbee is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 12th January 2007, 6:49 PM   #2
-KoMoD0-